We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Peoples Home!”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Peoples Home!”
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This hotel describes itself as family friendly. However I travelled with my family and it's not how we found it.
There was nothing for my son to do other than a ripped pool table.
No entertainment for my daughter other than the pool.
My mother felt the entertainment was too "old" for her!
This hotel caters for oldies going for a long cheap break - instead of trying to provide a good service to the few other tourists who had paid top dollar for a week.
It's a real shame because it could be a nice hotel if they put a bit more effort into thinking its a holiday place instead of an old peoples home.
We were all inclusive and the staff really dont like it one bit - obviously missing out on tips. Someone should explain that it's not a "free" holiday - we have simply paid in advance. They will still get tips if they good service but not when they are barking rules at you all day long!
I have travelled to Malta 3 times before and always enjoyed it. It's difficult to find a positve thing to say about this hotel other than the fact a couple of staff did try really hard and if you are over 70 it would be a nice place to spend the winter.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambergold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    875
    753
    329
    253
See reviews for
722
1,248
95
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Malta must be one of the best value places in Europe for hotel accomodation, and the Qawra Palace is very well priced. A good seafront location, within easy reach of shops and restaurants.

Our room was clean but in serious need of renovation. We were told that rooms are being renovated from the ground floor up, so ask for a low floor.

We stayed for Christmas and New Year, and were pleasantly suprised by the quality of the food. They seem to have quite aa good chef. - The self service buffet style could become wearisome for a long stay, so I would recommend B&B.
The breakfast was OK, but got a bit boring after a week.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

i had originally booked to go to tenerife, but cancelled for malta to keep cost down.

on arrival, i entered the bathroom and could smell stale cigarettes, and there were cig burns all over the mirror! i also noticed, (thankfully) i had been put in wrong room, but that was rectified immediately.

i was using a twin room for sole use and the beds are so narrow,don't roll over, you'll fall out! disappointed with the view to the courtyard. call me a snob, but i expect four star treatment - fruit in room, full fridge and a TV that works in a four star hotel.

the food - um well, the evening meal choice was okay and quite tasty. the fact that you had to buy drinks with your evening meal was a rip off! the breakfast menu is dire! the sausages were terrible! just a lack of choice, again no fruit. the tea and cakes in caffe royale were delicious, however.

malta is a beautiful island, and i felt safe travelling alone. i didnt let the hotel ruin my hols, i just got out and about on the excursions - thoroughly recommend the 'mystery tour' eight euros worth paying, very entertaining.

i may return when im a LOT older, it is a bit cocoon the movie!

  • Liked — overall, quite convenient for sliema and valetta on public transport
  • Disliked — the bed!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joholsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Worksop
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Booked all inclusive for 2 adults and 1 child, on arrival the hotel looked classy. We had a warm welcome on arrival at 1:30am we asked where we could get a drink and was directed to the cafe we were told that we would have to pay as all inclusive ended at 11.00pm however a couple of nights later we popped in for a drink well before 11.00pm and still had to pay, very dissapointing for the all inclusive guests as we were not told of this on arrival. Could do better for all inclusive with snacks as crisps and sandwich's are very boring. The hotel was four star but would say more of a three, the housekeeping could not be faulted, our room was cleaned and fresh towels put into the room on a daily basis.. Some dissapointment with the food, although there was plenty of choice the food was sometimes bland and much of the same however the pork was delicious.. food for children is not very good.. The outdoor pool is great, the indoor pool stated it was heated but never was we had loads of fun in the jacussi.. The entertainment was definately geared for the older guests, with nothing for children do do.. The location could not be better the bus station is just around the corner and you only have a short walk to get to Buggiba. Would go again when we are older as this hotel is fantastic for the older generation..

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank roweyWorksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Just got back from ten days at the Qawra palace hotel and i must say it was very good. we did panic when we read the negative reviews but when we arrived it soon became clear that the people who moan about these places want things like they are at home and thats where they should stay, your hotel after all is just a base where you sleep and eat, the rest of the time your supposed to go out and explore places and see the sights not stay in the hotel to find fault with every petty thing your not happy with. why pay all that money to go to a another country then sit in your hotel and complain???
our room overlooked the bay it was bright and very clean, our boys (11 and 12 ) room was opposite ours and overlooked the court yard apart from being a bit darker there was no difference.
the food was great and they was something for everyone, there was a least three different main courses and you must be really fussy if you could not find something you liked. yes the hotel was full of "senior citizens" and yes there was bingo and ballroom dancing every single night but this is hardly the fault of the hotel,the fault lies with your travel agent who should inform you about these details, the staff where also very polite and helped in every way they could.overall a very pleasent hotel and holiday, and my advice to the moaners for what its worth is get a life and start enjoying yourselves while on holiday!

  • Liked — bright,clean and great view
  • Disliked — lifts to floor sometimes slow
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank twocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

my wife and I have just returned from the Qwara Palace and i must say we had a wonderful stay the food is variable with a good choice of fish ,pasta and meat dishes.
Staff are very helpful we did not avail of the entertainment but believe it was quite good.
we paid a little extra for a sea view room and what we liked was the fact that we could swap dinner for lunch on the evenings we decided to eat out.

Helpful?
3 Thank domharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2008

we went to malta in may 2007 and can i just say that when somebody wrights a review i tend to think that sometimes they r just being picky, BUT as i found out this hotel is terrible, the rooms are horrid, there is a sort of town centre behind the hotel BUT beware there r very steep hills boh sides of the hotelwhich is dangerous and unsuitable for any one with walking difficultys, and as for the food well wot can i say other than STAY CLEAR, ITS RUBBISH we payed for half board and eat ou t every day and night.he only thing decent in this hotel is the coffee in the little cafe outside, malta in its self is a lovely place with good beaches safe for children, but i would recommend staying at maliya bay or saint julien or valletta, but wot ever u do do not stay at the quawra palace hotel.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mudlenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,965 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing