We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Dolmen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Dolmen”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as for part of our honeymoon, and it was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in the timeshare area of the hotel, and although some of it was quite dated (decor), it was clear that they were working on bringing the rest of it up to the standard of the lobby area. Although we never ate there, there are a number of restaurants to choose from and there appeared to be entertainment on most nights (although probably not so suitable for the younger hotel residents!). The facilities at the hotel are great - spa, large pool with plenty space to swim and sunbathe. The area that the hotel is in is also very good - right next to the bus terminal which allows you to explore every corner of malta, and also has a range of restaurants and pubs in easy walking distance. We'd definitely stay here again if we were to come back to Malta.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    1,017
    513
    192
    110
See reviews for
697
1,210
131
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we have just come back from a 2 week break at the dolmen, we found the reception staff very co-operative when we asked if we could switch rooms and have one with a balcony and it was no problem, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and always plenty of hot water and towels fluffy.we found the restaurant ok and found it best to go early for breakfast and dinner as food was fresher and hotter, it got a bit dried out later, the waiting staff were excellent and always cleared plates etc quickly and were very friendly to talk to, we did find the reserving of tables very frustrating and sometimes found it difficult to find a table for two, the cafe we found excellent for snacks or lunch, all very freshly cooked food and nice cakes and reasonably priced.the hotel was positioned in a good convenient place for bus station and getting around and lots of shops, supermarkets etc close by, the negative of staying there is the constant harassment of timeshare/holiday club reps which are situated just outside the hotel lobby and all the way to the bus station from morning to night promising you all sorts of gifts etc, stay clear of them they are nothing but trouble

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julieheptinstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Julieheptinstall,

Firstly, allow me on behalf of the Dolmen team to show our sincere appreciation for making time to share with fellow travellers your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that we have also taken note of your suggestions as these help us to improve further our services and facilities.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Dolmen Resort and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, and in the eventuality I am inviting you to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we have just returned from a three week holiday at the dolmen hotel staying in a superior sea view room( well worth the extra cost) . the view from our balcony was stunning.the hotel was spotless and the food very good with plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner.we enjoyed the hotel facilities especially the pool and sauna.we found all the staff to be both friendly and helpful.
If possible try to avoid booking when the big conference is on (january) delegates tend to take over.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 998woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear 998woody,

Allow us to thank you for making the time and sharing this review following your stay at our resort.

We are glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the views we have to offer. This is indeed a very significant feature of our resort, overlooking direct views of the Mediterranean Sea.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

have just been back from a weekend break at the dolmen hotel. rooms are nice but could be a bit bigger. beds are very comfortable. rooms are clean. food is very good, breakfast was excellent but you end up eating too much :) dinner was good as well but i would have preferred some more choices. staff were nice and warm and it was also very nice of them to offer a bottle of wine for my aunties birthday. indoor pool is nice but it was a bit crowded and it could be a bit warmer. still it was a nice experience and would defiantly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leomalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Leomalt,

Firstly, allow me on behalf of the Dolmen team to show our sincere appreciation for making time to share with fellow travellers your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that we have also taken note of your suggestions as these help us to improve further our services and facilities.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Dolmen Resort and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, and in the eventuality I am inviting you to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We are just back from a terrific week at the Dolmen.... everything was just lovely. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food (we had half-board) was great, every day had lots of choice, all beautifully cooked. We so looked forward to coming back in the evening, hungry from a long day exploring the island, knowing we were going to have a lovely meal! We would definitely go back, and have recommended it to all our friends. :-)

Room Tip: We couldn't fault our room, except that it didn't have a sea view, but we chose not to pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Perho,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent four days at this hotel. I was frustrated because they had such poor Wifi. My personal issue. It was a great value for what I paid though. I had booked half-board and felt that the breakfast and dinner were good. Staff was very helpful. I would stay here again, however, I'd try to find some other arrangement than to be dependent on the hotel's poor wifi setup.

Room Tip: Higher is better. I had two fighting cats outside my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Greg F,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for finding the time to highlighting your stay at our Resort. Your candid feedback is very much appreciated and has certainly warranted our sincere attention in order to fully address the feedback you felt necessary to outline.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Dolmen Resort Hotel,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed there before and was very happy with it then. But this time we got very disappointed with our room. We asked to have it changed and they were very helpful. The breakfast was very nice and so was the new room we got.The indoor spa and pool area was crowded with kids families. So, as a couple wanting to get a way on a romantic trip I would not choose this hotel.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Frida E,

We reviewed your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get from past guests.

We do thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,635 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Property: Dolmen Resort Hotel
Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing