We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Highlight of Our Honeymoon”
Review of Gusto Wine Tours

Gusto Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 25 Food & Drink in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for an amazing day out in the Montefalco area of Umbria. Enjoy the award-winning wines, the fabulous food and the generous hospitality of the region. Contact us for more details! Intimate wine tours of between 2 and 8 adult guests (16 and over) visiting small family-run wineries in Umbria, Italy.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Belmar, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Highlight of Our Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife found Gusto on a google search, and we basically went with them because of the stellar reviews. In a nutshell, there are SO many reasons why we absolutely loved Gusto wine tours. For starters, the tour guide Marco had such a lovable personable character, his charisma and passion for wine made the experience very enjoyable. He was funny, charming, and polite, and didn't cancel on us despite having a head cold.

Secondly, Mark and his wife have clearly hand picked their cantinas because it all just flowed and fit in together so well. Mark educated us about each type of wine in each cantina in such a fun way, that we will no doubt always reminisce and talk our experiences in Montefalco. These cantinas are not very well know to the world, but so fantastic that its hard to see why.
We loved this tour so much that we are talking about planning on going on another Gusto tour when we travel Italy in the next few years. Take our word, you will not regret it!!

Gusto Wine Tours 5 Stars all the way!! A must on your travels to Italy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only wine tour to take in Umbria”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're interested in tasting lots of great wine, meeting winemakers and touring actual small Umbrian wineries, this is definitely the tour to take. I won't give a description of the day, there are plenty on here. You won't be disappointed. Mark was extremely knowledgeable and knows Umbrian wines, grapes and the gorgeous countryside like a native. We left the town center visits and crowded tourbus for another day - this day was devoted to immersing ourselves in an essential part of Italian culture, and we were in very capable hands! I couldn't recommend this more highly.

Since our return, there are only 2 experiences we have been endlessly talking about and this is one of them. Also, actually read and pay attention to Giselle and Mark's tips - this wine is all but impossible to buy in the US for instance, and we would have been sad indeed if we hadn't listened to their advice to bring some cash.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pdoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous wine tour experience!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There were four of us on the tour my husband and I and my parents. Mark picked us up from the agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paulo. From there he took us to the first cantina, Romanelli. It was a beautiful place with lovely wines and homemade snacks. Mark was very knowledgeable about the local grapes and wines. My parents are not typically wine drinkers and hadn't ever done a tasting so Mark was very kind to teach them a lot about how to appreciate the wines. Whether you know a little or a lot about wine Mark was a great guide. His humor and conversation kept the day lively. The second cantina was Sant' Anna. There we were able to walk along the vines and see the grapes. We went to a beautiful agriturismo Locanda nel Borgo for lunch. It was absolutely delicious. We started with antipasto, then homemade pasta with fresh mussels, main course of rosemary encrusted pork and watermelon for dessert. We sat outside and enjoyed the countryside. The third cantina was Fongoli. Mark showed us the process for making the wines and we got to see the beautiful large barrels the wines are aged in. We learned so much from Mark and had so much fun in the process. The gusto tour was definitely a highlight of our trip. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling through Umbria. He shipped us 18 bottles back to the US and they all arrived safely within 2 weeks of returning from our trip. We hope to come back someday!! Five stars, kudos to Mark.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tour & A Lot More”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our hotel recommended this tour and we were so pleased they did. The three of us were picked up spot on 10 o'clock as promised. Mark explained that we would visit three cantinas and have lunch at an Agritourismo (farm accommodation). The alfresco lunch at the farm was delicious and in lovely surroundings. Mark is extremely knowledgeable & enthusiastic about Umbrian wine and olive oil. As the tour progressed he explained about the local region, the way of life of the Umbrian farmers, how natural and organic they operate and even about how they encourage wildlife. It was nice to meet the families at each Cantina (often 3 generations). Yes and tasting the wine was really good too. We purchased some wine from each Cantina and Mark kindly arranged shipment back to the UK which we received 8 days after we returned home. If you are planning a trip to Umbria, We thoroughly reccommend you include a wine tour with Mark on your itinerary.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GCDandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An incredible day”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We started our day picking up our soon to be new friends (Bruce and Maria from Rhode Island). They had travelled to Umbria on the train from Rome and Matk pitched them up at the station. It was just a short trip from there to the first Cantina and Mark filled our heads with local wisdom and his wine expertise. All three Cantinas we visited were incredible, small wine makers with wines and olive oils that Mark had identified as being the best the region had to offer. The trip includes 5 to 7 fabulous wines in each Cantina, meats, cheeses and olive oil cookies Etc, etc. Between the Cantinas we stopped at an Agritourismo restaurant for a 4 course lunch with a beautiful view of the valley.

We were literally the only people at each winery and had the undecided attention of Mark, the wine makers and their families (in one case 4 generations).

Gusto arranged for all the wines we bought to be shipped back to the USA so we really didn't have to worry about anything except enjoying the food, wine, beautiful locations and learning all we wanted to know about these Ultra Umbrian wines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Williamcharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Wine Tours also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Gusto Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing