We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful spots to have dinner”

Il Convento - Antica Dimora Francescana Sec. XIII
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Corciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ancient convent of the thirteenth century
Ravenstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful spots to have dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful garden to have dinner; very nice staff but it would be good if they had some more colleagues to help. When all tables are taken you'll have to wait long before you get the dinner served. The Italian food tasts delicious; they also have a Pizza menu for children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marielle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    185
    67
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good food, great for pre-theatre, excellent service - but limited wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We made reservations at Il Convento in full knowledge of the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, because of its close location to Corciano's opera theatre, where we had booked to see Tosca (which, incidentally, was excellent). Since the opera was due to start at 8.30 we were concerned that we could eat sufficiently early to make the start. No problem. We arrived at 7 and were attended to immediately by the head server. The wine list was a tad limited. Eventually, order what I thought was an Umbrian 100% sangiovese. Big mistake, which I should have caught on to earlier, judging by the looker on the waitress' face. So, why offer it in the first place if it tastes like vinegar? Anyway, good enough, the waitress had no problem taking it away after tasting and replacing it with a pretty good Rosso di Montefalco. Because of our 8.30 start, we skipped the antipasti and primi, and went straight for the secondi: suckling pig for me, veal for my wife, all together with patate rosamarino, spinachi and veduri griglia. All this was very nicely prepared, and more than enough, especially when followed by a soft tiramisu. The wait staff were delightful and efficient. We finished on time for our 20-metre walk to the theatre to collect our tickets. The setting was excellent: we chose to be outside, which was just about OK bearing in mind temperatures had reached 42C that day, and parking was available. All together, a lovely evening, including the meal at Il Convento. Will we return? Absolutely. We would recommend Il Convento.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a beautiful restaurant! Great food, amazing atmosphere, fantastic service, good price. We ate outside and laughed with people at other tables. Loved it!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaCouple17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love the Convento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We are regular customers at the Convento. We usually go on the weekend for their pizza- it is reasonably priced, not to heavy and I love their thin, crunchy crust, typical of the region. The rest of the menu is very good, though out of my budget for regular visits. :) The signora who is usually the only waitress is extremely professional and competent, though they are often understaffed on busy occasions so the wait is a bit long. The location is lovely- in the former cantina of a 13th century monastery, with a lovely terrace for outdoor dining in the summer.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Convento - Antica Dimora Francescana Sec. XIII also viewed

Corciano, Province of Perugia
Corciano, Province of Perugia
 
Corciano, Province of Perugia
Corciano, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Convento - Antica Dimora Francescana Sec. XIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing