We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour”
Review of Gusto Wine Tours

Gusto Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 25 Food & Drink in Montefalco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for an amazing day out in the Montefalco area of Umbria. Enjoy the award-winning wines, the fabulous food and the generous hospitality of the region. Contact us for more details! Intimate wine tours of between 2 and 8 adult guests (16 and over) visiting small family-run wineries in Umbria, Italy.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Fascinating tour”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I feel very lucky to have been able to spend a day with Mark at Gusto wine tours. The day was one of the highlights of our trip to Umbria. Mark's wife was kind enough to meet up with us to bring styrofoam boxes to ship our purchased wine back home. The afternoon lunch at a local agritourismo was amazing. I recommend travelers planning on touring the wineries with Mark to travel with an empty suitcase for wine because it is well worth buying a lot of amazing wines for great prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really deserves 10 out of 5!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

First of all Mark rocks! He and his wife really make you feel like friends coming for a visit through their e-mails to arrange the trip. They gave us all the info we needed. Then this was one of the highlights of the trip and what made us fall in love with Umbria. Mark not only makes sure it is an informative tour (Sangrantino!) but also a relaxing enjoyable one. And lunch was amazing, like an true dream of an Italian vacation come true. Overall a great experience and not one to be missed while in Umbria. If you are in Florence, Rome or anywhere near Montefalco it is also well worth a trip.

Helpful?
Thank BigLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gusto for all”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Mark led us on a tour of two Umbrian cantina with a fabulous pranzo (lunch). We were a large group, picked us up in a luxurious motor bus and took us to two wonderful cantina with contrasting styles, but great wine in both. Mark clearly loves Umbria, it's people and it's cuisine. He appreciates this and conveys this to his guests. His knowledge of wines, local and distant, adds to color. Pranzo is great beginning with antipasti, prima piatti (pasta) and then the second with meats and salad, followed by dessert and espresso. And of course it includes the ubiquitous wine, both red and white. A great experience is assured to all. We all had a great time and would recommend and do again on our next trip to this wonderful part of the world.

Helpful?
Thank chicargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastico!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful day with Mark. He picked us up at our agriturismo near Trevi and we toured 3 wineries in and around Montefalco. All were small, boutique family-owned wineries and we had up close and personal tours/tastings given by the actual owners. Mark was knowledgeable and entertaining and took care of all the details to make sure we had a perfect outing. In addition to our tastings we also had a mouth watering lunch at a local agriturismo featuring products grown on site. We enjoyed great food, wine and fellowship plus learned a lot about Umbria, wine and olive oil. Making the arrangements was easy and Mark"s wife Giselle was a joy to deal with. This is a must do event for wine lovers!! It was a memorable day and a great start to our Umbrian adventure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ddennis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“A phenomenal day out”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It was a phenomenal day out with Mark of Gusto Wine Tours. Mark picked a fellow traveler and myself up at the Perugia PSG station, a convenient 7 minute train ride from central Perugia and a great jump-off point to tour the Montefalco region. And from then on it was a heavenly day. Mark's great knowledge about Umbria, the Montefalco region, and the DOCG Montefalco Sagrantino wine, together with his dry British humor, made for a very entertaining drive through the rolling Umbrian hills. We toured three excellent wineries, each with different philosophies and wine making processes. Again, Mark was on hand to answer all our questions. Together with the winemakers, he showed us the wine making process - from maceration and fermentation to barrelling and bottling. We tasted many different types of wine - white, red (Montefalco Rosso and Montefalco Sagrantino) and Passito. I am a huge fan of dry, rich, full bodied reds, and the Umbrian labels certainly did not disappoint. The good news is that Umbrian labels have been overshowed for decades by its big brother, Tuscany, that the prices were insanely reasonable. As Mark pointed out, a EUR 20 Montefalco Sagrantino would be of a way higher quality than a EUR 20 Brunello (that is, if you can even find a EUR 20 Brunello in the first place - most Brunellos in the stores cost upwards of EUR 30 and back home, more than $80). The bad news, however, is that with the efforts of people like Mark and Giselle and their phenomenal wine tours, news of Montefalco Sagrantino is going to get out - FAST. This means increased prices within the next decade. But I digress. Anyway, I kind of over-indulged in (not so much wine, but) food at the second winery - they provided way too much Bruschetta drizzled with their own estate-produced extra virgin olive oil which was nothing short of irresistable. Well, lunch was even more so - it was a full-course authentic Italian meal at a quaint agriturismo which just made everyone go - wow. By the end of the day, I was stuffed, a little tipsy, and probably one of the happiest men on earth.

All in, thank you very much Mark and Giselle for a phenomenal day out. I'll be back (before the Montefalco Sagrantino is priced out of my reach).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank glkmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Wine Tours also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Gusto Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing