We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets in Malta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolmen Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Brighouse
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Malta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I read several reviews of different hotels before I finally plumped for the Dolmen. The last time I visited Malta this hotel was just being built and other hotels were very good.

Several years on, the 'other hotels' are now shabby, at least externally, but the Dolmen is as good as you're going to get in Malta. The reception area was good and the staff friendly and helpful. The bedroom was enormous! It's the largest bedroom we have been allocated in any European hotel. Lovely sea view, large balcony, two double beds, clean and functional bathroom, lots of storage space. We did not encounter any noise from the anywhere else.

The dining room was OK; the only problem was the Germans, French and Spanish who do not share our views on queuing therefore there was some barging and 'pushing in' from many of the guests. This, however, is not the hotel's fault. We were very disappointed to see some guests arriving for dinner dressed in shorts and t-shirts when it states quite clearly that long trousers should be worn. Fortunately this was dealt with and it didn't happen a second time.

The only other area where an improvement ought to be made is in the bar. One bar is not enough. It would be better if guests who wish to watch Champions League football were given a separate bar where the sound could also be on the giant television then those who wish to enjoy the live entertainment could do so without the intermittent cheering from the football fans. We wanted to enjoy both the football and the entertainment but not at the same time!!!

My husband would have welcomed air conditioning in the gym.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a high floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Rosemary C,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort, it is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Looking forward to having you back at the resort and the Islands.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    970
    489
    186
    101
See reviews for
669
1,160
124
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Small town but very relaxing break , went with my best friend here and we both just enjoyed the sheer relaxation and the luxury of doing absolutely nothing for 5 days. The breakfast had a good selection and we could always get a sun bed by the poolside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Tanya D,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The self catering apartments in the Dolmen Hotel have been refurbished since our last visit two years ago.They are quite large and comfortable with a good balcony looking over the sea.The housekeeping is every day and you were supplied with lovely fresh towels daily. The only thing I would change is the very small cooker which is located rather awkwardly in a corner.We like to cook and I thought they might have changed this arrangement during the refurbishing.However It is a very pleasant apartment for a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We went for a 5 night all inclusive break. As the season hadn't started a lot of the hotel was not being used (some of the outdoor pools were closed and the cafe closed for refurbishment) but this didn't detract from the quality of the break. All staff were very polite and more than willing to help in any way. Besides a small problem at check in (put down as full board when it should have been all inclusive) which was dealt with quite easily and without fuss.
The room was fine. The meals were of an excellent quality and the service first class. All staff in the restaurant and Temple Bar were very accommodating, The cleaner really did ensure our room was spotless.
All in all a great experience which we will look to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinW338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear MartinW338,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Mrs. Tigerseye and I did a timeshare trade for a week at the Dolmen in early December 2013. The one bedroom unit we had traded into unfortunately was located at the far end of the resort, down long corridors. The unit was dark inside with a less than useful central AC, really warm despite 60 degrees outside; at a ground floor level, we opened the large sliding glass doors to get ventilation, but there was no screen and the room was quickly filled with small flies. After talking to the front desk personnel, we were kindly offered another unit, but had to wait two days before it was vacated, so they gave us a room fan until it was ready. The new unit was on the 5th floor and was really nice and sunny--balcony offered a wrap-around view of the local beachfront and the Mediterranean. The bed and bedroom was very comfortable, plenty of hot water. The kitchen was part of an open dining room and living room arrangement. That unit was relatively quiet at the end of a hallway, and it didn't appear that we had neighbors on either side.The cable TV in the unit had a small selection of European channels in French, Italian, Maltese, and English, though not enough to spend a long time watching--glad we had books and other entertainment for downtime. It did take some work to get extra towels, pillows, and even facial tissues as the front desk didn't always carry through on our requests, so we had to wander about the resort to find housekeeping staff who would be willing to part with the goods. Location of the Dolmen was quite good, easy walking distance to restaurants in Qawra, around the corner from the local bus depot (we used the public buses to go everywhere on the island), and also local grocery stores. Fortunately, as this was the low season, the resort wasn't totally mobbed with bus loads of tours. We did not use the restaurant as we had our own cooking facilities in the timeshare. All in all, despite the hiccup, we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Like others have said, trade up or get a unit on a higher floor if you can. The front desk folks wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Clean comfortable rooms. Food very good too. Stayed for two nights and was very impressed. Would stay here again. Booked in for my husbands birthday and he went to see the Boxing that the Dolmen was hosting. And enjoyed it immensely would love to go again if other venues were available.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Magpielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Magpielass,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I go frequent weekend breaks at Dolmen. For me it was one of the best hotels in Malta. But unfortunately the level of the hotel is decreasing with the level of itself. The hotel needs some maintenance as some accessories in the room are being old and broken. Another notice is on the Saturday dinner.There were two types of meat and no choice of chicken and for me and my family who did not like meat there was no main course. In the whole service in the hotel, cleanless and staff is 100%

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanmar2729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Vanmar2729,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

As a management team, we do take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Property: Dolmen Resort Hotel
Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing