We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed stay in the Dolmen Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a lovely stay in the Dolmen Hotel, very relaxed and room really lovely great view. Breakfast was good set you up for the day. Good location for bus terminus and will be great now the new buses will be on board. Pool areas clean and well managed. The food in pool bar could go on all day that was a little dissappointing at times when you were peckish. All and all good hotel and well placed. Free wifi in room would have been a great help....3.50 an hour needs to be looked at, maybe it's expensive in malta!!!
Thanks to all staff concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,732 of 2,903 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

we stayed in an apartment not the hotel.but had all the benefits of the hotel
great view from our balcony. Plenty of restaurant just yards away from front door..
great weather, which always helps.Bus station just outside front door so no need for a car hire.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

Dear keithyed,

We read your review and are very happy to find out that you enjoyed your time at the Dolmen Resort Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Malta!

With our warm regards
The Dolmen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

2nd visit this year to the Dolmen for myself and children, fantastic again.

Staff in the restaurant so helpful with a big thank-you to the chefs always making sure kids enjoy the choice of food available to them and if they didn't like anything the good old favorite to kids chicken nuggetts and chips was cooked for them and ice-cream always for desert!!!

Rooms lovely and clean spotless, cleaners work so hard, always happy and friendly.

Animation team,well only one word for them AMAZING, working all day keeping everyone busy with fun and games. The Olympics is hilarious you must take part.

Overall a great hotel and cant wait to return only came home today and looking for another holiday there later in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borojules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback that you have very kindly placed on Trip Advisor and shared with fellow travelers.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the service and facilities that you experienced during your stay at the Dolmen Resort.

Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
The Dolmen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

1) as mentionned on the survey : bartenders take glasses for longdrinks with their fingers, several in one hand to win time when lot of work.
this is NOT done, very unclean , not hygienic and makes people(who see it as we did sitting near to the bar) loose their appetite to buy a second drink.
Especially when you see them first empty trays with dirty used glasses in the same manner to rince them and then reuse those glasses for the next customers drink orders.

2nd tip : try to renovel all your rooms that have not been done yet. Having to ask to change rooms, especially arriving at midnight like all Belgians with Jet air booking, is not funny at all and not a good start for a holiday, We even had to wait to Sunday morning before we could move out of a very small, very noisy room above the casino and near the disco and next to the street.

But we were very satisfied with friendlyness of personnel, prices of drinks, the cleaning ladies do great job and very friendly too, swimming pool personnel very helpful with putting up the heavy parasols etc, pleasant animation too: not too noisy, not too pushy and fun without disturbing those not interested in it.
And the Spa for me was the MAX, Tatiana did a great job, I went 4 times back for an appointment with her and was really pleased!!
So overall we wery very satisfied but please explain to the bartenders that putting thier fingers in our glasses and filling them up after doing that, is really not good for their selling and image of a hotel with 4stars.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgiumdestelbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Just got back after a weeks holiday At THE NEW DOLMEN HOTEL BUGGIBA MALTA we had a first class time the young lady on the reception desk was most helpful and very efficiant looking forward to my next trip. I just hope they are still using the same bread supplier it is delicious.

Room Tip: Room 189 Fabulous Sunset and a Huge Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twmthebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for the excellent review that you have kindly placed.

We are so pleased to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Dolmen Resort Hotel and that you were very satisfied with the service of our staff, together with the facilities we have on offer.

Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience at the Dolmen Resort Hotel a great one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolmen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Lovely hotel, deserves its four stars. Had a seaview room, worth the extra, very large room and great views. Plenty of sunbeds but too few sunshades, however there were other pools we could have gone to. The staff were very friendly but professional too. Restaurant was very good, loved the evenings when they had musicians playing. Breakfast particularly good but as I am a rather plain eater found the evening meals a bit "too fussy". However most people seemed to enjoy it but a few plainer options would have been most welcome. That is the worst I could say about this hotel. Not a lot of entertainment in the evening, think children would be rather bored but enough for us.
Bus terminal very handily just around the corner, the buses are an experience in themselves but they are all being replaced next month so probably no more bone jerking journeys!! Go to Valletta it is beautiful and so much to see.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suefrombrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Dolmen Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

I do apologize for your dissatisfaction with the food. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

Once again, thank you for your comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,
The Dolmen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Just spent an enjoyable 2 weeks at the Dolmen and would happily recommend it to others. Read on for more details.

The main reception manages to come across as being a little cramped. In reality it is not cramped but the lowish ceilings do not give a sense of air and space. Some of the young ladies on reception would do well to remember that their jobs depend on us the tourists. Their attitude can, at times, come across as disinterested and arrogant. The duty managers I had occasion to deal with were consummate professionals – well done chaps!

We had a suite on the top floor which we didn't care for at all. The following morning we were offered a choice of other suites, and found one that we were much happier with. The suite was light airy and well equipped. We had a very attentive housekeeper who kept the suite very clean.

Food was plentiful. Just two complaints: the sausages at breakfast were like a very cheap brand of tinned hog dogs and the bacon, not available every day, was ghastly.

With 4 outdoor and 1 indoor pool there was never any lack of space for sunbathing and unlike some Maltese hotels there was not a charge for the sun beds.

The location was ideal being two or three minutes away from the bus terminal and about 5 minutes walk from the main square. The buses, which are about to go through a major change, are a great way to get about the island.

I'd happily go back to this hotel – despite the sausages!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozofan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolmen_Management, Public Relations Manager at Dolmen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly, allow me on behalf of the Dolmen team to show our sincere appreciation for making time to share with fellow travelers your most recent experience at the Dolmen Resort.

Rest assured that we have also taken note of your suggestions as these help us to improve further our services and facilities.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Dolmen Resort and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, and in the eventuality I am inviting you to contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
The Dolmen Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.7 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,817 reviews
5.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen Resort Hotel

Address: Qawra Front, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 2402, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $62 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolmen Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful located at the waters edge, the 4 star hotel boasts 375 guest rooms and 38 highly finished superior rooms and suites with panoramic views of the Mediterranean Sea and St. Paul's Islands. All bedrooms and suites are fully air-conditioned, centrally, heated and have their own private bathroom, safe deposit box, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio, mini-bar and hair dryers. The majority of the rooms have a balcony or terrace.The hotel's general facilities include a Conferece Centre, Casino, an A La Carte Restaurant, Buffet Restaurant, Piano Lobby Bar, Cafeteria, Swim-Up Bar, Night Club and Caribbean Style Beach Club offering a variety of water-sports, a Diving Centre, Bars and Restaurant. Four outdoor swimming pools are located within the hotel together with one dedicated for children. The newly designed Spa incorporates state of the art Therapy rooms with the latest equipment as well as a Fitness Room, Indoor Pool with hydro massage and sauna. Animation Activities are provided on a daily basis together with a kids club during the summer months. A regular entertainment is held during the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolmen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Dolmen Hotel St Pauls Bay
Dolmen Hotel Malta
Dolmen Resort Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing