We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent dive holiday with Maltaqua”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maltaqua

Maltaqua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the main dive centre in St Paul's Bay and organise daily scuba dive trips for all levels of divers. If you are looking to learn to dive, we have a team of 12 Instructors able to teach in a number of languages. For those of you just wishing to try diving while on holiday, we offer "try dive" lessons every afternoon at 13:00. We have a fully stocked shop with the best selection of good value snorkeling equipment, or if you prefer to hire, you are welcome to come in and rent some snorkeling gear on a day or weekly basis.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent dive holiday with Maltaqua”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Another excellent dive holiday thanks to Maltaqua and Aquanorth Diving (UK). Great, helpfull, friendly team and a fab coffee machine!!! Malta offers some fabulous wreck and cave diving and we are Sooo looking foward to our next visit. Thanks; Agnes, Anna, Sim and the team for looking after us. Ian and Tracey. xxx

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    11
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good for kids”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I agree with the positive comments below. I would like to add that Maltaqua have dive equipment for children (BCDs and cylinders). This meant that my 12 and 13 year olds could complete their PADI Junior Open Water course with Maltaqua and finish with beautiful dives off Comino. I have dived with Maltaqua for a number of years and always found them reliable. I recommend them unreservedly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr_J_Jackalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“fandivingtastic!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was one of the best dive holidays Ive ever been on. It was not like diving with any other company we have used before, its more like been taken into to the family home and we loved it. couldn't wait to get back to the shop and have a nice refreshing icy (cherry is the best), and be greeted by the smiling faces. Would 100% recommend Maltaqua for all your diving needs and more. Cant wait to come back in June!!!!!!

Thanks so so much
Rich and Brad

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichV79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't do enough to help.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A fantastic dive outfit, who cater for everything. We took a cylinder and weights package and carried out a week of DIY around the island. Each day when getting a top up the staff were more than happy to suggest locations based on the weather conditions.

I can't echo the other positive reviews enough and will definately be using them again in the future.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ImpulsiveHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staff in the shop were great and helpful as was our driver to and from the airport,nice touch there was bread milk sugar n coffee in the apartment for us.

Diving in Malta provides warm n clear seas with good viz, sadly in my opinion not that much to see (but then I am spoilt n fussy) wrecks I found a little boring some caves were nice n novel to us not nearly enough cloud or life for us tho.

As I have said the girls in the office were joy, always a chuckle and a smile and more than happy to help in any way possible on our first 4 dives we were lucky enough to have the most lovely knowledgeable and enthuisasstice maltese man Antonio not only was he our underwater guide but local historian and general comedian an all round nice guy (thank u Sir) sadly our last days diving somewhat spoiled the party our guide David (whose name I only know cos I was told when i returned to the office to grumble) was the most uncommunicative man I have EVER met trying to get a word out of him was ilke pulling teeth our briefing was the barest of bones absolute minimal info give the worst I have ever had our truck journey there and back was in utter silence he NEVER introduced himself or told us what the dive options were he jus told us what we were doing then lead us on the most pointless dive I have ever had (my partner n I have over 600 dives between us) we meandered along a reef edge at too fast a pace and at too much depth not reaching the wreck til min 21 of the dive we moved along its length up th either side in the back to shore my deco time as we hit the wreck was 11 b4 deco why we swam so deep to get there of so speedily I have no clue,surely a shallow swim n then drop on the wreck so we have more time and an option to penetrate rather than a cursory glance ???

Then n hour n 20 mins into our interval we ask for a briefing and what dives are left or possible to be barely told more reef or a DEEPER wreck I on balance try to do deepest dives first as best practice this tho is all we were told not the size or age of wreck or what we may see again pulling teeth time thing is we tried to make chit chat but got yes n no answers but he oddly made banter with other dive staff from schools perhaps we jus have the wrong deodorant LOL

We were so bothered we asked to jus be taken back to the dive centre so we sadly LOST a dive for which we PAID due to HIS RUDENESS n lack of professionalism in my opinion

Best of it was he apparently had rand bak to base during the interval to say we were ignoring him surely its his job to involve us ? when all he did was chat to his mates n barely give us a second

A sad slight on an otherwise pleasant week if it had not been for him I would be giving the exp a better rating but on this basis average is where it left us feeling

Thanks to Agnes Anna and Antonio tho

Apartment was basic but clean n fine net was hard to get no TV/radio etc we were in 2a

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sparxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maltaqua also viewed

St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Maltaqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing