We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolmen Hotel Malta
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
San Pawl Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$129
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Qawra Palace Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$182
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Salini Resort(St. Paul's Bay)
$169
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santana(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Azzurro(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porto del Sol(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,066)
Filter reviews
3,066 results
Traveler rating
998
1,149
588
208
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
998
1,149
588
208
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple barcafe delossea viewswim up barprivate beachthe busanimation teammain restaurantbig hotelindoor poolsea frontplenty of choicehalf boardbreakfast and dinnerthe air conditioninglarge balconytime share
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 3,066 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Returned from a week's stay at the Dolmen on Nov 3rd. Overall my friend and I were happy with our stay but only after a room change from a small room with a miniscule balcony which a large person would have had trouble getting onto. We were moved the next morning to a very nice room on the second floor which was right opposite the lift. We were pleasantly surprised that no noise was forthcoming, probably because most people used the stairs as it was up just one flight.

The room was spotlessly cleaned everyday, the towels changed, whether they needed it or not which surprised me as the hotel has a policy of keeping washing to a minimum in a bid to be "green". Plenty of hot water and a mini bar with water and soft drinks that were reasonably priced. Phone calls from the room were also surprisingly cheap.

Yes, the dining room was very large and very full and some nights it was a struggle to find a table but there are 2 sittings for dinner so if a bun fight is not to your taste, I recommend you take the later sitting. I was disapointed that during our stay no rabbit was served as I had heard that it is a popular dish in Malta and I was looking forward to that. Oh and although I dont want chips with every meal, one night would have been nice. I dont do puddings as such but some ice cream, which was'nt supplied would have gone down well.

The spa had an offer of a back and shoulder massage with a facial and foot massage for 45 euros which we treated ourselves to, thoroughly recommend it. We had some good evenings in the Temple Bar and found the entertainment pretty good, the drinks reasonably priced and the staff excellent.All in all the atmosphere was very pleasant, but for me, the hotel is too big, you hardly ever saw the same people twice.

We bought a weekly bus ticket at the bus station which is just around the corner, very good value and I am sure we got our money's worth as we went out everyday to somewhere different.

So, the Dolmen is a nice hotel in a very scenic position and I have no hesitation of recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trailertrashSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear TrailertrashSouth,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for making the time to share with all your overall experience on the Maltese Islands and indeed at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and have been passed on to the respective managers for their immediate attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do look forward to have you stay with us once again,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

was our first time staying at the hotel we looked forward to coming,when we got there we were disappointed in the room was single beds pushed together and room was also small.
we had a problem with our toilet phoned to get it fixed nothing was done my wife asked maids about it servel times and they came at 10pm after asking them in the morning!
apart from that breakfast was good alot of thing to choose from,pool area good to sunbathe and pool for the kids. but would not recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Amy m,

Thank you very much for taking the time to register your experience on Trip Advisor. We are extremely sorry to find out that so many little things that make up, what should be a heavenly experience, did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been shared with the Management Team in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer so that similar incidents will not reoccur.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies and thank you once again for your feedback.

With our warmest regards
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our week's stay here. The staff were always really pleasant and helpful, whether that was reception, maids or bar/restaurant staff. Rooms were clean and well maintained, but our double bed was two large singles pushed together but with separate bedding...not what we really wanted for our honeymoon!
Agree with the comment from previous reviewer about the breakfasts but then again I'm not sure it's stated that they provide English breakfasts so personally I think you need to maybe expect things will be different abroad. But generally for a large 4 star complex I would expect proper sausages, rather than the mini saveloys that were on offer. Main problems with breakfast were the number of people all trying to get food and find tables - it got pretty manic a couple of days. Also we were told breakfast was served 7-10 am but on our first time there we arrived at 9.30 to find they were not replacing the empty coffee or juice and it was obvious they expected to be cleared away by 10.
It was surprise that there were no tea or coffe making facilities in the room; I know 4 star abroad isn't always as here but I would have expected that would be provided
Being off season things were fairly quiet in the evenings so not fair to comment on quality of entertainment - we enjoy going out and about anyway.
Hotel is well situated on the edge of Buggiba/Qawra with lots of bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance, and many of the organised excursions have the hotel as a pick-up point. However it is not well signed in the dark! We had a hire car but didnt leave the airport til 3am. We found our way to the area easily enough but managed to drive past the hotel 3 times in the dark...yes, this seems unbelievable when you see it in daytime but it has no signage on the front, the entrance is up a side street and road signs are really hard to spot in the dark! But at least reception staff were friendly and helpful when we finally checked in at 4.30am!
We had aproblem with a leaking shower screen and had to request additional floor towels. We always got good attention when we asked but we did have to ask repeatedly; it was not seemingly noted as a permanent problem
If we did go back to Malta we'd probably go to a different area anyway so unlikely to revisit Dolmen. I'd say cleanliness and service were great but overall the hotel didnt feel 4 star and we just had a feeling it may have seen better days - not sure how much of that feeling was due to being off-season, this was our first holiday we've been able to take outside of school holidays so it was obviusly a lot different to what we've been used to at high season

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'central' area with balconies seemed quietest and we went for sea view which means we overlooked gardens and weren't near traffic
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear Lynds64,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Dolmen Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

I do apologize for your dissatisfaction with the food. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Once again, thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We arrived at the Dolmen only to be given a room with no balcony. We complained as we had deliberately checked beforehand that our room had one. We were given another room the next day but it was very dated, air conditioning didn't work and the mini bar fridge didn't work either. The food at the hotel was average but the worst part was that we had no bacon every morning, only every other day. All the continental breakfasts were the same every day but not the English one, and awful sausages. The deserts were the same for the whole two weeks which does get a bit monotonous. The cleaners did a fantastic job especially Grace. The hotel overall cannot be classed as 4 star, there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and the entertainment was non existent. The temple bar is far too small for the amount of occupants of the hotel. The Dolmen room was not used until the last evening for entertainment when it was line dancing again!!!

Malta has changed a lot since our last visit, some good some not so good. I don't think we will be going again and would certainly not go half board at the Dolmen Resort Hotel. The food on the streets was far better than any other we tasted.

Room Tip: All rooms should be good but unfortunately they are not. A seaview is a must and the odd numbers seem to be those with this view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Wendy f,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for making the time to share with all your overall experience on the Maltese Islands and indeed at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that all your comments have been well noted and have been passed on to the respective managers for their immediate attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we do look forward to have you stay with us once again,

Warmest Regards,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had to wait two and half hours to check in. . It was hot and noisy with people constantly giving out about having to wait to check in. When we finally checked in i discovered i had a twin bed and not double i ordered when i booked. Rang reception and a few minutes later a thin foam double matress arrived... It sort of did the job. Breakfast in morning in dining hall was like a free for all with people grabbing and running to their table with their food.
Staff were pleasant enough and room was cleaned every day. I would go for a smaller hotel next time as Dolmen caters for large numbers in summer months....

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view you would have to pay extra.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolmenrh, Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator at Dolmen Hotel Malta, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Dear Eileen L,

We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Sincerely,
Roberta
Sales & Marketing Web-Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews