We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual café with great view”

Watercolours Family Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Enjoy Mediterranean cuisine including seafood, grills, homemade pizza & more from our seafront setting overlooking the Maltese Islands. A family run restaurant specializing in superb food at reasonable prices along with excellent customer service.
Lejre
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Casual café with great view”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a nice restaurant with a relaxed, informal atmosphere. We had dinner here a couple of times, the food is nice and reasonably priced, and the restaurant has a great view of the bay.
The pizzas are good, but I can also recommend trying the fish dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watercolours M, Manager at Watercolours Family Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your whole experience at Watercolours & thank you for your comments which are most satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    65
    32
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Warmer food would have been nice”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Brunch was OK here - however weak tea, cold beans and a cheese toastie that was two pieces of bread with a sliver of cheese in between did not good food make.

Service was OK, surroundings nice but wouldn't rush back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank THEBFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watercolours M, Manager at Watercolours Family Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for posting a review and apologies if your food could have been warmer, we would naturally have remedied this if you had brought it to our attention, We hope you call in on your next visit to Malta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok, but no need to go back.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The local fast food, just in slow motion. The best part was the service, which was good, but I would not return for the burger.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watercolours M, Manager at Watercolours Family Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant & we are sorry if your meal was not as good as the service on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tried it once, was hooked!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Was there last week on holiday and since we lived nearby, we decided to try the food at this restaurant. It is centrally located, on the coast and very open and welcoming. The first night we tried the pizza with local Maltese toppings and half a bottle of wine and it was simply amazing!! The waiters are very friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wines available & are also are keen to provide recommendations. The next time we went back and tried the Spagetthi Bolognese and omg, im not joking, it was the best I have eaten. Since we loved this place so much, we decided to have our last meal in Malta in this restaurant and had the local Maltese speciality, the rabbit and once again it was divine. I never ate rabbit before, but this recipe was ah so delicious. Cheers to the team and staff for the high quality food and wine. Was a great please to try out Maltese cuisine at Watercolours :)) Will definitely recommend to give it a try

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiangirlinPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watercolours M, Manager at Watercolours Family Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed dining with us on several occasions and that you enjoyed all the food you tried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very friendly staff serving good local Beer and a good range of food from Europe and also local Maltese cuisine. Considering the central location of the Restaurant the food is very good value for money. And a big plus to me is you are not rushed so you can enjoy an evening without have to eat and run!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliettango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watercolours M, Manager at Watercolours Family Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We believe that a view such as ours deserves to be savoured for as long as possible & are pleased to allow our patrons to enjoy their meal & surroundings for as long as they prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watercolours Family Cafe also viewed

 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Watercolours Family Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing