We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist looking for a base for a week ......... better than I imagined!”
Review of Damiani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damiani Hotel
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cyclist looking for a base for a week ......... better than I imagined!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this apartment block. I booked for a week, last week in March, traveling on my own with the plan to do a week's mountain biking combined with sightseeing. Professional approach at reception when I arrived ......I was earlier than the stated 2 pm book-in time (arrived at 12) but no problems and I was shown to my room. I was expecting a single but had a spacious room with comfy double bed next to the doors that led out to a small balcony (quite narrow with a couple of white plastic chairs). It is ok for a cuppa in the morning and has a washing line.

There is a fridge, kettle, toaster and 2-hob electric plate and small oven. My only real niggle in the kitchen area was the quality of these items (I am not big on the whole H & S thing but I had to jiggle the leads to the kettle and toaster a few times to get them working!). Still, I always got them working in the end so I didn't feel it was a major issue. Plenty of plates etc etc.

Bathroom - large, with bath and shower attached to taps. Niggle number 2! The shower was a bit rubbish ....more of a trickle and no means to hook it to the wall, you just had to hold the shower all the time. Again not a huge setback from my perspective, and I may just have been unlucky. Overall, the room was tidy and nice touch with the towels folded on the bed with complimentary shampoos etc when you arrive. There was also a TV - not my thing whilst on hols, but I think you could get SKY news and Fox tv ...if you need your fix!

Rooms cleaned daily if you want ... or need this, and really friendly cleaning staff.

One little gem of this place is the rooftop sun terrace and pool. Great place to chill out with a book on a lounger by the pool and good views over the surrounding area.

Location - it's in Bugibba and a 5 min walk to the square and sea front. Okay, it's not the prettiest location to say the least, but it's a practical, safe and clean base, and to be honest, Bugibba overall isn't that picturesque!

In case you are thinking of hiring a bike in Bugibba ......I had to negotiate to keep the bike inside as nowhere to chain it up outside the building. In the end it wasn't a hassle, and I kept in the hallway under the stairs. Best hire place is Dave's Eco Bikes (10 mins walk from the hotel, google for details of website and worked out at approx £7 a day hire ...bargain!) Plenty of places to eat ...Fat Harry's pub (I know...!) was cheap, good atmosphere and the food okay. There are more slightly up-market places, but as a solo traveler I wanted places I could merge into, and have a chat with folk and this was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shamrock333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
30
83
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltinglass, Ireland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a nice budget accommodation, we paid only 124.00 euro for 2 for 7 nights so it is a real bargain. You cant expect Ritz for such price. The apartment was not brand new, especially bathroom would need some work, but it was clean and quiet. Nice staff, very helpful. Can be recommended for those who will not look for luxury but for a decent place at a good price to stay in Malta. Close to the sea, to the shops and bus stops. Internet connection not very good in the room,break up often, works better at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this place after fruitlessly searching for a decent, reasonably priced hotel that hadn't been slagged off on here!

Friendly, helpful staff and an apartment that was clean and comfortable. There appears to be a fair amount of refurbishment going on but since this was off-season, it was understandable. I imagine the place will be a lot nicer once this is finished.

Free wi-fi on every floor is very helpful as it allows you to use your notepad/laptop/smartphone/iPad to plan etc.

The pool terrace was pleasant although just a touch too chilly to use even if the temperature reached 18c! Remember this was late December....

Close to a useful supermarket, some bars and the bus stops although we tended to walk down to the main roundabout, past the Empire cinema to catch buses out of town.

Our last day was marred by no water but this wasn't the hotels fault. Apparently, a broken water pipe had been fixed the day before but the utility company hadn't turned the water back on! The staff did really well to get this sorted considering it was New Years Day so well done to them for that.

Overall, thoroughly recommended although I've only given it 4 stars. It would get 5 once the refurbishment was completed.

Note to the Damiano's owner if they read this - please replace the pillows and mattresses and buy some fitted sheets! They were ok but could be better.

Glad we picked this place as we really only wanted somewhere clean to sleep. Malta is beautiful and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTnJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Si trova a 5 min dal mare. L'accoglienza e' ottima. Le camere sono grandissime e sono dotate di bagno interno e angolo cucina. Postazione fissa internet nella hall ma wifi in tutto l'edificio funzionante. Piccolo market all'interno per ogni necessita'.

5 minutes far from the sea and the main road. The hotel is good the staff too. The rooms are huge and have a private bathroom and a small kitchen (microwave, fridge, kattle, cutlery and so on. If you need more kitchen tools just ask at the reception they will provide!!!!
Fix Internet at the hall and wifi in the entire building well operating. Small market inside the hotel. Some rooms have the airconditioned on demand but all of them have the fan and ventilation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobydaTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great starting point for exploring Malta. Located near the bus stop (although Maltese bus drivers do not use any time-tables and do not allow you to get in when the bus is full). The room (studio) is spacious, with small kitchenette (sink, little oven, hob with 2 burners, fridge, set of cutlery, pots and dishes), large bed, table and chairs and TV. You have to pay for the air-conditioning, but you can survive with the fan (which is FOC:)) although the fan turns down once every hour. Probably the only disadvantage is the mouldy smell and some signs of mould in the bathroom. In the "lobby" you can use computer free of charge.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank appl459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

+: The staff was very helpful and friendly. Anytime we needed some information or help, they were available to assist. We had an issue with the water heater, and they arranged another room, where we could go to take a bath.

-: The towels were changed everyday, even if there was no need and they were not thrown on the floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamergirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here twice this year and would highly recommend this little hotel,it is close to every thing
just a little walk to the sea and the bus stop.Supermarket across the road also a few pubs where you can get a great breakfast at a good price.This is a lovely clean hotel with nice furniture and comfy beds.

Room Tip: ask for room on one of the top floors to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monaghanviolet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#9 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damiani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damiani Hotel

Property: Damiani Hotel
Address: Triq il-Hgejjeg, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in St. Paul's Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Damiani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Damiani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damiani Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing