We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST NIGHT SPENT IN 1STAR TIME SHARE APARTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FIRST NIGHT SPENT IN 1STAR TIME SHARE APARTMENT”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We expected a nice 4 star hotel with good rooms as per the web site, we where given the key to a time share apartment l wouldnt rate as 2 star, bedroom with double pushed onto one wall so just about room to get in, kitchen lounge very dated and very tired with riped curtains, and loose draughty windows. this was also on the main route to the casino which l think closes at 5.00 am as this was when we finaly got some sleep as people were walking to and from the casino shouting and making general noise.
The next morning we complained and were offered a room which was up to 4 star standards. but this should have been what we had from the start,
Food and rest of hotel was ok but spoiled by the first night specialy as we only went for 4 nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYSC010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    1,046
    526
    195
    111
See reviews for
718
1,245
134
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

A very pleasant stay. The property itself is very attractive, with nice views of the bay. Very close to shops, eateries, and the bus system. Very courteous staff. Lounge entertainment very good, very English/American centric and friendly in song selection. Surprise/highlight was an all Maltese country band composed of brothers, who really nailed the genre, including Gospel and traditional. The room was fine, bed comfortable, water hot. Genuine temple ruins in the back courtyard. Too cool to assess the pool outside, and didn't try the indoor as we were too busy.
Food was fine. However,and this goes for all my European travel, they are very stingy with the beverages (except for breakfast). Thankfully, I could drink the tap water safely. It would have been to expensive to stay well-hydrated.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Director of Sales at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2011
Thank you for youy review, we are glad you enjoyed your stayed at the Dolmen and that you found everything as expected. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Situated next to sea between Buggiba and Qawra. The resort is very English with English 'pubs' and cafes selling all day English breakfasts. Reception staff varied form 'efficient' to pleasant, welcoming and helpful. Most of the rooms are twin bedded according to reception. I asked for a double and the only one left was in an older room as afar as possible away from everything. Stayed in twin room. A pleasant room though the tow beds varied in comfort. Decent TV and good balcony,. Room faced quite a noisy road(at times) with inefficient double glazing. Could see the sea from balcony. Very good TV but no tea making facilities. Room service did not operate after 2230. Mini bar was well priced. Excellent bathroom. Restaurant was huge but was very efficient offering all types of breakfast and well cooked. Bars were pleasant and reasonably priced. Cafe Delor was a good eating and drinking place during day. Indoor pool good but rest of facilities being refurbished so difficult to comment. Bar and Cafe staff were very helpful and friendly. Handy car park (car hire is v cheap in Malta) but cost 15 euro

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbro
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed at The Dolmen again, excellant as usual.

Food lovely, lots to chose from. The staff fantastic.

The views over the bay are amazing if you have a sea view room Booked up already to return in June.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borojules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Just had a week at this delightful hotel on bed/breakfast basis. Excellent choice of breakfast, large room with all we needed, very clean and well serviced daily. Our room was round the side but the buses wer'nt particularly noisy and it was great to have the bus station so handy. The pool side of the hotel was beautiful and I cant wait to go back to this hotel. I've always preferred to visit different hotels but not this time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Director of Sales at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoy your stay and we really hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2011

From the day we arrived we were looked after in a very friendly and helpful manner.
The room exceeded our expectations and the maid service was very good.
The restaurant staff were also very friendly and efficient in their respective roles. The food was very varied and delicious ... all tastes were catered for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toppo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Director of Sales at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Dolmen Resort Hotel. Glad you found everythig perfect and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenbach am Main
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I felt at home during my entire stay at the Dolmen hotel, be it the staff from waiters to the room maids, and the native Maltese, whereever I have been, I got to know laid back and friendly people and they would make you feel as their welcomed guests!

The hotel is ideally located in a very airy spot of this tiny island, namely in the north vis à vis St. Pauls Bay. Supermarkets, restaurants, cafés and bars are in walking distance and the most important: the bus terminal is just behind the hotel and would get you to every corner of Malta.

The room I have been in (#557, sea view) was spotlessly clean, every day and not only at the arrival. The bathroom is spacious, so is the bedroom, equipped with a flat screen TV.

Continental breakfast is served at the hotel's café, the restaurant is huge with countless catering points and offered a tremendous variety of any kind of cuisine (Veggie, seafood, Maltese dish).

If you'd opt primarily for relaxation, this address will be the right one to go ahead!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bornova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Director of Sales at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found everything perfect during your stay at the Dolmen. We definately hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,538 reviews
5.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Property: Dolmen Resort Hotel
Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing