We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free treasure”

Mezzaluna Pizzeria and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gluten free treasure”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My cousin and I both have celiac, so we were pumped to find a restaurant that served gluten free pizza.

To start, we ordered the bruschetta on gluten free bread - it's not on the menu, but they will do it for you - and it was delicious!!!!

And then we each ordered a pizza, I forget the name of it - but the traditional Maltese pizza. So yummy! Just like my Nannu makes, but gluten free!

Nice puffy crust, yummy toppings, great service, jackpot!

My only complaint is that they don't do delivery :-P !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta Europe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gluten free meals”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I highly recommend Mezzaluna for gluten free meals. They are so helpful about ordering g/f foods.. They even gave me gf rolls with my meal!!!! Where else in Malta do you get served like that. The chef and proprietor came to talk to us personally and was very interested to learn more about g/f. I highly recommend this place not just for their excellent food and service but especially for their empathy and understanding towards gf.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineSMaltaEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quite a regular customer! Will remain so!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is not the first time we've been to Mezzaluna. The food is reasonably priced and of excellent quality. Chef Johann always makes it a point to make us feel at home and is extremely courteous. Would recommend anytime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielCordina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expected something better!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A very nice restaurant which my wife and I visited for the first time. Looks like a typical Maltese Character House, great serving staff and all the trimmings to complete the scenario.
We were intrigued by the Pizza Menu, mainly the Traditional Maltese Pizza, (which is impossible when we all know that Pizza are originally from Italy) last night and when it was served we weren't exactly thrilled. The bread was (almost surely) pin rolled, so it was thinner than a wafer, as its temperature dropped it was hardly possible to cut it in slices so we had to break it every time.
Verdict: Two option, remove pizzas from the menu or get another (proper) pizzaiolo.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LombardiMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cannot Stop Recommending this Restaurant”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Mezzaluna is one of those hidden gems on the island that I constantly go back to.

Service - impeccable.
Atmosphere - lovely.
Food - YUUMMYY!!!!!!!

Great for couples, families and friends.

Sincerely, there is nothing more to add. I suggest it to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvanBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzaluna Pizzeria and Restaurant also viewed

St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 

Been to Mezzaluna Pizzeria and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing