We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful holiday 19th- 26th march”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A first class hotel, excellent value for money.
Room was spacious and very clean- maids did a good job.
Hotel staff were friendly and efficient.
Choice of food was excellent -something for everyone and some delicious cakes and desserts.
The hotel is very close to the bus terminal and was able to travel around very cheaply.
Many bars with good live music every night, just around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,772)
There are newer reviews for Qawra Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,798 - 1,804 of 2,772 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned from a weeks break with family, if you like afternoon tea dances and another in the evening then this is the place for you! The hotel itself was clean and tidy but a little tired looking, the staff where also helpful and polite. The food was basic but decent not a lot of choice but I'm not to fussy so may not impress most others, I overheard the usual moans but one I agreed with was the poor quality of the tea/coffee it was frankly undrinkable.
The room we were allocated 531 was in a corner above some sort of plant room/generator which was very noisy, so we moved to the 8th floor which was much quieter,be warned if you want a sea view room you will pay a premium for it, the maids came in every day to clean and sheets were changed every 2 days, the locks on the room doors are extremely poor I could open mine with a credit card! so my advice is to get a safe key at check in! Also there is no kettle in the room unless you hire one and you have to pay a deposit for the T.v neither of which I feel you should be doing in a 4 star hotel.There's only 2 English channels and they are both news,the hotel does play a dvd twice daily but at 1pm and 9 pm we didn't see them as we were out. As previously mentioned the entertainment was very bad, no daytime activities at all except the tea dance! And in the evening the only decent one the whole week was a four piece band but even then the "strictly come dancing pensioners" took over the dance floor, we opted to go to either Murphy's bar or Simon's Elvis bar the latter's impersonator on a Monday and Friday was particularly good. There was also a lot of schoolchildren there in the week we chose I think it was an Italian school trip so you could forget using the indoor pool, they are very rude as well especially when there was any queuing to be done i.e Meal times. In summary this was a clean but basic hotel not suited to anyone under 65 but only 3 star at best.

Room Tip: if possible go for the 8th floor as there's no-one above
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McKenna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from our 5 night last minute honeymoon break in Malta - arrived to a twin room not a double - moved some furniture around to push the beds together LOL hotel was a little dated but very clean and housekeeping staff excellent - while we wanted to relax we did not realize that we were being sent to a retirement complex - we were the youngest residents by 30 odd years, people had their specific seats and cups etc - this was obviously low season as restaurants empty and resort very very quite - everything closed by 9.30pm - very, very British resort - felt a little isolated due to this - everything geared towards this - papers, channels, bars, hotel food & restaurants - struggled to find Maltese culture - we still had a great time as we hired a car and saw the island - but we would not return to Malta again!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a Sea-View room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bexandcolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked into the Qawra for short break, it is sold as a 4 star hotel but afraid does not come close. The Rooms are basic and looking a little run down, generally tired. If you are looking for a basic no frills stay then it fits the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I needed toget away and chill out from London UK. We checked out the trip advisor and of course the comments section!
Yes the accommodation good and so was the food. And generous portions too. On one occasion fro breakfast we were able to feast our eyes on no less than 5 beautiful cakes.
Entertainment good ,but I was sad that other functions took over the usual ballroom area. Students from
Italy over on a languages break were very noisy and we were glad when they returned home.
My matress was worn and it was replaced. Service maid did a great job on the whole.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hank80_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just came back from this hotel, it was good value for the money. We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and decided to visit Malta again. We were not disappointed,we booked a sea view room,which was clean and bright. We booked half board, the food was plentiful and quite a good choice.

Entertainment in evening good and staff very helpful and friendly. It was altogether a relaxing weeks holiday. Will most certainly go back next year. We tried a couple of local restaurants at lunch time and found them very friendly and food very nice.

Room Tip: Do book a sea view room they are brighter and the view is great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMF_1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a surprise, a Hotel that out performs its own description. Food choice and quality 10 out of 10. Friendliness & help-fullness of the staff 10 out 10. Ask a question at reception and it is answered with a friendly smile. Rooms spotless, Restaurant. clean and spacious. Value for money 10 out of 10. The bus station is a 10 minute walk away and the buses go all over the Island. we have been to Malta several times, this Hotel is by far the best one that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the sixth (t0p) floor. The lift could be a little slow in arriving however the onl...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $52 - $1,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing