We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magnicifent resort”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed December 27, 2012

i recommend for everyone to visit this hotel year round,very nice hotel,very courteous and friendly staff, all managers are dedicate to delivery for own customers very high standart service.it has to be 5 star resort.in st.pauls area its best hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gijigadareuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,776)
There are newer reviews for Qawra Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,854 of 2,777 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

As I live in Gozo I thought it would be advisable to stay at this hotel in Malta as I had to catch an early morning flight to the UK. They were very welcoming and also arranged for a taxi to pick me up at the crack of dawn. The cafe downstairs had a very good menu for light bites or something a bit more substantial and the were loads of other restaurants nearby if I wanted to go al a carte.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I will be booking in there again when I have to go back to the UK in January.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a wonderful view of the open sea.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Do NOT go here unless you like the care home feel. It is full of elderly people with walking aids and wheelchairs. One man even took his teeth out at the breakfast table to eat his porrige!!! I am 44 and I was the youngest there. Food was average. I had a problem with my door handle, reported twice, nothing done. Staff overall friendly. Rooms ok, could be so much better for the money. At this time of year Malta is packed with pensioners. It may have been a palace 30 years ago,but certainly not anymore.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel!!!!! Seriously.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

went 2nd dec for a week half board ,after reading reviews wasnt sure what to expect.we were plesently suprised when we got there lobby area nice marbel floors ect,very clean our room 544 was at the front with a sea view ,and had everything we needed mini fridge plenty of wardrobe space ,the bathroom did have a few cracked tiles but so what when you only pay about £100 a week .breakfast was as good as any/ english style sausages ,(not hotdog) bacon eggs ,beans ect evening meals were verry good with a choice of only one soup,one fish and two meats ect not the biggest choice but good food, entertainment was mainly oldtime dance music ,but the live bands that were on three times played a good mix of music. when we were there the hotel was only half full ,the main guests were older people on long stays some up to 10 weeks so it was quiet ,no trouble getting a sunbed what it would be like in summer i dont know but i would recomend this hotel (maybe not 4star but good 3) to anybody take no notice of any review that runs this place down some people expect 5star for this sort of money ,lastly the location is the best in the area the only other hotel on the seafront (seabank) was closed
if i go back to malta i will not go anywhere else

Room Tip: make sure you ask for sea view ,rooms at back look over courtyard and are very dark
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here with 3 friends for 4 nights in November.

There's a mixture of reviews about this hotel, which did make us a bit apprehensive: our criteria for this holiday was a relatively cheap break in the sun, just to chill out around a pool and relax - we opted for Malta and for this hotel as the room rate was pretty good (we booked the hotel and flight ourselves) so I'm basing my review on our criteria and experience.

We got a taxi from the airport, which cost €25 (it's a flat rate and includes luggage) and took about 35-40 mins - were minimal queues at the airport and it's door-to-door. Check-in was quick and easy - be aware that the lifts aren't the fastest, but they worked. We'd booked two twin rooms (non-sea view) which faced the inner courtyard - I did hear one guest complain to reception about the noise of the road (this would only be the outward facing rooms).

The room was large enough for two of us with luggage - the beds weren't bad (not the best but by far not the worst I've stayed in) and the bed linen was clean if a bit dated. There was a small flat screen tv, with about 3 English channels including BBC World News. There were two wardrobes that were of ample size and plenty of coat hangers (proper ones too!) and a chest of deep drawers under the desk (see my photos for more detail about the layout). We also had a balcony facing the courtyard with two plastic patio chairs. The plugs in Malta are standard UK 3-pin and were similar to most continental sockets (a bit loose!). Overall, the standard of the room was good, the fixtures weren't brand new but they weren't that old or tired either.

The bathroom I'd guess you'd call small but perfectly formed! There was a single sink, toilet, full sized bath with shower overhead and we were provided with basic toiletries (i.e. soap, shampoo and shower gel). There was a shaving point for electric razors too. We had our towels and bed-linen changed daily.

The air-con in the room was a bit noisy and we did need to use it even in November. Didn't hear too much noise from any of the adjacent rooms or the corridor. There was some noise from a drill on the morning we left and it looks as though they were refurbishing some of the rooms on the upper floors.

We went half-board so had breakfast and evening meal included - worth noting that you can swap to a lunch meal on certain days with 24 hours notice. You're assigned a part of the dining room to sit in the first time you head there, which does mean you get to know the staff, who were all friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was a mixture of full English (bacon, fried and scrambled eggs, sausages, fried tomatoes and mushrooms) and Continental (cold meat selection, cheeses, variety of breads, jams and spreads, and even the odd bit of cake on some days) plus some cereals and fruit. There was also tea, coffee and fruit juices (orange, grapefruit and apple although these seemed a bit watered down, as most all inclusive places seem to do).
Dinner in the evenings followed the same format every night - a soup and bread roll choice, 2 or 3 choices of main (one veggie or fish option), plenty of salad and cold meat and then a selection of desserts available - all of these are via a buffet. You buy your drinks (water, wine, beer etc.) from the bar just outside the restaurant and these were reasonably priced.
Lunch-wise, we actually ended up using the poolbar a bit - it does burgers, chips, sandwiches, zejt (a Maltese tuna roll) and big salads, as well as soft drinks, ice creams and some wines and beers. There are also some vending machines near the indoor pool.

It might've been because we went off-season in Nov but we didn't have any problems getting a sun lounger around the pool - it's large and the outdoor pool isn't heated and is big enough. My friends used the indoor pool, which is smaller but a bit warmer. You also have access to the beach from the pool area (it's rocky but some people had taken sun loungers down there).

We didn't use any of the entertainment on offer - as others have said, it is targeted more to the older age-group and we're all in our 20's. Location-wise, the hotel is near to some bars and very close to one of the Bus Tour stops (there's a rep for one in the foyer during the day). We found a few bars around the hotel and more towards Bugibba. There's also a bar downstairs by the restaurant (where you get your alcohol for your meals), which had Sky Sports on and a few seats in the lobby to sit at, as well as in the courtyard, which has a few crazy golf holes! There's a small cafe next to the lobby and a giftshop in the hotel too.

I bought a wi-fi code (€2 for 1 hour) and I didn't have to use it consecutively (i.e. you log in when you want to use it, it times you, then you log out when you're done) and the speed was okay.

Overall, we all really enjoyed our stay at the Qawra Palace Hotel - as I said, we wanted somewhere fairly cheap in the sun, with a pool and the hotel met our expectations. The food was great (if there's seabass on the menu, get it!), the staff helpful with great English and the rooms represented good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went to the Qawra Palace hotel, at the end of October 2012. This is not a 4 star hotel, more of a 2-3 star one!

Right, where do i start?
The first problem for me was that this hotel was TOO overcrowded even though the hotel wasn't even full, you will have to fight for a sunbed every morning also for a table at dinner time if u r on half board like me or all inclusive!!! And this was in October so probably it is not a good idea to go in the spring and summer months at this hotel! :)

Rooms: The rooms were clean with a television, reasonably comfortable beds etc
However, Warning!... If you book a sea view room like we did, be prepared with ear plugs because it can get quite noisy at the hotel as it is set on a main road! So you may . . . Also this might not happen to you but the fire alarms in the hotel are very sensitive so don't be surprise if every other day you get woken up in the middle of the night by the fire alarms!

Food: There was lots of varieties of food and drink available . . .
(BREAKFAST): pastries, all types of bread,fruit juices,cereals . . . The classic fry-up served everyday, Also hot drinks (tea and coffee etc).

-Im not sure about Lunch because I was half board! :) But there is 2 restaurants/food bars on site... Including the Cafe Royal... THEY DO THE BEST BRITISH CUP OF TEA AND FINEST CHEESE AND HAM TOASTIES EVER! ... Cakes, Pastries, sandwiches etc!!! truely tasty food there! I would totally recommend eating and drinking there!!! 100%!

(DINNER/TEA) Every Thursday, they have a Maltese night.
The food was hit and miss, the way it was lay out was unappetizing ( like the old school dinners almost) but there is a variety of meats/fish with seasonings etc... chips/roasties etc :) The desserts are nice sometimes, but the chefs like to experiment if you know what i mean!

The outdoor Swimming pool is very cold, but it was nice to swim in. No scum or unclean areas.
The indoor swimming pool was like a sauna, the whole room is soo hot you can barely breathe!

The hotel is connected onto a rocky beach, which is perfect for long walks and having a look at the beautiful scenery. But i would not recommend swimming in the closest part of the sea near the hotel. Only because I spotted a drain/sewage pipe leaking out alot of dirty water into the sea where people were swimming.

Moving on to a positive note, If you want to pop on a bus and go somewhere, the bus station is only a 15 minute walk away from the hotel! :)

Overall not a disastrous holiday,This hotel is like Marmite, but the more you get out and about f away from the hotel you will love your holiday more. Well that was in me and my family's view on that anyway... Malta's shops, scenery and culture are brilliant for presents, by the way!!!

Last thing: If you like culture and lots of shopping. . . Go to Valletta (Malta's Captial) You will love it... Its amaaaaaaaazing!!!

MALTA WAS BRILLIANT, BUT I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank princessJellyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent a week at Qawara Palace from November 19th. Room.....large,comfortable, and clean. Bathroom.......all fine, with basic soap,etc. and towels changed every morning. Dining........(we did half board), Breakfast good, with a large variety of cold meats, cheeses, etc. plus three different cereals, juice, toast, bread rolls and very good hot options; bacon, sausages, eggs (scrambled or fried), tomatoes, beans, fried potatoes. One criticism, tea or coffee not good. Dinner.........very good, with different offerings each day. Good soup, several different fish dishes, beef, pork, chicken, turkey, pasta, always a choice of 3 veg, plus a great salad selection. All this followed by choice of dessert, some of which were really nice. Beside the dining room is the bar, serving a good selection of drinks at reasonable prices. The staff were, without exception, very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to this hotel, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jake132Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $52 - $1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing