We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a great place to stay, we stay here for 1 week from 29Oct to 5Nov. And stay in a studio in D block, far away from the hotel reception and main entrance. However the room is spacious and with a huge balcony, With a kitchen and a living room.
The bedroom is huge with a jacuzy tub. It is very quiet and have a great view to the sea from balcony. though it is on the other end of the hotel, we had no problem going around as there is a casino right below the block we are staying, and bus terminal is only 50 meter away. except that the casino entrance only open at 10am. Transport is never an issue as there are buses to all over the island from the bus terminal. We often travel back to hotel near midnight and back to the room via the casino. The bus stop is just across the casino entrance.
There are plenty of supermarkets and restaurants around the hotel, so no problem in getting the daily need such as food and water.
Overall it is a great place to stay and we enjoy it very much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ongtyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Ongtyj,

We read your review and are very happy to know you find out that you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we do hope to see your return again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 3,003 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was a very nice resort,staff were very polite and very helpful.The breakfast was excellent plenty of choice and the dinner menu was also excellent,you could always find something to enjoy.The dining room staff were very friendly and helpful.We had a seaview room on the 3rd floor but it was a distance from the main areas eg the dining room and pool areas.It was clean but very dated,as we are british it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.The bathroom was clean,shower was pathetic and sometimes not always hot,also very small.The corridors were very tatty,carpets very worn.On the whole it was a pleasant experience but certainly needs updating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dor44een
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Dear dor44een,

We reviewed your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get from past guests.

We do thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed the size and location of our apartment. It had enormous balconies and we had stunning sea views. However, the apartment was really "tired" and old, and could very much do with a re-vamp. It also had absolutely no information about the Hotel or Malta itself in our rooms. We had to ask for some sort of guest manual.
We found the staff very "hit and miss" throughout the Hotel. Only ate one meal at the Hotel which was in the restaurant on the ocean, which we were very impressed with, and the staff there were lovely.
The Hotel/Resort is well located, close to the bus station which offers good access to Valletta, Sliema, St Julians Bay etc, and there are lots of great little restaurants close by.
It is disappointing that this Hotel is rated as 4-5 star as we definitely wouldn't give it any more than a 3.
By the way, we are certainly not "grizzlers" and frequently leave trip advisor reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, as we understand that part of the Resort has been re-vamped and some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear Car0bella,

We reviewed your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get from past guests.

We do thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very good location and a lovely hotel. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the sixth floor and gave us a good view of the sea and surrounding area from the balcony. Maid service was excellent and the bedroom was pleasant and well looked after. The breakfast choices were first class as was the service of the staff. Outside the hotel has a lovely garden area with pools and lots of sunbeds and places to relax. In the evening lots of places to visit near the hotel as well as entertainment in the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and we shall return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear B T,

Thank you so much for the favorable comments that you have kindly placed following your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

We certainly do our utmost to provide good service and quality facilities so your satisfaction is ours too.

We hope to welcome you to Malta once again and thank you once again for your high recommendations.

Warmest Regards,

Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Fantastic location and facilities with friendly staff and great food with very good choice daily.

If you need a great base to see the island with the bus station 100m away, with great facilities, comfortable accomodation with great sea views?


Visit the Dolmen resort hotel.

Gary & Julie

Room Tip: Request third or fourth floor with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear GARY B,

We read your review and are very happy to know you find out that you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort and we do hope to see your return again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Overall this is a lovely hotel. A few pluses and a few minuses.
Pluses-great casino onsite, 5 nice pools, nice onsite spa in a good location for plenty of bars and restaurants.
Minuses-some parts of the hotel really need renovation badly. Room was nice but halls a big grubby. Also the gym smells due to a damp and is not air conditioned and some machines don't work and its very small.
Overall I would go back to this resort-it had everything I needed and as very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear Anon186605,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for making the time to share with all your overall experience on the Maltese Islands and indeed at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and have been passed on to the respective managers for their immediate attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do look forward to have you stay with us once again,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Came back again (4th stay) July 2011. We needed to change our dates as they did not correspond with our booked flights and so with help from Ritienne Borg this was soon sorted. We even got a large 2 bed apartment with a large verander which over looked the swimming pool and had far reaching views over the bays, so many thanks Ritienne.

You will be hard pressed to find a better hotel especially for families, plenty of activities and entertainment for all ,very good pools, friendly and helpfull staff, clean rooms.

If it is your first time to Malta you will find the Maltese people very friendly,,, we ll be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbellhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear Jbellhouse,

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback that you have very kindly placed on Trip Advisor and shared with fellow travelers.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the service and facilities that you experienced during your stay at the Dolmen Resort.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
534 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.6 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#7 of 12 in Mellieha
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $68 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing