We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of Topaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Last we were here was 3 months ago..we enjoyed it so much we came for another weekend break....and this time we took an offer from the lovely receptionist on going to a day trip to comino island....we thank all the staff for making our stay so nice keep it up....

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank anthony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad to hear you had a positive experience at our hotel

Regards
Topaz Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have taken time to write this review -so if you give it helpful please click the helpful link at bottom of review.I stayed here over the Easter weekend.Customer service here is excellent which is why it is is highly rated on TA however there are several issues.Room is quite basic no frills no luxury;beds are ok,blankets are rough and uncomfortable.also I woke up freezing cold each night.outdoor pool is unheated and during our visit I never saw it being used.there is absolutely nothing to do in this hotel.the games room Is a joke as you pay for all of the games .The hotel is in a concrete jungle area.breakfast options contrary to other TA reviews were poor and I'd advise not to have breakfast at the hotel ;to be fair this is a cheap hotel and expectations should be commensurate with what you pay however i still really regret picking this hotel as it was so basic and in the wrong place.i couldn't even rate it as 3 stars..
buggibe as an area was a very poor choice as there is nothing worthwhile here.stay in the capital city valleta.the harbour here is beautiful esp from the elevated position of the city gardens the vista is breath taking go to silena and walk around the marina.the only other worthwhile places were the azure window and a trip to Gozo.is recommend pre organising a taxi with the guide as a driver to make the most of a short visit.malta is a small island that can be "done " in 3-4 days.however you can travel for as little as €6 euros with an unlimited bus pass all over the island for 4 days.you can get this at the bus stand at the airport from a ticket attendant that will come to you before you board the bus.public transport is slow as it takes you everywhere in loops driving you barmy and you will often be standing.go to Gozo for a day trip.the ferry is only around €5 euros per person return and fast.
I can not recommend this hotel unless you are trying to save every penny and don't mind a no frills place to stay.

Room Tip: choose room facing pool as you will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank warice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Squashed between some good reviews, I had said in an earlier management response... that all can look at... that the trend will continue. in fact , the bad review duly came in , albeit 2 months after the wrong choosing of a hotel.

The learned traveller posted on what one should do in malta, and thus has tipped the future client.
surely wrong that a budget hotel as cheap as he bought it, should have an outdoor heated pool,
failing to mention... no doubt with intent... the heated pool.
such is life i suppose.

we were only open for 10 days on his visit, which other clients and staff recall on his visits to the breakfast buffet.

we can only assure him.... and i am sure it will be most pleasing to him that we got better still,
having hosted 6000 clients , and accumalated 7 poor reviews.

not bad for starters

wish you all well

robert arrigo
email robert@robertarrigo.com
mob 00356 79492885

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here last week for a few days using a voucher for B&B over any weekend. OMG I wouls say this hotel is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The house keeper I had her name was paris wow how much effort she puts into making my beds and cleaning every part of my room thank you so very much. Also a big thank you to john on reception absolutely nothing is too much trouble for him, he also has great knowledge of the area wich was very gratefully received. Top marks to this hotel....well done.

Room Tip: Pool side is very hot and noisy, self catering rooms are well stocked. You can have a kettle if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you had a good time at the hotel during your stay

regards
topaz hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Booked 6 weeks in advanced and got a good price for 4 star hotel, pity only the foyer was 4 star. As I said cheap, week started off well, room had broken air conditioner held on by electricians tape, on first glance looked like all of the room had been re painted, on second look only parts of it had. Room cleaned every day, by way of saying cleaned came in made the beds and gave fresh new towels, bins not emptied had to take them out myself, 3 days into the week a load of 14-16 year olds turned up as soon as in their apartments on the "top floor" they were climbing over the balcony and into each others rooms - bearing in mind a young lady fell to her death doing the same thing a few years ago here at this hotel (told this by a rep) - see nothing has changed and this is why we moved from hotels in the St Julians and Sliema area due to Education First kids running amock over the last few years and ruining it for holiday makers. Not much respect for others and had to tell them to stop jumping in the indoor pool and throwing the life belt about, give them their due they said sorry and put it back (might be because I'm 21 stone abiet now with a pot belly).Had a late check out room and only paid 20 euros so that was good. All in all if graded properly at "3 star" and only families and couples here and not allowing groups of 14-16 year olds, this would be a nice hotel and would score higher but pretending to be what you are not, marks this down. Spoke to other holiday makers who were there at the same time had similar complaints but all happy at the end of the day because paying this price you know there is going to be something wrong when it states "4star" and it is 2/3 star prices - should not complain really could have been in the La Vallette or St Georges Park. (stayed 29th May -5th June)

Room Tip: All hop on and hop off tours start and end at the Topaz
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your review the comments of which we have taken note to seek to further improve our product

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Needed a weekend getaway for two. Selected Hotel Topaz because of their monthly special offering of half-board (breakfast AND dinner at the hotel restaurant) included in the standard room price of 25 euros/pp.

We asked for a quiet room with a king bed. Very courteous staff responded via email telling me my request was received and they would arrange two twin beds accordingly.

Upon arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised to find we had a nice pool view balcony room on the top floor above all the noise below with bed arranged as discussed and found the room to be very clean. Moreover, the breakfast and dinner selections were OUTSTANDING for a buffet service. They offered a nice bottle of wine with dinner for low additional cost of 7.50 euros. Stayed 2 nights and relaxed thoroughly.

We had an absolutely great time and I am very glad to place a review giving high marks to the Hotel Topaz!

Room Tip: Found the top floor room to be less noisy away from the pool and away from the restaurant and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thanks for your review

we are glad to hear you had a positive experience

regards
topaz hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been to Hotel Topaz for a Weekend Break with my family, 4 adults and a child. The little money spent was worth it, and when I was asked to pay, I was not sure if the total sum was for a couple or for the four of us. Very cheap, but we had a good break. A lot to eat for breakfast and the same for dinner. Food quite good and above that, we had the use of a very big pool in the middle of the Hotel.. We also made use of the indoor pool which was never crowded. One thing we did not have to our satisfaction. A/C. was not working and as it ws the beginning of June it was a bit hot, but not that much, because we were given fans. I recommend it for those who do not want to spend too much. Another problem was the parking outside. Very restricted.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are not that hot in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BajadaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Many Thanks for your review and kind words of the service and amenities offered to you which are to your liking

In the meantime we have seen to the air-conditioning problem

Regards
Topaz Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for 10 nights bed and breakfast, thought it was great. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and buffet breakfast was delicious. There was lots of choice from cereal, hot fry up, fresh fruit and unlimited chocolate spread! The pool area was great too and although there are some parts of the hotel that need maintenance, the price was such good value (booked through Sunshine.co.uk and Easyjet). Also don't have too high expectations when enquiring at reception as we didn't find them too friendly or helpful, but the service at breakfast and cleaning was outstanding.

Eating out every night can get expensive but we found some cheaper cafés and restaurants like the George Restaurant on the seafront and Oblico café. Also enjoyed Victoria and would recommend travelling to Valetta, Gozo, Comino, Silema and to the Blue Grotto down south. Buses are 1.50 for an all day pass and we loved it.

Thanks Topaz Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happydais90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A, General Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your review

we have taken note of your comments on front office staff and will see for such issues to be rectified. The same for maintenance

We are glad to hear you had a positive experience at breakfast and with the cleaning at the hotel.

regards
Topaz Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
Oriana at the Topaz Hotel
#8 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bugibba
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 15 in Qawra
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $34 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Topaz is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the MTA). In a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge, free safe and kettle. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk, a pub (closed in the summer) a restaurant serving buffet meals, hairdresser, a massage, a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. Duty Managers available 24/7 for any assistance required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing