We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly wine bar / pizzeria”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Verziere

Il Verziere
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Montefalco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very friendly wine bar / pizzeria”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is not the most sophisticated eatery in Montefalco but it is one of the friendliest! And it's pizzas were definitely better than those at Federico II on the square. Excellent complementary nibbles and after dinner liqueurs were a great addition to the Pizza and Sagrantino dinner we were looking for. Good fun service, solid food and lovely wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    151
    74
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Da non perdere! Not to be missed!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Montefalco is famous for its red wine and for sure you should try it while you are there! Place is really charming: celling is covered by musical instruments, on walls you have old money and credit cards from all over the world, old photos etc. Staff is really friendly and takes care of you, chef is a talkative and funny person and food is delicous!!!! I was there twice and every time I had really great time

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrillaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The decor of this restaurant is eccentric and alluring to tourists. As we entered Montefalco, it caught the eye of my parents-in-law, so we ended up eating here. Thankfully, we weren't very hungry so we didn't order a large meal. Service was fine, but the food was awful. My husband's parents weren't too offended by it, however, they were only visiting for a week and we live in Italy so are more picky. They also ordered a lentil soup, so it may have been good. I had the mushroom risotto and it was inedible. I sent it back and I NEVER do that. My husband (I think he was out of his mind since we live in the Napoli area...) ordered a pizza. It was basically a flat pita-like bread with what tasted like canned sauce and mushrooms. In Umbria, we expect to eat simple, yet delicious dishes made with the local (quality) ingredients. Sadly, we did not get that experience at this restaurant. (Hint: if you want a delicious, yet inexpensive lunch visit one of the butcher shops or the market in the piazza and ask for a pork sandwich, un panino porchetta.)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Charming, eclectic place, with wonderful food and wine.”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just ate here tonight. I had lasanga, molto bene. We also had funghi pizza, molto bene too. Near the entrance of MF, decor is charming. They brought bread salad and fritata over once seated. Also made wine suggestion, very good. Would defiinetely come again. The service was the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dborgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Friendliest restaurant in montefalco”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We have had lunch here every time we are in Montefalco. Pietro the owner always makes the experience lots of fun. The food is typical Umbrian and we hear the thin crust pizzas are the best. One of my favourites is the "ceci soup" (chickpea). The restaurant is full of memorabilia - Pietro collects corkscrews. It is located right on the main uphill street that goes up through the main part of the old town. Great food, great prices, and lots of fun.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Verziere also viewed

Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Verziere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing