We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 for 10 days and had a great time.

I emailed the hotel with a request of a high floor, refurbished room and the room we got had the most amazing balcony right on the top floor, with a free safe - ok it was right below the noisy aircon unit for all, but the balcony was a big as the room!! The Spa was amazing - I love the sun, but would have happily spent the entire holiday down there!! We did wander up to the MacDonalds on the evenings to collect our emails via their free wifi. The reception staff were fantastic with all our questions. My only grip was the 'battle of dinner time' (nearly same to blows with another guest who refused to move from a table where we had placed drinks and starters but the staff stepped in) we soon learnt that the later sitting was much quieter. There were loads of tables already reserved to groups, which made it abit difficult to find a quiet table for two! I felt bit sorry for the staff as they were just doing their best given the situation. The food was good, not too rich - that was made up for by the desserts so bad for the waistline!

We really enjoyed the position of the hotel with its easy access to the bus depot and promenade - regularly took walks to St Pauls Bay for a great view back over the resort. Got the buses to Valletta, Medina, Golden Bay and Mosta - they were so easy to use.
Used Mermaid for boat trip to Gozo with a stop off in Comino, but were able to swim in a quieter lagoon then many were dropped off at Blue Lagoon which was crazy busy, whilst we traveled onto Gozo. Definitely recommend Mermaid as they were the first non aggressive sales reps - they would only take a deposit as they couldnt guarantee a trip with the weather.
In Valetta used Luzzu Cruises for harbour tour, really good friendly bunch.

Really enjoyed our stay in Malta and would recommend this hotel to any with the warning of the dining room battle.

Room Tip: High floor, refurbished with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear HayleyM73,

On behalf of the Dolmen team, I would like to primarily thank you for making the time to kindly post a great review on Trip Advisor.

Rest assured that as a team we certainly engage in doing our utmost to make each and every guests' stay comfortable and pleasant, irrespective of their purpose of travelling.

So we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Dolmen four times (last visit November 2012) in the last two years and each visit has proved to be most enjoyable.
The hotel entrance is very inviting and once inside the foyer it is very spacious and the reception staff are helpful and polite.
The hotel is very conveniently situated and is merely a three minute walk to the bus terminal, from which you can access all parts of the island and the neighbouring island of Gozo.
The main dining room is an attractive circular shape and provides a large variety of food, both hot and cold. The dessert selection at dinner is quite mouth-watering and we found the waiters very attentive.
On each of our visits we have stayed in a sea view room providing a very pleasing view over St.Paul's bay, with quite stunning evening sunsets. The rooms have always been very well presented and kept very clean by equally pleasant staff, who are always ready to help with any reasonable request.
As we are very avid walkers and prefer to be outside as much as possible we haven't participated or explored any of the other facilities the hotel provides.
We have always found the area very safe in the evenings and we will be returning to the Dolmen in February 2013 for our fifth stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Max U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Max U,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 23-12 till 05-1. I must say that I enjoyed my stay very much. A week before my stay I contacted the hotel because I wanted a renovated room on one of the higher floors (I booked a standard room). The request was granted. The check-in procedure was swift and I got room 510 which was very nice. I liked the modern decor. The bed was comfortable and I had a big tv. The minibar was fully stocked but it did not work. The bathroom was also renovated and clean. You could see at the drain of the toilet and at the tap in shower that they were a bit sloppy but this was not a concern for me although I think that over time mold and dirt will accumulate there... I had a balcony and a little working area. The room was a bit narrow, you had limited space between the bed and the desk but I had no problem with it since I was a single traveler. An older person could have problems with that. Breakfast was good with a fairly wide selection and good service. The staff there is hard working. Cafe Delos, the coffee shop inside the hotel, serves good food for reasonable prices. right now the interior looks tired but the management told me that it will be renovated during spring. Bugibba, the town where the hotel is situated, is a bit sleepy. There is a promenade with a few shops and restaurants but that's about it. My stay was during the off-season, I guess in summer it is busier. Saint Julians with it's busy night life is only 20 minutes away. Buses run regularly and are inexpensive. At the end of my stay I filled in a questionnaire and they did came back on that. It is nice to see that your feedback and suggestions are valued and taken seriously. Check-out was also fast but I felt that I didn't get a proper good bye. The gentleman didn't ask me if I had a nice stay and he didn't say good bye , have a nice journey or something like that. But in overall I am quite pleased with the hotel, especially considering the low rate (23 euro/night, Bed and Breakfast) I paid. If I return to Malta (and I will), this hotel will be my first choice when they are offering a competitive rate. I would advise to everybody to do the same.

Room Tip: High floor definitely. It is up to you if want to pay the supplement for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiziger1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear reiziger1992,

Firstly, allow me on behalf of the Dolmen team to show our sincere appreciation for making time to share with fellow travelers your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that we have also taken note of your suggestions as these help us to improve further our services and facilities.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Dolmen Resort and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, and in the eventuality I am inviting you to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel in my opinion was not all that you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The bathroom was dated. The lift doors didn't fully open properly. The breakfast wasn't amazing.

The location would suit mature people as that seemed to be the general clientele. Not a lot going on nearby in January.

The price of the accommodation was excellent tho. Especially as the breakfast was included in the rate.

Wifi is expensive and parking is not free.

I wouldn't personally stay here again but I wouldn't go as far as tell others not to. Each to their own. A well presented hotel generally just not what I have got used to when seeing a 4 star rating.

Maybe if I was sending my grandmother she would like this place ok.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmypirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Jimmypirate,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your constructive comments.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. This is certainly not a situation we are happy with, since we strive to maintain the highest possible levels of standards and facilities in order to meet the expectations and desires of our guests.

Indeed your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management Team, in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your constructive comments will only assist us in continually improving on the services we have to offer to our clients.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having holidayed in various parts of Europe, America and Canada over the past 50 years, it was always going to be a difficult choice for the destination to stay for our Golden Wedding Anniversary. We had visited St. Julians in 1992 and liked Malta. Taking all things into consideration, we booked an advertised holiday at the Dolmen Resort Hotel and Spa and, after an initial disappointment, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The room first allocated to us was disappointing to say the least as the dull balcony seemed to be joined to the roof of the Delios Cafe underneath and one could only have a sea-view by stretching one's neck and front view was over the aforesaid roof. On contacting a very "smiley" receptionist, we were offered a room on the 6th floor (the highest floor) and the contrast was amazing ... a panoramic sea view over the whole bay and down to the pools and garden area, tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge, safe, etc.- a beautiful room even although it took 148 steps along the semi-circular corridor to reach it!
Some of the rooms must look over to the street and to the bus terminus so it would be wise to book a sea facing room on one of the higher floors, especially in Winter to catch the sun. The indoor pool was small but alright after the exodus of people who had been staying for Xmas/New Year. We were surprised that one of the outdoor pools wasn't heated for Winter as this would have been the icing on the cake for us as keen swimmers. However, it was nice to laze on the pool-side loungers in January! We found nothing to complain about at meal-times and appreciated the tickets which explained each dish - the desserts were so mouth-watering.
The nightly entertainment was very good, perhaps because most of the duos sang songs of the 60s (our era) and we enjoyed watching the sequence/line dancing. The hotel lobby is a great place to sit and watch the world go by and we found the reception staff very happy to help. Likewise restaurant, bar staff and cleaners all had a smile for us. This review is for a stay in January .... for us, we think we might not enjoy the facilities as much when the hotel is busy in the height of the season (likewise the small busy town area with lots of pubs and music venues) but that is the same with every coastal resort in Summer. The touts were out and about offering discounts, trips, etc. and are a bit of a "pest". If you wan't to explore Malta, use the local buses (only 2.60 euros for a day ticket and 12 euros for a weekly ticket) - amazing!
Driving is on left side of road as in UK but beware some of the erratic Maltese drivers!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 5th or 6th floor facing sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitzipeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Mitzipeb,

Thank you so much for the favourable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As this was our first Christmas away we were slighly anxious. However there was no need for this the hotel was very good with great amenities. Very clean and the staff couldn't do enough to help and were very supportive. Great choice at meal times and room very clean. Only problem would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Will be visiting again in the near future.
thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Rosemarie M,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The dolmen hotel in Buggiba (st Paul's bay) Malta is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at! This is the second time in 3 months we have been to malta, the first time we went the hotel we stayed at was a disaster yukkkk ( never go there again! ) we went out to see family also to celebrate my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary.we booked a superior room at the Dolmen but were upgraded free of charge to a suite also we were presented with a free bottle of champers!! Mm ( thank you hotel Dolmen) Hotel,,food,staff and location spot on!!!it was fantastic,so good in fact we are seriously considering going out again round about Easter!
Thanks again hotel Dolmen for a fantastic holiday Liz nd Eric timney x

Room Tip: All rooms are spot on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabethtimney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Elizabethtimney,

Thank you so much for the favourable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
503 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,853 reviews
0.7 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,678 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $56 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing