We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Nearby Hotels
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Primera Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$65
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$163
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
$236
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Azzurro(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porto del Sol(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,098)
Filter reviews
3,098 results
Traveler rating
1,006
1,165
592
212
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,006
1,165
592
212
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple barcafe delossea viewswim up barprivate beachthe busanimation teammain restaurantbig hotelindoor poolsea frontplenty of choicehalf boardbreakfast and dinnerthe air conditioninglarge balconytime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 3,098 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having visited the Dolmen Hotel twice a year for the last 3 years with family, I decided to spend a week in the hotel on my own in May this year. I got the room I requested, so my thanks to Claude, manager of room allocation. I wondered how I would like eating in the Restaurant sitting on my own but thanks to the restaurant staff, Raymond, Joseph to name a few, I was made to feel very comfortable. Being close to Resort Centre there was always plenty to do and see plus an excellent bus service to all places on the Island. I enjoyed myself so much I shall certainly go again alone. I will be there in September with family again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing into the ruins of the Chapel are very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 781LadyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear 781LadyP,

Thank you so much for rating your experience at the Dolmen Resort Hotel with 5 stars.

We are happy to read that you had a great time and a great stay at the Dolmen Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments and mention our colleagues for their professionalism.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look very forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort this September.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It was our second time here,we really like this hotel!one of the most pools i like!..it is central so you can enjoy a relaxing walk by the coast and enjoy the night life in summer..am sure to stay at Dolmen for another time! thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear MelanieRed,

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback that you have very kindly placed on Trip Advisor and shared with fellow travelers.

We are pleased that you were satisfied with the service and facilities that you experienced during your stay at the Dolmen Resort.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Based on what we paid, the hotel was average. We were a family of 6 and booked 2 rooms. The rooms are basic and have been cheaply updated/maintained and tired in appearance. Cleanliness 6/10. Bedding is also basic with low quality sheets, pillows and mattress. A/C was old and very noisy and kept us awake at night. No windows or screened/secure balcony door mean't we couldn't leave open at night. Large dining room for breakfast is busy and noisy. Whilst there is a large variety and an abundance of food on offer, it is poor in quality. The staff encountered in the house keeping and dining areas were friendly and attentive. Reception staff provided basic information, but not very helpful or welcoming. Nice Cafe/Restaurant with lovely sea views. The pool areas are nice and lots of sunbeds (but it was early June and still cool temperatures). Location of the hotel is in a tourist village center, on the waterfront and close to beaches, restaurants, shops and buses. Many tour groups seemed to be staying at the hotel, guests mostly aged 50+. I will definitely return to Malta again buy I wouldn't stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank 14Bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear 14Bern,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for making time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at the Resort. We would like to assure you that your comments have been well noted and appropriate action has been taken.

Whilst we cannot turn back time, we do hope we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back to the Maltese Islands and indeed to the Dolmen Resort. In the eventuality of your next visit we invite you to contact us directly with any particular request you might have.

Always at your service,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was my 3rd stay at the Dolmen Resort and I still cannot fault it!! Best location, spacious rooms and most of all, stunning views of St Paul's Islands and St Paul's Bay! The breakfast is abundant, the spa has reasonable prices, the restaurants impeccable! If you're going to Malta, definitely stay at Dolmen!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and the stunning view of St Paul's Islands are the best!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlsCass1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear MarlsCass1969,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort. It is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed the views we have to offer. This is indeed a very significant feature of our resort, overlooking direct views of the Mediterranean Sea.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again an thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Dolmen Hotel. We were there to attend a friends wedding at the hotel. On the plus side the pools are beautiful and being four of them, you can move around from one to the other. The breakfast was plentiful, word of warning, don't eat the cornflakes they are a cheap variety, and are chewy and stale. The cooked breakfast was tasty and hot. Our first room was very clean but overlooked the main pool were music was played at high volume (it made the patio doors shake when closed).from about 10ish to 5.30ish. No peace and no sun on our veranda at all (room 279). o asked to move, very efficiently done, next room much more quiet, sun on terrace, but not very clean. i suppose you can't have everything!
On the down side, this is not a 4* hotel. Maybe it once was, but it is in need of TLC. paint peeling off, loos dripping, banister rails loose etc. We also had to put up with builders under our window working on the new Casino extension from early morning.
Area ok, if you want a small town. Coffee shops were very good and cheap. Vinnie's restaurant in brilliant. Don't bother with the new Aquarium, most of the fish are very small and half are not labeled - not impressed seen better in Bournemouth.
But I was impressed with the wedding. Set around a pool, the food was excellent. Lovely warm evening breeze to sit and eat your meal in - lovely. But would I book here again, probably not, too noisy.

Room Tip: If you do not like your room, aske to be moved. After speaking to other guests, we discovered that 50% of them had asked to be moved and had been at no extra cost.And book a sea view otherwise the view is not good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yellowsponges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear yellowsponges,

Thank you very much for taking the time to register your experience on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry to find out that so many little things that make up, what should be a heavenly experience, did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with the Management Team in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer so that similar incidents will not reoccur.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies and thank you once again for your feedback.

With our warmest regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews