We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a magnificent place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gorghe di Valmarino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Gorghe di Valmarino
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a magnificent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family of five, two adults and three children between 4-7 years old, stayed at Giuliano´s lovely place in Corciano. We stayed for 2 weeks, and had a great time from start to finish. Giuliano, the owner, tended to our needs and requests from day one. He was always willing to provide great service.

The premises of Le Gorghe di Valmarino are very nice, well kept and maintained. The area around the main buildings are cosy and intimate. We stayed at the Ascolana apartment, which was big for our family. The ap. was clean and was well equipped. It had three bedrooms, two big and one smaller. It also had two bathrooms which both were nice. It has an open kitchen and living room area, which is quite big. Outside the main entrance there´s a cosy area with a table and chairs for sitting outside, eating or enjoying a cold drink.

The area by and surrounding the pool are excellent for relaxation and fun and games. There´s two pools (one children pool). Both are nice and clean. The children pool is not as shallow as many children pools often are. The sun beds and parasols are all in good condition. The pool area never felt crowded, even though many of the guests were there at the same time.

The football and volleyball fields were both great to use when we needed a break from the pool-life. Both fields are located beside the pool area. If you want to go for a run, without running along the roads, this is possible within Le Gorghes premises.

This place has a great location, in an area which is not to busy, but not too far from everything. The beautiful town of Corciano is nearby. You can walk to the town, but it´s of course more convenient to go by car. There are a couple of nice restaurants in Corciano. There are many shops and supermarkets in the surrounding area, so you don´t have to drive very far to get what you want. Ask Giuliano to recommend restaurants for you.

Perugia is just a relatively short car drive away. If you want to explore many of the great sights of Umbria and Tuscany, that´s not far either.

One of the greatest experiences with this place are of course the hospitality of Giuliano and his family. You feel welcome and safe. If you have any problems, they will try their best to help you.

We hope we will have the opportunity to go back to this lovely place next year.

Thank you Giuliano and family :-)

Room Tip: Ascolana is a great apartment. I had a look at three of the others apartments and they all looked re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugothetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just booked our holiday for next year, again at Le Gorghe! This year it was our third time and we again had a splendid holiday with Giuliano and his lovely family. The warm welcome, the italian atmosphere, cozy framework, pleasant & clean houses, ... Not only the domain is wonderful, Corciano is also a very nice base to explore beautiful towns and villages such as Perugia, Cortona, Castiglione del Lago ... Giuliano and his family do everything to make their guests' stay as pleasant as possible and invite everyone to join them weekly for a bbq or the best pizzas ever. For the children there is a lot of fun: swimming, table tennis, soccer... Highly recommended, Italy at its best!
Carlo, Annemie, Febe & Robbe

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 8 days in July 2013. The location is perfect to allow visits to all the major sites.The two bedroom apartment was very well appointed, large and comfortable. The grounds and gardens are very well kept and the swimming pool area is a delight.
Giuliano is an incredible host : always available, always helpful.
You are not not really a guest but you are treated like a member of his extended family.
On the Saturday and Wednesday we were all treated to a BBQ and Pizza evening at the very large table by the pool.
Cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salvo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ertvelde, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice accommodation where the appreciation of the guests is by far more important than the money the owners gain by renting. You almost become a part of the family, a very warm and 'like at home'-feeling. Lots of shelter when you feel like it, a house and garden which is kept in a beautiful condition by the owner. Close to Perugia, Assisi and Trasimeno Lake. God lives in France, but takes his holidays in Italy!

Room Tip: The houses at ground level have a private terrace. The 3 appartments on the first floor do also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were guests of the apartment Maraiolo. Everything is functional, clean and comfortable. The place is strategic to visit the territory Umbro (Perugia, Assisi, Lake Trasimeno). Do not miss the chance to enjoy the excellent hospitality of Giuliano.
Honestly. Andrea and Clara

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Easter weekend. The location is very convenient for visiting Corciano and other towns in Umbria or even Tuscany boarder towns. The owner and host Giuliano was very kind and accommodating to any request. Between his English and me having an Italian translation guide we were able to communicate well. The apartment was just as in the pictures. It was beautifully rustic and we were able to make nice, simple dinners in the kitchen; all the needed equipment is available. There was a washing machine that we could use which was great after being in Italy for a week. We visited Deruta, Perugia and Cortona in addition to Corciano and enjoyed every place. Le Gorghe was lovely and a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I spent a month exploring Umbria using Le Gorghe as our "home base". It was perfect in all respects. It is lovely, comfortable and very well cared for by the owner, Giuliano, and his family. The location was convenient for our explorations of this beautiful part of Italy, and Giuliano was an ideal host--friendly, helpful, and eager to do whatever he could to make his guests feel at home. Whenever we return to Umbria, we will definitely go back to Le Gorghe.

Room Tip: Rooms on a ground floor may be cooler in the hottest summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDG-AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corciano hotels
4.8 mi away
Casali del Toppello
Casali del Toppello
#1 of 16 in Corciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Biologico Palazzi Rufini and B&B
5.2 mi away
Villa Umbra La Maesta
Villa Umbra La Maesta
#2 of 3 in Mantignana di Corciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel el Patio
Hotel el Patio
#1 of 5 in Corciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Perugino Hotel
Perugino Hotel
#3 of 5 in Corciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anna Boccali Resort
Anna Boccali Resort
#2 of 13 in Corciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gorghe di Valmarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gorghe di Valmarino

Property: Le Gorghe di Valmarino
Address: Via Lorenzo Salimbeni 45, 06073, Corciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Corciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Corciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Perugia and Lake Trasimeno and only 1km from the historic centre of the charming medieval village of Corciano, Le Gorghe di Valmarino awaits you for an unforgettable farmhouse holiday where you will have fun and enjoy complete relaxation.The farmhouse has two swimming pools (one for children) and sports equipment in the grounds that surround the houses. Within a short distance you can go riding, play golf on one of three golf courses and go fishing in nearby lakes. A holiday in Umbria is perfect for art lovers who are spoiled for choice by the surrounding cities and towns. Within easy reach are: Perugia, Assisi, Castiglione del Lago, Spoleto, Gubbio, Cortona, Arezzo, Pienza, Siena, Florence and Rome.The farmhouse is divided into 8 apartments of 2 to 5 bedrooms, each with a separate entrance and heating. Each apartment has a well-equipped kitchen area, a fireplace, a sofa a TV, a bathroom with shower and a small table outside in the courtyard where you can read or eat surrounded by trees and hedges. There is one apartment designed for guests with disabilities. Each apartment is furnished with carefully restored 18th and 19th century furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Gorghe Di Valmarino Corciano, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing