We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flowers a Bloom”
Review of Villa Zuccari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Zuccari
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flowers a Bloom”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Pulling up to Villa Zuccari was like a dream, the flowers and grounds were impeccable and we couldn't have been more impressed. They must have gigantic green thumbs because I would never be able to accomplish what they have with those roses.

The restaurant was spectacular, it's a shame that there were some critical reviews. We found it extremely well priced, especially considering the wine options! The food was wonderful & fresh. The staff set up the tv in the library to show the MU v Barcelona match-- we had such a wonderful time finishing our wine and enjoying the game.

They provided us two room options, both were beautiful and we were very pleased with the accommodations. It was a nice blend of old world and modern technology. The staff was extremely kind and helped us organize our day trip to Montefalco.

The reason for not being "Excellent": Reading the other reviews, I am extremely happy that I did not have time to enjoy the pool because I would have been irate if someone demand I wear a swim cap. I understand, perhaps, asking for people with long hair to tie it in a ponytail...and I understand their reasoning for requiring a swim cap (cleanliness, reduces maintenance), but, honestly, the extra few minutes to clean out a few hairs is worth it to not lose a potential returning customer. I will make sure to warn anyone who I recommend this place to about the "pool rules".

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmpetkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaZuccari, Proprietario at Villa Zuccari, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
if I swim without a cup, my hair go into the mouth of other swimming guests, and this is orrible.
you can do without only if you are in your own pool, not in a public one. this is also a regional law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    44
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
188
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Yes, this is a gorgeous venue for a wedding with manicured grounds, inviting pool and roses climbing the arched pathways. And, as a woman traveling alone, I found it to be perfectly suited for my needs too. Spacious, well-appointed suites await guests including walk-in closets and refrigerator full of treats and a bottle of wine to ease your mind. I spent 20 days touring Italy, and the Zuccaris and their staff showed me the utmost in hospitality - friendly, helpful advice for touring the remote back roads of Umbria and the most hands-on assitance I received throughout my entire trip in this country full of helpful people. And the food? The best I had in Italy! From the pastries prepared every morning by Mrs. Zuccari (don't miss the criossants) to the dinner of local specialties in the evening, everything I ate pleased my pallate and created delicious memories! This villa, that has been in the same family for over 500 years, provided me with the finest experiences I had in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touristfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Our one regret about this effortlessly elegant country hotel is that we didn't have more time to unwind on private patio overlooking the swimming pool. Our room was exceptionally large for a European hotel; the breakfast buffet was the best we found in Italy (the owner rightly prides herself on her flakey signature crostata). Pipo, the dog and unofficial master of the household, presides over two welcoming lounges with plenty of comfy chairs and ample light for reading. We felt like the guests of a discerning family who cared about our comfort but knew when to stay out of our way. Don't expect any pitches for packaged tours of the local sights. There's a modest charge for WiFi and you can't access it from your room, but chances are you'll be feeling so mellow, you won't be focused on your e-mail. If we return to Umbria, we'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gelatifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This hotel was gorgeous in May with perfect roses everywhere on the property. The room was good size and very comfortable, with a private terrace and small lawn overlooking the pool, the roses, and the Umbrian countryside in the distance. Service was great--small staff who were very attentive and accommodating. Good restaurant on premises and nice breakfast included. Not cheap, but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for room on main floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redmond, wa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We very much enjoyed our 3 night stay at Villa Zuccari! Beautiful grounds and villa. The staff was very helpful, especially Luca and Andrea. We had two dinners in the restaurant and they were both wonderful. The Villa is also in an excellent location for touring the Umbrian countryside. We would highly recommend and would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

warmth radiates throughout this villa ... from the lovely couple who manage it, to the friendly and helpful reception staff, to the flowers (the roses! oh the roses!). the dining room is nice and the kitchen prepares good food. one gets the sense that there is a very competent cook in the kitchen who prepares, to perfection, the traditional and not-avant-garde items on the menu. not a michelin chef, but a good cook. the rooms are somewhat spartan but reasonable in relation to the price. best of all? pipo ... the irish setter ... who hides his face with his right paw as he you rub his belly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel was the hidden gem in our 10 day trip to beautiful Umbria. The tiny village of San Luca is quiet & authentic, a haven from tourist trap type settings. It is nestled in a flat valley where many vineyards grow Sagrantino grapes. Check out the cantinas & sample the wines. There are flat roads for easy cycling and hills for more challenging routes. Spoletto, Trevi, Montefalco, Bevania, Perugia, & Assissi are all within easy driving distance. The nearby church of Madonna della Stella is fantastically beautiful and very moving. As for the hotel itself, it is magnificent -- beautiful, gracious, comfortable. The restaurant is outstanding -- a somewhat limited menu, but everything we tried was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stepper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montefalco
2.9 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hotel Degli Affreschi
Hotel Degli Affreschi
#5 of 8 in Montefalco
270 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
Hotel Villa Pambuffetti
#4 of 8 in Montefalco
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oro Rosso Hotel
Oro Rosso Hotel
#3 of 8 in Montefalco
194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cardinal Girolamo di Moncelli
14.8 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zuccari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zuccari

Property: Villa Zuccari
Address: Localita San Luca, 06036, Montefalco, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montefalco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Montefalco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Zuccari 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the vineyards of Montefalco, Villa Zuccari Montefalco promises privacy and tranquility in the rolling hills of Umbria. This distinguished estate, family-owned since the late 16th century, features airy accommodations that capture its authentic countryside elegance. Meticulously landscaped grounds entice with magnolias, palms and ancient cypress trees, while the outdoor pool is ideal for lounging on sun-soaked days. Come evening, savor fine Italian wines and delicious traditional fare at the house restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Zuccari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Zuccari Hotel Montefalco
Zuccari Hotel Montefalco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing