We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A taste of Umbria by Living Italy - a hidden gem " by Roger & Sue”
Review of Living Italy

Living Italy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Living Italy 7 day boutique itineraries began from our home base near Montefalco in Umbria, and involve numerous locals living in the area. We designed the various programs and itineraries initially based on our own experiences living here, and now include activities sourced from our wide circle of friends; cooks, winemakers, artists, potters, historians and musicians. The people you will meet on the programs are all part of an extened team of local residents who have a passion for their specific skills and produce as well as for their homes into which you are often invited.
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"A taste of Umbria by Living Italy - a hidden gem " by Roger & Sue”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Exceptional experience with visits to lots of places we could never have found. We chose this tour because we wanted a single base and no packing every day. Camiano Piccolo was exactly right with superb food and wine, so much so that we eventually had to ask for less food (but not wine!). We were given fascinating insights into many aspects of Umbrian life. Neil is bilingual and an artist of international repute. It was a pleasure to view his paintings and dine in his castle. We also had evening talks about the following day's activities. He never failed to stimulate our interest. Carol was a superb hostess. It was our first trip to Italy, we loved it so much, we ended up buying an apartment in the centro storico ourselves.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita in Umbria”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I have taken three tours with Living Italy and will probably keep coming back. It's hard to describe the experience without using cliches but it really is the most marvellous way to experience Italian culture - art, landscape, food and history. Carol and Neil are consummate hosts and you do end up as friends. Nothing is too much trouble for these lovely people, and they are always happy to veer off the itinerary for anyone who wants to do something different. Carol is the musical one and hunts out local events; Neil is a serious artist, unacknowledged yet but one of our best. It is such a pleasure to visit architectural and historic sites with him - his knowledge is astounding, and ranges over a vast array of topics. He loves to chat in the evenings over the local vino and he has a wicked sense of humour and irony. Carol is gorgeous and glamourous, and sensitive and helpful to anyone in difficulties. (She even lent me her clothes when I was caught short in a cold snap!)

Staying at the fifteenth century working farm - Camiano Picolo with its sweeping views of Umbria is unforgettable, and Pierrot and Giuseppe do speak English and are SO kind - such gentlemen! And their cooking fulfils your dreams of authentic, fresh and interesting Italian cuisine. (And you can arrange a cooking lesson with Giuseppe.)

You could not do better than Living Italy for an authentic experience of Umbria. Carol and Neil work hard in the background to make the experience relaxing for their guests, and every day is fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Layla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Present”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I decided to treat myself for my 40th birthday & took myself on a trip to Italy. Living Italy was recommended by the travel agent and the entire week did not disappoint. In fact it was the highlight of the trip.

Everything from being collected at the station, to Neil & Carol's wonderful hospitality (and unbelieveable local knowledge), to the fabulous day trips and excursions, classes, dinner, the Camiano Piccolo & their staff - it could not have been better!

I dream of returning whenever I can, as it was just such a wonderful experience that I will never forget.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirinTipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living Italy Tours are FAN-tastic!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of touring with Living Italy twice - both tours were absolutely exquisite! Sicily, Umbria and Tuscany - every accommodation, meal, tour was only the best! No snags, no problems, effortless, wonderful! Professional and attention to every detail!
Now, as a travel consultant, I have total confidence when referring clients to them as well as having them arrange custom tours for clients.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“We love Umbria xxxxx”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the best holiday destination and highlight of pur Art Inspiration Tour to Italy. ..i travelled with six ladies to Rome. .Venice. .Florence and then to umbria...where we were met by Neil Moore Artist and Host ...amazing time ...this was my second visit and will be definitely returning ...for the best accommodation. .best food...wine ..artist visits ..so informative..everyone is so friendly..so much to do but very relaxing as the same time ...thank you so much for your hospitality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendiePatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Italy also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Allerona, Province of Terni
 

Been to Living Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing