We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, best in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, best in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Well , we have just returned, we have stayed in most of the 4 star hotels in the area around this hotel and this one is by far the best. We will now only stay at the Dolmen when we return.
Price of the drinks does need reviewing as it is a little high but service is good so what the hell, if you want beer and wine cheap then go for a long walk there are plenty of cheap bars.
Pools great, all staff great. What can I say....You get what you pay for .....pay cheaper and pay the price, so only book the Dolmen:-) see you next year to the manager who,reads this everyday.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, but no sea view is OK if lots cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelfeedbackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Hotelfeedbackman,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    983
    499
    192
    105
See reviews for
679
1,175
127
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was clean, spa good but a little pricey. Fully inclusive or half board/plus Be careful to check what is included. We did and still had a un-welcome surprise when we came to check out. Beach attached to hotel coarse sand - no charge for sun beds or brolly's. Disapointed with entertainment. Lack of information. Staff were polite but unhelpful at times. Pay extra for sea view. The view from room was lovely. Glad we opted for this and did not get first floor room. (moved to first floor until transfer on last day as our room not available) Food good. Plenty to choose from. No noise after 12 pm. A little noise from youngsters on lawn below balcony before this.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roseann_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Roseann_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I lived on Southern Malta for a year some twenty years back and didn't know this part of the island particularly well, but was pleasantly surprised. The Dolmen resort enjoys an excellent promentary overlooking St Pauls Bay providing one of the best unspoilt vistas that I know on the island. It is hard to find seascapes not overshadowed by excess developments, but the Dolmen provides one. The facilities here are excellent with something for all - four pools (five if you count the indoor) on different levels and good beach area, with easy access to the beautiful Med below.

All of the public areas were cleaned to a high standard daily by an army of staff, well before any one ventured out to the pool decks. The staff at the resort were first rate, although could have been more helpful at check in in providing more information on the resort.

We stayed in one of apartments as part of a time share exchange through Interval International, and encountered our only disappointment - the quality of the facility was not good and in real need of refurbishment. The shower could not accommodate an adult in "lathering mode" - overcame this by keeping the unit door open if you can imagine it, and the bedroom had a bath in one corner. Yes I did say a bath - no dressing table or mirror but a corner bath. I wonder what was going through that interior decorators mind at the time !! Also the main sitting area was extremely uncomfortable, the experience I would akin to waiting for a bus perched on some mock leather bench arrangement. On discussing this with the House Manager he did acknowledge that ours was an apartment due for renovation.

Still the resort restaurants that we tried were very good - Café Delos provided a god variety of lunches between sun bathing with again excellent service, and the Sunset Grill over looking the beach was also very good.

In spite of our experiences with the quality of the apartment, I would recommend this resort and the area of the island as a welcome respite to the chaos that is Sliema and St Julians. In the intervening years since my last stay little has been done to improve the general infra structure of the island whilst the population and numbers of cars has risen. I also hired a bike to keep one step ahead of all the pasta and Cisk, which was a challenge at times, given the road gradients inland of the resort and the general standard of driving !!

Some great restaurants away from the more touristy parts of the area - the area around the actual bay of St Pauls being a particular favourite, and more residential. All in all great break for a week and the fantastic maltese people - get to know them. Even the simplest shopping trip - I went to buy some flowers, can be great fun if you are willing to chat !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandman753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed at this hotel in august was slightly disappointed with our view as it was on the ground floor looking out into the side of a garden but was a lovely room and was not in it very much so didnt really mind as it was lovely and quiet at night and very handy as you didnt have to wait on lifts. Hotel was very nice clean, staff on reception were lovely had to put up with some very crooked customers but they could handle them well. Food was very good in the restaurant plenty of choice, general areas were clean and tidy pools were great plenty to choose from, spa was great lovely staff. In a great place handy for everything. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: ask for a see veiw and on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonsnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Buttonsnez,

We read your review and are very happy to know you find out that you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we do hope to see your return again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose the Dolmen because of the variety of activities and facilities it offers. They are all very well maintained and great care is taken to ensure that they are up to scratch every day. I was not disappointed. The room was clean and very comfortable. It had a lovely view from which one could watch a wonderful Maltese sunset. The restaurant offered a variety of dishes and the sweets were really a pleasure as sweets should always be. The staff were very polite and extremely friendly. I really liked the young chap by the large pool who directed to the place from where we could obtain our pool towels. He escorted us there with a genuine smile and a wonderful readiness to help. The staff in the restaurants were friendly and helpful. We chose the place because we were in serious need of some relaxation and re-charging of our batteries before the new work schedule kicks in. We were not disappointed. I even made use of the spa and really enjoyed it. We intend to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Professor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Professor2013,

Thank you for sharing this experience with fellow travelers.

We are happy to read that you had a great time and a great stay at the Dolmen Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your comments and mention our colleagues for their professionalism.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look very forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

After looking for a place to have a short break, we settled for the Dolmen. Check in was very efficient, and once in the room we were pleasantly surprised at the contemporary decor of the room as well as the cleanliness. The pools were great with ample space for sunbeds, as was the Spa. Dining at Batubulan, the hotel's sunset grill, was a marvelous experience, with mouthwatering food and great service from friendly staff.
Would certainly return to the hotel for future breaks!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are on higher floors (3+) as they have better views. Upgrade to a sea-view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabi292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sabi292,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to The Dolmen Hotel once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My friend and I spend a weekend break at dolmen hotel - Malta ,, enjoyed it alot! Nice hotel, good food and ideal location .. I recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to relax!
This was my first time visiting this hotel, which has restaurant ,, large pools, casino . It has beautiful views of the sea.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Abedum,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

We do our best to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable experience as your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. Rest assured that the entire Dolmen team is only too pleased to make your stay with us an Exceptional one.

Your comments are truly appreciated by the team and we look forward to welcoming you and your friend back again.

Thank you once again and best wishes,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Property: Dolmen Resort Hotel
Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing