We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qawra Palace Hotel”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Qawra Palace Hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here in September. Although the hotel is in need of a good refurb, we really cannot find fault. We booked a seaview with double bed. The bed was huge and brand new! Good view of the beautiful blue Malta sea. The best bit about the hotel was the food. It was beautifully cooked, hot and extremely tasty. I heard a few moans about a lack of choice but all these people seemed to wasn't was pie sausage, egg and chips! You shouldn't go half board in a foreign country if you aren't prepared to try their food. It was beautiful! The serving staff were also lovely. Although the guests were predominantly older than us, it did not spoil our 2 week stay. This is not a hotel for families. There were only a couple of families with children so it was very peaceful around the pool.
We bought a weekly bus pass for 12 euros each and saw most of the island. Is only a 20 min bus ride to a beautiful beach, a bit further to the ferry for Gozo which I recommend. Check out the Segways in qawra next to the car museum. Great fun. The hotel is what you make of it. We loved and hope to grab a week there next year.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madmandy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    853
    734
    325
    248
See reviews for
709
1,220
94
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in October 2013 for a week on a B&B basis. We'd read that the hotel is a bit tired and the rooms proved that description spot-on. They WERE kept very clean though so no worries there. The facilities are ok and the breakfast choice and quality is fine, although breakfast time is a bit hectic due to the amount of guests floating around. Most aspects of the hotel are 'alright' or 'average' so if you go expecting the Ritz, you'll be disappointed. That said, if you're getting a reasonable deal you wont go far wrong as the location is good (for the Qawra/Bugibba area of Malta) as there are plenty of bars and restaurants very close by. If you get a non-sea view room you'll be faced with a view of a hundred other small balconies, just like yours. A bit of a shock at first but not too much of an issue as most of the time you're not in your room anyway. The sea view balconies looked nice but overlooked the main road and do not get any sun later in the day as they're east facing.

I've read bad reviews from honeymooners about this hotel but come on, if you want a fairytale honeymoon head to Maldives and take this hotel and location for what it is rather than moan about it. Also, why people would choose all-inclusive here is beyond me, restricting themselves from being able to explore and taste what Malta fully has to offer.

We would go back to the Qawra Palace Hotel as it made our Malta holiday very easy due to great public transport links and an easy walk to the busier areas of town. As long as you know what you're getting, go on and try it and enjoy your stay - we did.

Two last things: There is NO WAY this is a four star hotel! As far as having to pay €10 for a key for our in-room safe, that's pushing it too far. Having to pay for wifi? They can stick that where the sun don't shine. I'll walk to a local bar, spend my money on a pint and enjoy wifi for free thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend visited for a week at the end of October !!
We where given the choice to upgrade to a sea view room , after seeing our allocated room we did this , it made such a difference as the sunrise was beautiful every morning .
Our room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable , it was spotlessly cleaned every day and fresh towels , the bathroom is a little small but the shower was great so it didn't matter .
The staff where all super friendly and always eager to please .
Food was good and varied not always boiling hot but that's to be expected with a buffet I think !!
We really enjoyed the pool area and also snorkelled a lot just next to the hotel. their are plenty of fish to see and the water is crystal clear and warm .
Admittedly the evening entertainment was focused at the older residents but we had a good sing along as knew most of the song , if your after something a little more loverly just come out of the hotel turn left then take the first left theirs plenty of bars up the back streets .
We really enjoyed our stay and would defo visit again .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whiskers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on honeymoon, our room was on the 8th floor and to the sea front, very clean and reception staff were very helpful and friendly, outdoor entertainment nightly however would appeal to older guests only. Hotel built in the early 80's and is a little dated but very good value fir money, good hotel for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHolly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This wouldn't have been the place I chose based on other reviews on this site, but actually it was OK. At checking in we were told that the sea view room we booked wouldn't normally fit an additional child's bed in - I'm not sure it is fair to blame the hotel for this - it could have been a Travel Republic issue who we actually booked with. The receptionist gave us the choice of putting another bed in the 6th floor sea view room or going for a bigger room at the back, we chose the former. The room was a little cramped for 3, but we stayed in the room as the view was nice (although that lump across the bay is a restored landfill!)

The room was very tired, with a little rust on the suspended ceiling, paint needing refreshing and a little mould on the bath sealant. The cleaners did a good job with everything else though and the room was OK.

The "shared areas", indoor and outdoor pools and food area were all much better than the room and I couldn't really complain about anything in them. The coffee shop opposite the reception in the hotel is really good, and I spent a lot of time in there as the coffee from the machine with breakfast was terrible.

Other than the coffee, breakfast was quite good, a decent choice and all pretty good although the bacon is awful - don't even try it. We were half board (something I wouldn't normally do as I like eating out and trying different places) and ate in the hotel on 4 nights, evening meals were bearable. Bearing in mind how many people they were catering for I didn't expect Michelin standard food, some of the choices seemed a little odd and my daughter advised that they had forgotten to put spices in the curry.

The hotels seems to attract a number of older residents, so don't expect a full rave. The entertainment is focussed towards them. There were kids though and families, it is just a little more ballroom dancing and line dancing than anything else.

To summarise, room was a bit poor (although we went in our friend's room and it was better, on the 3rd floor) but everything else was OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a great stay here and would actually recommend it to people over 50.
The location is good and lovely to sit round the pool looking out to sea. The entertainment was good but definitely geared towards older people. The room we stayed in on the 4th floor had a lovely sea view and was generaly fine. The bathroom was small but perfectly usable.
The food we enjoyed - plenty of choice and plenty of it.
The staff were efficient although the younger ones in the restaurant were not friendly at all. They simply do their job. A welcome as you come in the restaurant would be good.
The downside is the decoration and general scruffiness. These are not things to affect a holiday but there were plenty of "rough areas" if you wanted to look for them. The whole place needs a bit of a face lift.
Having said all that we would return.

Room Tip: Sea view makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just come back from this hotel, it was clean and tidy and we have stayed here before on the "all inclusive " package.... which is fine if you want to sit round the pool all day but we are the sort of guys that like to be out and about so we did book, every day a pack lunch .......we had to chase this everyday as the "kitchen forgot"..... next time we will do what truck loads of other guests did and help themselves from the breakfast buffet.........also the restaurant loo had cockroaches in the light fittings.... but the staff were all very helpful and friendly the star is Sylvanna she did her best for us.

Room Tip: ask for a side room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing