We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as a sleeping base”
Review of Damiani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Damiani Hotel
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent as a sleeping base”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Excellent stay at this hotel, free wifi, modern rooms, fresh towels everyday! This hotel is great as a sleeping base as its simple with all the basics: Comfy bed, bedside table and lamp, pull out sofa bed, dressing table, huge sliding wardrobe, kitchenette, clean fridge, dining table, tv, powerful fan, full bathroom, best of all FREE WIFI. Wifi was the main reason why I chose this hotel as most other hotels seem to charge by the day or hour and were 'wired' internet.

The hotel is in a convenient area of Bugibba, and is NOT in a 'rough' area as previously reported, but a residential area. Its a 5minute stroll to the coastline where you will find all the grocery stores, souvenir shops, holiday shops, and bars and cafes, and a McDonalds. Another 5 minutes is Bugibba Square with all the restaurants for dinner. After a full sized dinner, a good 10 minute walk back to the hotel is what you need to digest your food.

The main bus stop we used was the one near McDonalds. Hop on the number 12 or 31 and it will take you to the main Bugibba bus station in a few stops. From this bus station you can go to the main city or beach destinations without having to change buses.
You can buy a 7day travel pass from any bus driver for 12 euro. (your pass will be in paper format, like the ones u get when you pay single ticket on board in London).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaryDarrenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    27
    5
    10
See reviews for
30
83
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I must say I was pleasantly surpassed with this hotel. As it was bit of a quick decision pick and it was important to have WIFI access.

Upon arrival we was greeted by a man named "Michael" who was very helpful and catered all our needs. We got a nice room located on the 5th floor with a double bed, TV, fridge, cupboard, small kitchen (toaster, kettle, sink and some cooking devices we never used lol). The bathroom was clean with a lot space (had a bath, shower).

Also fan supplied in our room was not working but once we told reception they had it replaced immediately with no delay! great service!.

Just above our room was the roof which had sun chairs and a neat little swimming pool.

Location for this hotel was absolutely great as majority of main bus routes pass through here so you have many options for travel.

Loads of restaurants around the area with reasonable prices (I recommend "Splash Bar for breakfast and Mirabelle's italian for dinner) and for the not so adventurous there is McDonalds very close by. Plenty of souvenir shops and newsagents about too.

Splash Bar was located to the left of the hotel provided a really good breakfast (check top tips for full details) at a really good price.

Mirabelles: Me and the gf are guilty of going to this place about 3 times that's how much we liked it the spaghetti carbonara was delicious! (this is located in Buggiba square next to place called Fat Harry's)

Buggiba has a boat dock too which has service called "Trinton" (you will see the rep walking about) this is a very good day out tour they take you to see some of malta's caves, crystal lagoon and Comino blue lagoon and Gozo (€15 for Comino only and €20 for Gozo). The difference between these is if you select €15 you stay at the Blue Lagoon for 4 hours and if you select Gozo you stay at blue lagoon for hour and move on to Gozo for 3 hours.

If you are into your water sports we got to do Jet Ski-ing in Mellieha bay for €60, now a lot people will find this steep but we got 30 minutes for that so that was 10 minutes by my self, 10 minutes for my gf and 10 minutes with both of us. This was absolutely fantastic and recommend it! you can do it €40 for 15 minutes also. The only other place doing this was Golden sands/bay which wanted €80 for 20 minutes which is a rip-off!.


Pro's:
Free WIFI a lot hotels charge for this in Malta, one thing to note the signal was stronger being near the kitchen as sometimes we lost connection while in bed which is located on the other side of the room.

Fridge was absolutely a must kept all our drinks and snacks ice cold!

Very good location not far from Buggiba square which has plenty of restaurants, tourist merchandise, access to all main bus routes and is close to the coast.

Room's cleaned daily with fresh towels provided every single day! really friendly too.

They provide nice powerful fans and can have more on request.

Comfy bed double bed as requested!

Con's:

No A/C: I'm not good with sleeping in the heat and I thought A/C was an optional add-on which I did not mind paying for (was stated about 8 euro's a day) but upon arrival was told the hotel has no A/C unfortunately. So to people who was confused like me from website reviews there is no AC available. Lucky enough it was not extremely hot in the evenings so the fan did me ok but for hotter months I would of died! lol.

WIFI can randomly lose signal in certain areas of the room (for me it was once I got in to bed I would lose all connection on my iPhone 4s)

Water-pump system was not very strong in the apartment. You couldn't get a nice strong shower but more like slow pace water stream this was on all taps, bath and shower was a bit of let down after a day the beach you want to have a proper good wash. (please not it uses boil system which you must turn on 30 mins before to get hot water)

Room Tip: Daz's top tips: 1) Buy a 7 day bus pass for €12 (cheapest and great way to get around the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DM_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay in this great value for money hotel. Malta is such a great country and i enjoyed my week there.

Good points: free wifi,big rooms,clean hotel,great staff freindly and answered all my enquiries,lovely pool on the roof, very near town centre, useful kitchenette, fresh towels every morning

Bad points: in quite a rough area, all tv channels in maltese

Overall a great economy place to stay to get some great sun and i will return

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very nice place. The reception's staff was amazingly friendly.
Even if the breakfast was not included in the price, at the reception we could find some tasty donuts every morning for free.
The only bad point was the mattress, not so comfortable but good enough for one week.
Kitchen well furnished and a supermarket just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

we stayed here this august for 10 days. The hotel was very clean and the staff made us very welcome, they couldnt help enough. Very close to bugibba and all it has to offer. The only thing missing was air conditioning, but overall, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinetteandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Ensure that you do not arrive at night; the reception desk is not manned, and guests have to telephone to say that they have arrived. They then wait for up to an hour for someone to let them into their rooms.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Darby998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The money for our stay was debited 2 days prior to our arrival. The apartment was large but it smelled of stale fish constantly. The beds were changed on our arrival although my friend and I had to turn the mattresses onto the other side as the tops were filthy and we did not use the pillows as they were dirty and had bits of other peoples hair on them. The apartment and bathroom had not been cleaned. I asked the receptionist to resolve this for when we returned in the evening and she said she would do it. This was not done so I had to get a bottle of cleaner and do it myself. Only the next day did a cleaner appear. On the third day the pipe in the bathroom started leaking water and even though the receptionist was told, this was not resolved during our stay. The only good thing about the apartment was that it was cheap at 15 euros for 2 people, had a cooker (turned off all the electrics in the apartment when a hob and the oven were turned on together), a fridge, towels for bathing and tea and coffee. Everything else like soap, we had to purchase. There was not heating so in November we were both pretty chilly at night. The surrounding area looks like a council estate of run down flats. We only stayed here as we were doing a budget self-catering trip before pay day. Doubt I will do that again!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank miximatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.2 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
#7 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 15 in Qawra
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damiani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damiani Hotel

Property: Damiani Hotel
Address: Triq il-Hgejjeg, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in St. Paul's Bay
Hotel Class:3 star — Damiani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damiani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damiani Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing