We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Qawra Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qawra Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Wexford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed in the Qawra Palace hotel for 7 nights at the end of April 2011 on a bed and breakfast basis and found it to be pretty average. The good things about the hotel : good pool area, excellent housekeeping, nice sea view room (but it will cost extra!!!).
On the downside : the reception staff were unhelpful and unfriendly, the breakfast was very average (but there was plenty), the lifts were woefully slow, especially at breakfast time, the sliding balcony door was broken and would not close properly, and if you want a taxi dont book one through the hotel as you will likely get a mini bus to share with other people
The Qawra area is very quiet and ideal for families, nearby Buggiba is a bit livelier but still quiet, there are a number of decent restaraunts which offer large portions and excellent value for money. Also the weather was very disappointing this time of year, cold and raining for 2 days out of 7 and gale force winds for another 2 days
To sum up, I would stay in the hotel again, but would not visit Malta until June at the earliest

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank phil71Wexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    851
    733
    324
    248
See reviews for
708
1,216
94
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,079)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had a three night break at the Qawra Palace (pronounced Owra) on a BB basis. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't pay for a sea view room, I think if we return we would do so as our room was low down at the back of the hotel, it was noisy as it was on a busy road and also above the nightclub and kitchens. Had we been staying longer I think I would have requested another room. But the room was spacious and had a fridge, king size bed and very clean bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast was the usual in a 4*, not a massive amount of choice but enough for most nationalities. The pool area was very clean and the bar service excellent. What surprised us was the bar prices which were extremely cheap, two beers for 3 euros! Near the hotel are some very good restaurants and bars, with good views of the bay. If you walk up the back streets near the hotel you will find some very cheap bars (1 euro for a beer, two meals for 10 euros) with some excellent food (Travellers Inn). Murphy's bar around the corner from the hotel has live music each night too. Make sure you get around and see the rest of Malta, the open topped buses are very good for this, Valletta is beautiful and well worth seeing. Also walk to the left of the hotel for around 20 mins and you will find Buggiba which was really nice with loads of bars and restaurants. There is a nice coffee lounge at the front of the hotel too, and a mini golf course in the courtyard. Lovely people, lovely country, we would definitely go back there and would not hesitate to book the Qawra Palace again, but with a sea view room..

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room (upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissajane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Where should I start? This hotel was brilliant couldn't of wanted a better place. Firstly when we arrived we were a little early so they said we would have to wait about an hour, so we asked if we could leave our luggage anywhere as we didnt want to be pulling it around after we had just got off the plane. And yes they had a great big Luggage Room that we left all our bags in, within the hour the room was ready.
The room itself had a power card that you had to insert to get the power to come on which can be a bit of a pain as you cant leave one person in the room sleeping or watching TV while the other takes the key. I also think that there was plenty of storage for the four of us in a family room eg cupboard storage is of a high standard. The room air conditioning is very effective and has three fan modes, heats and cools the room and is free to run. I woundnt worry about room views as the sea is often rough and you can't see out that far anyway, so just get a inland/courtyard view room. They also provide a decent fridge that you can adjust + three British sockets.
The meals and food were extremely nice, every mealtime is like a buffet and you go up and help yourself to as much as you can eat. Theres always puddings and starters too, the waiters are always happy to help.
The entertainment is great they have an outdoor pool that is open 9:00 - 5:00 and an indoor with jacuzzis thats open from 9:00 - 9:00 only in the winter season. The indoor is chlorine outdoor is salt. Theres also a ballroom with entairtainment for the adults to enjoy + 3 bars and a cafe. The games room is good fun for kids and adults but if you spend to long there it gets expensive...so set a limit. The staff are all friendly and the lifts are ontime. the internet is expensive but worth it £2.00 an hour.

TIPS:
Bring your own kettle. teabags, spoons ETC.
Dont buy a TV remote, it works without.
Limit your games room money.
Dont spend too long in the pool.
Eat as much as you can during meals.
Get an hour of internet at a time.
Dont bother with sea views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Thom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I do try to be positive when I write reviews, as I am a firm believer in "you get what you pay for" but there aren't many positive things I can say about the Qawra Palace. We booked it as a cheap family getaway, but having said that it wasn't SO cheap that I would have expected it to be this bad.

We booked through an agent and had asked for a sea view room (and said that we were willing to pay extra) but they said it was 'first come first served' so we ended up with a 'courtyard' room. Dark and dingy. This was the agents fault not the hotels, as I know you can book a sea view room direct from the hotel, but it still spoilt our stay from day one.

The food was passable, but canteen quality. Breakfast drinks were unacceptable - they water the fruit juices down so much that they are like dirty water with a head on top. Tea is undrinkable so we bought our own teabags for day two (and I'm not one of those British people that whinge about not getting a proper cup of tea, the stuff they served was truly undrinkable). The biggest problem with the restaurant was we were crammed into one section (the infamous section C) while the rest of the restaurant was half empty. It was impossible to get in and out of the table, and the waiters treated us like we were inconveniencing them by our presence.

The entertainment was aimed at the over 60's, however, even my 70 year old in-laws found it pretty awful. It was more like Maplins than a four star hotel. Everything has to be paid for - you can have tea and coffee making facilities in your room for 4.70 a day (and a £20 deposit), the safe key cost 11.70 (every other hotel I've stayed in only ask for a refundable deposit). The crazy golf (which is a strip of carpet with a hole a the end) is chargable. On the plus side, drinks were reasonably priced, and we had an OK bottle of wine with dinner each night for 4.50. However, the bar is completely devoted to football, which none of my party are the slightest bit interested in (if it's your thing, then fine, but not everyone in England is obsessed with it!)

Don't expect to sleep late at this hotel, the cleaners start banging on the doors at 8.30 am. Even if you leave a do not disturb sign on the door, they'll still wake you by shouting and arguing in the corridors. There's no thought about keeping the noise down, the staff were noisier than other guests.

On the plus side, the pool area is fine, as is the indoor spa. Cleanliness was fine, and the rooms were cleaned each day as I would expect. I did witness some pretty dodgy activities in the dining room though - waiters putting uneated rolls from guest's tables back on the buffet table(you might do this at home, but you really can't do this when you are serving the public, you don't know where those rolls have been - dropped on the floor, coughted on, sneezed on! ) I could go on, but enough to say this in no way a four star hotel and it would be lucky to scrape two stars here.

We didn't think much of Qawra in general - there are far nicer places in Malta. It was quite handy for the bus station though, so we took some lovely trips around the Island.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoanneL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Paul's Bay hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

just returned from three weeks stay at qawra palace very good value food good and staff
excellent shows every night and all football available room good with fridge overall good
only blur was by guests coming into hotel wet from swimming making conditions tricky
also people taking food from restaurant despite warning notices

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikebow186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Qawra Palace though a 4 star hotel lacks the feeling of its rating. I used the hotel purely as a base and it suited my needs perfectle. The breakfast either traditonal cooked or continental was basic but nice (Early on). The drinks are cheap and it is well placed in the resort for local amenities, pubs, clubs restaurants etc. There is a tour bus service running outside, take the Blue ones its far bettern and a great way to see Malta, hop on off style to all major attractions.

As a single person the only down side were some unfriendly Brits but thats the same all over the world, ashame really.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick_Boardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Friendly stuff
good food
comfy room
good entertainment

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejxil02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.3 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
5.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qawra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qawra Palace Hotel

Property: Qawra Palace Hotel
Address: Qawra Sea Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qawra Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qawra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qawra Palace Hotel Malta
Qawra Palace St Pauls Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing