We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shhh !! Its a secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Santa Maria
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shhh !! Its a secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a perfect holiday at Santa Maria in August 2013. The accommodation was well equipped, large, clean, crisp linens everything we needed for selfcatering. The grounds and the pool beautifully maintained. The owners Laura, Stefania & Grandad on hand for enquiries, great suggestions including the wine tasting afernoon at the local castle. Its a fantastic location to visit, Florence, Sienna, Montaione, and San Giminano which must be on your list. There is a rustic pizzaria within walking distance and many wonderful restaurants within a short drive. Thanks also for the most enjoyable live music poolside! We hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsD-Cambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a surprise this gem was. It looked fantastic in the pictures and the reviews were good but they just don't do it justice. The owner and his daughters are very friendly and extremely helpful. In a nut shell, you shouldn't ask for more. We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roalma99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first stay in Tuscany and the whole area is beautiful. It is very accessible for San Giminano, Florence and Sienna. Santa Maria is in very pleasant and accessible surroundings. The accomodation is clean and spacious. The Pool area is comfortable and well maintained. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable of the area.There were other guests from Australia, Germany and other countries which adds to the experience.
All in all we loved our stay but did find that the costs of eating out were high although there is a very good and reasonably priced Pizzeria a few hundred yards down the road. Once you travel to Florence the prices in the tourist area are some of the highest in the Wordl I have experienced. You have been warned. It also seems the Italian way to charge hidden extras! Watch out for them too from Car Hire companies to restaurants and accomodations too. There are extra costs at Santa Maria. The cost of cleaning is per person so for a week so it cost us 90 Euro! On top of that they ask you to clean your bathroom before leaving. Something we would always do anyway. You pay extra for a toaster and a Microwave there was no electric kettle.. There is barely enough washing up liquid for a day let alone a week and the cleaning materials such as scourers need to be bought. The ones we had were very well used and we bought new. Who though wants to go away and have to buy a full bottle of washing up liquid when most of it will not be used? However the Wednseday evening entertainment with Guiseppe the owner is not to be missed. He plays guitar and sings (in Italian) but is very good. At least thats free! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone though. Also watch out for the 'local taxes' 2 euros per night per person max. 6 nights. Apparently you can sign a waiver and refuse to pay but thats in the small print too. No receipts given for it either!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs ones if available. Views and privacy better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quantr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is perfect if you looking just to relax , do nothing and enjoy a simple life after busy touristy areas of Rome and Florence. Firstly you definitely need a car as besides a small Italian restaurant(which is very good) there is nothing near by within walking distance.This is a family run place.Laura who checked us in is very sweet and helpful in guiding you as to what to do in and around the place.The rooms are truly a Tuscany village style with no air conditioner or fan.This place brings you back in time for the old school feeling so if u want anything modern here it wont be.We chose the room Michelangelo which was 2 floors and 3 balcony.The room was clean and spacious.The kitchen has everything you need for cooking.The closest supermarket is 10 minutes by drive which has everything you need.There are lots of nice places around the area and one can easily spend a week of relaxation .The pool area very nice as well.However the the wifi is very very bad and you will have very less mobile phone range which makes it very annoying

Room Tip: take a room above the reception inorder to get wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehasahaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mönchengladbach, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Residence Santa Maria is a family-run 2-building farmhouse place right in the middle of Tuscany, ca. 5km to the north of Montaione. It is easy to get to all the great places (Volterra, S Gimignano, Siena, Firenze, ...) as they are all within ca. 1 hour driving or closer. Our apartment was clean and equipped with functional furniture as well as a kitchen incl. dishwasher. We would have liked to have fly screens at the windows to get cool night air in (or to have an a/c). As written in other reviews, there is basically no mobile signal available and wi-fi availability is limited to a close radius around reception, which however included most of our apartment. Wi-fi is free though. The pool is comparably large (14m x 7m) and in very good shape. Laura, Stefania and Papa were very helpful with their tips about what to do in the area or where to eat.

Room Tip: We had the Leonarda da Vinci apartment, the 3 bedrooms were plenty for the 4 of us and could have ac...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank K_K_MG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solent view
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are looking for a 4/5 star hotel with all the mod cons then this not for you,if you want to chill out and relax and spend some quality time to-gether then this is the place. Yes the Wi-Fi maybe limited and your mobile signal maybe weak, but you are on holiday, due you really need them, I found it wonderful to have conversation's with other guest's, to actually read a book, to plan on what to do the next day. Set in a lovely valley, the apartments are well looked after, the pool and gardens are well kept, also lovely trees to shade under when it gots to hot.
Well located for trips to (take the train from Castelfiorentino) Florence,Sienna,Pisa and all the other wonderful Tuscan area's.
Montaione, is a great little town. and I agree with chanterj, a stunning view from the co-op car park and also there little meeting area in town.
Laura & Stefania & there Papa make you most welcome, with there smiles and helpfulness it was like being at home.
Good points: Everything about Santa Maria and Tuscany, sitting out on the balcony or eating out in Florence with a glass wine watching the sunset.
Bad points: We had to leave.
Ciao

Room Tip: I do not think it matters, if they are all like our one you will be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pineridge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was a really great experience for our family. We heard a lot about agriturismo in Italy. We looked for a farm house in Tuscany. Our friends recommended Residence Santa Maria. I’d like to tell you that we enjoyed our stay very much. The house is nice, it is placed at mostly equal distance to such famous cities like Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena and to the wineries in Chianti area. The owners of the farm house are two nice sisters (Laura and Stefania) and their Papa. Laura’s suggestions about things to do and places to visit were very helpful. We will be definitely back to Tuscany and the place we stay will be the Residence Santa Maria.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montaione hotels
2.2 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#1 of 12 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belmonte Vacanze
Belmonte Vacanze
#3 of 44 in Montaione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pillo Cancello
Pillo Cancello
#5 of 12 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#4 of 12 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo Collelungo
Borgo Collelungo
#35 of 44 in Montaione
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Santa Maria

Property: Residence Santa Maria
Address: Via Alberi 74/80, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residence Santa Maria 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Santa Maria Montaione, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing