We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,058)
Filter reviews
3,058 results
Traveler rating
995
1,146
586
208
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
995
1,146
586
208
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple barcafe delossea viewswim up barprivate beachthe busanimation teammain restaurantbig hotelindoor poolsea frontplenty of choicehalf boardbreakfast and dinnerthe air conditioninglarge balconytime share
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,188 - 1,193 of 3,058 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I read several reviews of different hotels before I finally plumped for the Dolmen. The last time I visited Malta this hotel was just being built and other hotels were very good.

Several years on, the 'other hotels' are now shabby, at least externally, but the Dolmen is as good as you're going to get in Malta. The reception area was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The bedroom was enormous! It's the largest bedroom we have been allocated in any European hotel. Lovely sea view, large balcony, two double beds, clean and functional bathroom, lots of storage space. We did not encounter any noise from the anywhere else.

The dining room was OK; the only problem was the Germans, French and Spanish who do not share our views on queuing therefore there was some barging and 'pushing in' from many of the guests. This, however, is not the hotel's fault. We were very disappointed to see some guests arriving for dinner dressed in shorts and t-shirts when it states quite clearly that long trousers should be worn. Fortunately this was dealt with and it didn't happen a second time.

The only other area where an improvement ought to be made is in the bar. One bar is not enough. It would be better if guests who wish to watch Champions League football were given a separate bar where the sound could also be on the giant television then those who wish to enjoy the live entertainment could do so without the intermittent cheering from the football fans. We wanted to enjoy both the football and the entertainment but not at the same time!!!

My husband would have welcomed air conditioning in the gym.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high floor with a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Rosemary C,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort, it is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Looking forward to having you back at the resort and the Islands.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Small town but very relaxing break , went with my best friend here and we both just enjoyed the sheer relaxation and the luxury of doing absolutely nothing for 5 days. The breakfast had a good selection and we could always get a sun bed by the poolside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Tanya D,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The self catering apartments in the Dolmen Hotel have been refurbished since our last visit two years ago.They are quite large and comfortable with a good balcony looking over the sea.The housekeeping is every day and you were supplied with lovely fresh towels daily. The only thing I would change is the very small cooker which is located rather awkwardly in a corner.We like to cook and I thought they might have changed this arrangement during the refurbishing.However It is a very pleasant apartment for a holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We went for a 5 night all inclusive break. As the season hadn't started a lot of the hotel was not being used (some of the outdoor pools were closed and the cafe closed for refurbishment) but this didn't detract from the quality of the break. All staff were very polite and more than willing to help in any way. Besides a small problem at check in (put down as full board when it should have been all inclusive) which was dealt with quite easily and without fuss.
The room was fine. The meals were of an excellent quality and the service first class. All staff in the restaurant and Temple Bar were very accommodating, The cleaner really did ensure our room was spotless.
All in all a great experience which we will look to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinW338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear MartinW338,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Mrs. Tigerseye and I did a timeshare trade for a week at the Dolmen in early December 2013. The one bedroom unit we had traded into unfortunately was located at the far end of the resort, down long corridors. The unit was dark inside with a less than useful central AC, really warm despite 60 degrees outside; at a ground floor level, we opened the large sliding glass doors to get ventilation, but there was no screen and the room was quickly filled with small flies. After talking to the front desk personnel, we were kindly offered another unit, but had to wait two days before it was vacated, so they gave us a room fan until it was ready. The new unit was on the 5th floor and was really nice and sunny--balcony offered a wrap-around view of the local beachfront and the Mediterranean. The bed and bedroom was very comfortable, plenty of hot water. The kitchen was part of an open dining room and living room arrangement. That unit was relatively quiet at the end of a hallway, and it didn't appear that we had neighbors on either side.The cable TV in the unit had a small selection of European channels in French, Italian, Maltese, and English, though not enough to spend a long time watching--glad we had books and other entertainment for downtime. It did take some work to get extra towels, pillows, and even facial tissues as the front desk didn't always carry through on our requests, so we had to wander about the resort to find housekeeping staff who would be willing to part with the goods. Location of the Dolmen was quite good, easy walking distance to restaurants in Qawra, around the corner from the local bus depot (we used the public buses to go everywhere on the island), and also local grocery stores. Fortunately, as this was the low season, the resort wasn't totally mobbed with bus loads of tours. We did not use the restaurant as we had our own cooking facilities in the timeshare. All in all, despite the hiccup, we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Like others have said, trade up or get a unit on a higher floor if you can. The front desk folks were very accommodating about that.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigerseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews