We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Dolmen Hotel. Our room was of a very high standard and being on the sixth floor with a balcony the view was outstanding. The hotel had plenty of choice regarding leisure time and a large garden area.

We were on a half board stay and were aware that meals would be on a self service basis but we found the food to be very good, plenty of choice, the staff being very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately some of our fellow guests, of all nationalities, did not seem to appreciate the work being done by the staff to try to accomodate everyone, as is often the case.

We did utilise the other cafe and bar facilities, we had a meal in the outside restaurant, located through the tunnel, where the food and service were excellent.

There was a little blip or perhaps misunderstand during our stay, regarding the advertising of the entertainment but once we brought this to the attention of the management it was resolved in an extremely professional way, and to our satisfaction, by the duty manager Jonathan Mallia.

Having the bus station just up the road was another bonus, whilst most services do seem to be busy, on the advice of Francis our courier, we used the bus to get around on our own most of the time.

The Hotel was very quiet, convenient base for our holiday and as a result we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the sixth floor are worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Richard2369,

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travelers.

We are happy to read that you had a great time and a great stay at the Dolmen Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments and mention our colleagues for their professionalism.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look very forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,869)
There are newer reviews for Dolmen Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for a week at the end of October. Nothing was too much trouble for them, I bought Wifi for our room and it didn't work, so they moved us to another room and gave us a bottle of wine. The breakfast was excellent, such a choice!. We didnt eat lunch at the hotel but the local restaurants were brilliant, especially Incognito ( more of that under restaurants)

The rooms are large and airy and 50% overlook the bay, what a sunset! They are cleaned everyday and too a very high standard. The receptionist are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble for them. The pools are spotlessly clean and you get a beach towel from the spa. You cross under the main road and enter their beach side area which has enough beds for everyone, there is a bar and a fantastic restaurant. We ate there twice in the evening and had some of the best meals we ever had!

Malta itself is one long traffic jam but you must go on a Hornblower boat trip from the harbour down the road, it made our stay complete.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, it has a much better view, and Wifi than the first.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Phil W,

Greetings from the Dolmen Resort and the Maltese Islands!

Thank you for making the time and posting a review following your stay at our resort, it is with great pleasure to read that you found our rooms delightful.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent a few days here over the October half term. Had a sea-view room in the new part of the hotel - fabulous view over the bay. Staff very friendly and the breakfast buffet had lots of choice. Good location for local restaurants, aquarium and bus terminus.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Treeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Treeesh,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Another excellent holiday. We stayed several years ago and liked the hotel, so returned this year for a week's stay. We paid the extra to have a sea view and the holiday was delightful.
The food was very good, and being buffet, there were many choices at the breakfast and evening meals.
The hotel seemed to be better than when we stayed before - the staff were all very pleasant, and the overall feeling was one of being cared for - even down to an early morning breakfast at 3.30am on our departure day.
The fact of being at the bus terminus was a good point, as the buses were very busy, even at the end of October.
The room was good, the air con did not seem to really get the temperature down to a cold position, but was adequate for the time of year.
We would definitely recommend this for anyone wanting to stay in Malta, and we will be going back again in the future.

Room Tip: The sea-view side of the hotel, whilst a little more expensive is definitely better for watching sun...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mel B,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

having arrived around midday our rooms were not ready so we left them in reception. We were then allocated rooms on the ground floor. My mother and my sister in laws father had asked for ground floor due to mobility problems but we were all given ground floor in fact. Our room was massive with another room with two single beds adjoined as well only draw back was no balcony and couldnt really leave windows open as we were on ground floor. The rooms were pretty dark and dated and i believe the whole hotel could do with a refit as most things looked old and dated.
Breakfast wasnt the best ive had but it was ok, the position of the hotel was good and the pools were good. The batulan restaraunrt was very good would definatley recommend that, we ate there twice in a week

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliec567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Juliec567,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

As a management team, we do take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel last week for a short break, it was a wonderful place to stay, quiet and peaceful ( if that's your scene),staff were very helpful, polite and considerate. The Hotel was very clean and very presentable, the facilities here are great, 5 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, sunbeds galore, easy access to the sea, health club and spa. The main restaurant is large and very well manned and equipped, prices are comparable, but you get what you pay for. I only had breakfast in the restaurant, but there was such a large selection everyone was catered for an excellent bar and cafe outside by the pool caters for evening meals, and reasonable prices. With other restaurants and bars around the hotel grounds, worth exploring.


The views across St Paul's bay are wonderful if you stay in a sea-view room, balconies over look the pool areas, this is a great place for a family holiday, and I will certainly go again.
Transport to and from the hotel is easily organised and prrompt, the local Arriva bus station is close by the hotel and cheap for buses into Valletta

The hotel is very large, and very well looked after, unlike the San Antonio that is close by, which I cannot really comment on, I can only repeat what others I met who stayed there had to say about it, "not good"!

Be aware of the hawkers who try and coax you into the San Antonio or the Radisson Blu with offers of gifts of Wine, spirits, jewelry or perfume to go and listen to an hours talk about the hotel and what it can offer, they are just a sales pitch for time shares, and they come up with wonderful gifts to attract you, they are very pushy, don't be fooled by their so called friendliness..

Room Tip: If yo are not happy with your initial choice or allocation of room do not be afraid to ask for a cha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Shedend26,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Dolmen for 6 days from the 19th October 2013. Check in was efficient although we couldn't get in to our room till after 2pm but we left our bags and went for lunch in the local square.We stayed bed and breakfast and we couldn't fault the choice of food every morning and although it was busy there was always empty tables to sit at. All the areas of the hotel we're clean and tidy and our room was cleaned every day. The pool areas were clean with plenty of sun beds.We enjoyed our stay at the Dolmen and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was very quiet we slept well.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieP929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear JackieP929,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
5.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
439 reviews
4.4 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $62 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing