We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a 2wk break with an back courtyard room ,awful doesnt cover it so depressing, but hey ho not much we could do, the hotel was fully booked so nothing to do but get on with it. We have been to Malta 8 times in the last 4 yrs and have always stayed in this area, if you have a sea or side sea view then its ok. Food not too terrible you wont starve but not very exciting, its very handy if you like to swim in the sea as this is accesible from the pool area ,and very close to bus station and various resturants/bars. The pizzeria across from hotel can be booked in advance as part of your H/B or A/I with achoice of pasta or pizza which was very nice. We paid a reasonable amount for our holiday but the rooms/views leave alot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    825
    702
    317
    242
See reviews for
681
1,183
88
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Me and my mum visited this hotel late June '11 for 2 weeks. We found the staff to be very obliging, it had a beautiful sea and pool (when they put chlorine in it - for a couple of days it was green) and the evening meal was different everyday including ranges of meats, sea food dishes and vegetarian options.
However if i were to go again i would take my own cutlery. Everyday at breakfast and dinner (we were half board) at least 3 pieces of cutlery had food stuck to it. It made us look at everything to see if they were clean including the glasses, plates and cups etc which you really don't want to be doing on holiday.
Our room was cleaned everyday without fail but it was on the back and it felt like we were in a chicken coop everytime you went on the balcony. The difference in price between rooms at the back compared to the front was extortionate! But there wasn't much point changing to a front room anyway cause of the little time we actually spent out there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tms92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I are in our 60's and booked this Hotel for one week at the end of March 2011 without any prior knowledge of the place except the reports we had seen on this website. Upon arrival we found the staff extremely helpful and the room which was on the sixth floor very clean quiet and comfortable with fresh towels being provided every day. The restaurant meals were buffet style with a choice of hot and/or cold food that that was extremely good quality and more than adequate for us. There was a bar at the entrace to the restaurant where you could purchase wine to take in with you the costs of which matched the local supermarket prices and in some instances beat them. The swimming pool area was kept very clean and tidy. Evening entertainment in the ballroom far exceeded our expectations as live music of almost every type was provided every nght . We had not danced so much for years everything from jive to rock n roll, line dancing and ballroom. We also enjoyed the location, the easy walking, frequent availability of local transport to the Capital and excusions available. We would most certainly return to this hotel if we visit Malta again.

Room Tip: This Hotel faces east and therefore any room at the front of the hotel loses the sun from early afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1138967John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Excellent hotel.food was very varied with choices from around the MED.I actually looked forward to evening meal the selection was so great.The rooms are clean and tidy as is the rest of the hotel.The staff were knowlegeable and polite and friendly and seemed keen to be helpful.There is entertainment every night in the ballroom or by the pool.The hotel will also book excursions.The main bus station is a short walk away where you can get a bus to just about anywhere on the island .1 euro 16 allowed you to go anywhere.I went here not knowing what to expect but would recommend this hotel and would consider revisiting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gascoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is great for a cheap get away. I stayed beacause we were going to a wedding in Malta and most of the wedding party stayed here. I have never been to Malta before so i followed the majority. My husband and I were only going to stay for 3 nights B&B but when booking i noticed it was only £40 extra ea. for 7 nights half board. So i booked in for the week. On the whole a good stay. Clean room, clean beds, clean towels every day. The food was good. The down sides are the hotel is quite dark inside, and the pool and pool area are not big enough for the size of the hotel. We had to get up very early to save a sun bed. There is not many beaches in Malta so the pool area is quite important. If you are thinking of staying here pay extra for a sea view. If you dont, the back of the hotel is in a square, so all the rooms over look one another. It gets quite noisey with quests shouting to one another over the balconies. You cant really sit out there. They had entertainment every night, which was OK not great. Paying £291 ea. for the week which included and extra day in our room due to a late flight, i think it is good value for the money.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philb01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice hotel, lifts work well. Clean and tidy at all times. Pool area is quite nice, right on the sea front which you can go out to. Bar is OK. Service can be quite slow at times and large queues build up steadily. Snack choices are pretty poor some crisps, just edible sandwiches, and ice cream. Quite disappointing as we went all inclusive. The meals on offer catered for mainly the older people in the hotel (average age of 95% of the hotel 55+).

Our room had an inward facing balcony, not too bad, it let fresh air into the room but not really a view as such, if possible get a sea view room and it would be really nice. Rooms are OK, decent size, OK bathroom, TV, the beds were quite good, a good sized frige which was very good! Rooms cleaned every second day with fresh towels and linen.

Qawra is quite a quiet place (5 mind to resort centre) but with some fantastic resturants and bars, great choice.
Buggiba, a bit more livey (check out the square on a Sunday)

If you are a young person wanting a lively holiday, try St Julians and Paceville. If you are wanting a relaxing holiday with not so much noise, no kids running around and no drunken parties, then this is for you. Nice place, just not for me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just back from one week's holiday in the Qawra Palace and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is in a great location for touring the Island and we visited many of the historic locations. Make sure you stop for coffee and fab cake in Mdina's Frontella Restaurant with amazing views over the island. Mosta is also worth checking out and Valetta is an amazing place. Unfortunately Malta bus service just changed over from the old rickety buses in early July and the new Arriva service is still having lots of teething problems. Not enough buses or drivers for busy routes and this means waiting longer at bus stops and not too many taxi docks visible in the various locations. On arrival we were given a courtyard view which is dreadful at the back of the hotel with dull room and crammed in balconies, there was no way we could have staying in this room for one week. We were fortunate to upgrade to seaview the following morning which cost 14 euro per night extra but very well worth it. The food in the hotel was very good with good variety and therefore we chose only to eat out one night down at the boat house restaurant on the sea front. As there is so much to see on this Island we only stayed around the pool for two half days just to let the children 9 and 13 have pool time. We spent a great day at the waterpark which is easy accessed by the bus which goes to silema/valetta. Best way is to buy a day ticket which means you can hop on and off as you like for the whole day costing 6euro 20cent for 3 adults and 1 child. I would definitely go back to this hotel but would have to request and pay extra for sea view.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeniseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing