We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place in Umbria-Montefalco”
Review of Villa Zuccari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Zuccari
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull place in Umbria-Montefalco”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our fifth stay at this wonderfull place in this excellent Hotel.The hotel, his staff and personel, the place-San Lucca-, the rooms, the beautifull garden wilh great swimming pool, the restaurant"La zuppiera", the quality of the food, the breakfast, the service,all the nice towns and places to visit in Umbria,..... all is TOP, this is a very romantic place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a beautifull view over the garden and the hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    44
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
191
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Firstly, I must start by saying that we usually have our travel agent find and book hotels for us. Just by pure coincidence, I stumbled across the Villa Zuccari while researching places to visit in Montefalco. So I began corresponding with the concierge, Andrea, who is the absolute BEST! A couple of the 5-star hotels (who didn't deserve their 5 stars) we stayed in Rome could have used someone like Andrea! He took care of everything for us flawlessly! The concierge staff at night was also great but Andrea is a super star and a gentleman!

We booked a Junior Suite in the main building and had a HUGE terrace that had a wonderful view overlooking the grounds, which are beautiful. The room is a bit sparse in decor and maybe a little dated but extremely large and comfortable. Dated decor is absolutely minor when the service is excellent and the grounds are gorgeous.

Mr. and Mrs. Zucarri are an elegant and charming couple who actually live on the grounds. (They also own another hotel in Spoleto which we hope to also visit one day.) We loved meeting them and saw them daily. Mrs. Zuccari collects antique mirrors which you can admire in the restaurant and hallways. Mr. Zuccari has an INCREDIBLE museum quality collection of antique soup tureens that are AMAZING. His collection is so comprehensive that a book was published about it, with the intro of the book written by museum directors. Viewing his soup tureen collection alone is worth the visit to the Villa Zuccari :)

If you have a car, there are plenty of things to do in Montefalco--lots of great family wineries, restaurants, small museums, etc. We did not have a rental car; we hired a driver to take us around, which worked fine for us. If you just want to relax, the Villa Zuccari has a beautiful pool which you should take advantage of, weather permitting! Since we were usually tired from touring all day, we usually had dinner at the hotel restaurant which is FANTASTIC! I'm certain it has a Michelin Star but you can check the website. They served Umbrian cuisine and anything you order can be supplemented with truffles--all at a reasonable price. The one night we decided to go out for dinner (L'Alchemista), the evening concierge called a "taxi" for us. There isn't really an actually taxi service; it's more a private driver, who was great. We decided to go into the town of Montefalco which is about a 10-15 minute drive from the Villa Zuccari.

Breakfast is served in a sunny dining area (different from restaurant) that overlooks the grounds and has outdoor tables as well. The breakfast buffet selection was plentiful and delicious! Both the restaurant and the dining area, as well as the bar, were usually handled by Francesco--another SUPER STAR! He is the hardest working restaurant/bar man in all of Umbria, not to mention the warmest and most fun guy ever! It is clear that Mr. and Mrs. Zuccari choose only very special people to be part of the hotel staff. We also fell in love with the family dog, Pippo, an angel masquerading as an Irish Setter :) We miss you Pippo!

We highly recommend this place and we plan to return soon! Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

After three great visits in previous years as an unmarried couple, we could not think of a better place to spend our honeymoon than at Villa Zuccari. The garden, the pool, the room (La Torretta!), the food and the hotel staff were all excellent and added to the already romantic and paradise-like location. The Villa is great as a basis for making visits to the surrounding nice places such as Spoleto, Assisi, Montefalco etc, but it is also perfect for spending a lazy day at the pool between the roses in the garden. We wish the staff and Mr. and Mrs, Zuccari (and Pippo!) all the best and hope to see them all back again at a future visit! Meanwhile, stay healthy and take good care of your little paradise in Umbria!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here as a couple for one night as part of a walking tour. The villa and surroundings are very attractive and well-maintained. Our first floor room was comfortable and provided for creature comforts. We ate in the villa and enjoyed the food which was more imaginative than in many places. Breakfast was outstanding and the lady in charge a mine of information. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at Villa Zuccari as a part of a cycling tour following the Giro (2014) and I was blown away. The buildings, gardens and pool are beautiful and very well looked after.
My room was huge, with a king bed and massive bathroom. It was so quiet and peaceful, it made it very easy to sleep after a hard days riding.
The staff are very attentive and lovely, nothing was too much trouble.
Our group ate in the restaurant on the first night of our stay and it was delicious, the lamb especially was to die for!
Breakfast every morning was great with lots of choices available.
I very much enjoyed my time here and was sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent three idyllic days at Villa Zuccari in late October. The villa is beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable, the food is delicious, and the entire staff is exceptionally warm and inviting. This is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the villa and the Umbrian countryside, yet convenient to many hilltowns in both Umbria and Tuscany for day trips. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was truly a home away from home experience. We were a group of 50 Americans, from 44 through 90 years of age, who often travel together on pilgrimages throughout Europe with our young priest leader. We had the wonderful experience of staying at Villa Zuccari for ten nights, and we loved it there. The food, rooms, service, and ambiance were outstanding, and many of us adored having a hotel Irish Setter, Pipo, who welcomed us home every evening when we returned from our day trips to Umbrian and Tuscan hill towns in the region. The family who run and own this hotel and their staff went out of their way to meet our group and individual needs. The rooms were spacious, and the beds were so comfortable, and the peace and quiet helped us to sleep well. I would highly recommend this villa as a base for exploring all the wonders that Umbria has to offer. We still miss the Zuccari family, staff, and Pipo, the hotel dog.

Room Tip: I can't address the topic of fitness centers and spas because our group's schedule had us h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefalco
2.9 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
158 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oro Rosso Hotel
Oro Rosso Hotel
#3 of 8 in Montefalco
194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cardinal Girolamo di Moncelli
21.0 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zuccari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zuccari

Property: Villa Zuccari
Address: Localita San Luca, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Zuccari 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the vineyards of Montefalco, Villa Zuccari Montefalco promises privacy and tranquility in the rolling hills of Umbria. This distinguished estate, family-owned since the late 16th century, features airy accommodations that capture its authentic countryside elegance. Meticulously landscaped grounds entice with magnolias, palms and ancient cypress trees, while the outdoor pool is ideal for lounging on sun-soaked days. Come evening, savor fine Italian wines and delicious traditional fare at the house restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Zuccari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Zuccari Hotel Montefalco
Zuccari Hotel Montefalco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing