We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuoriporta Castello di Coiano(Castelnuovo d'Elsa)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Valli(Castelfiorentino)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
97
20
2
1
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
20
2
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm shopbrentina ovilewild boartrufflesourdough breadtuscan countrysideworking farmsan gimignanohire carwould highly recommend this placelarge farmhiking trailstrue tuscanybe visiting againsaw deerpastalocal restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Barbialla is a divine property , old refurbished colonial houses are scattered among 500 hectares of land . You are in the heart of beautiful Tuscan country side , yet less than an hour away from all its major attractions, Florence, Pisa, Lucca and the coast are an easy reach for a day trip.
It is the ideal place where to recharge your batteries, listening and embracing the nature surrounding you. You can be active if you wish as there is horse riding nearby , golfing , cycling or mountain biking or just dip in your swimming pool and let the amazing vista do the rest.
Be spoiled with a personal cook or just drive to one of the many fabulous and affordable restaurants nearby to savor local specialties.
We ll back .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavutuDreamsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently returned from two weeks in Italy. The first week was spent mostly in Rome, and then a couple of days in Venice. We were supposed to stay longer in Venice, but it was crowded with tourists, and we realized we wanted less of people like us, and more of real Italy. So we contacted Barbialla to see if we might check in a couple of days early, and they were gracious and -- fortunately for us -- available. We arrived two days before they expected us, and it was exactly what we were looking for. To be clear, it is NOT a villa, or a bed and breakfast, or a fancy hotel in any way. Which was perfect. It is a working farm, with rustically comfortable accommodations, stunning views, and the very lovely Kyre and Ivano, who were friendly and helpful. Our boys, ages 8 and 9, loved seeing the cows, playing with the dogs, climbing hay bales, swimming in the pool, petting the cats, picking mulberries, and, from the secret safety of our window in the evening, watching wild boars forage for those same mulberries. We arranged for Serenella to cook a meal for us on our first evening there, which we ate under the arbor on the front lawn of our apartment. The food was fresh and delicious, and she made enough for us to have leftovers the next evening. The farm is central to many places in Tuscany, and we spent time in Lucca, Pisa, Florence, Volterra, and -- after Kyre helped steer us to places that were even less touristy -- Certaldo, Colle di Val d'Elsa, and Montalcino. I have stayed in spas and five-star hotels, gotten massages and had chocolates on my pillows, but I have never been as relaxed as I was here. Our stay was peaceful and playful, with no one but ourselves to answer to, and yet there was always help and conversation if we asked for it. It is a very special place to stay, best for people who feel independent and adventurous, or who are looking for privacy in a rustic setting, or a family who doesn't want to worry about their kids running around, or... well, I could go on. There are many reasons to choose to stay here, as long as the comfort you are looking for is not one that needs to be catered to. It's the comfort of being with yourself, your family, surrounded by the unadorned natural beauty of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Barbialla for two weeks and loved every minute. We spent plenty of time relaxing on the estate and walking the trails and loved our apartment, which was well-designed in a simple rustic style. We even used the fireplace on a couple of rainy days. The kitchen was well-equipped and the bed was really comfortable. The small organic store on the premises had wonderful products and there are plenty of places nearby for shopping for everything you could need. Kyre and her husband, Ivano (and their charming children) were amazing hosts, giving us a real feel for the area and for Italian culture. Their suggestions for activities were invariably spot-on. With their helpfulness, we wandered the back roads of Tuscany and visited hill towns. A trip to the local market with Ivano was a treat. Our visit to Barbialla was the highlight of our six-week trip in Italy and we hope to go back again--and again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2onionsSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

“It was an exceptional farm experience for our family! The apartment was really nice for farm accommodation and the estate grounds are fantastic to explore. But what we enjoyed most was the time with Ivano and Kyra: pizza and bread baking course, mushroom hunt, cheese and sausage tasting. The night of italian cooking with Serenella was a highlight for our kids who stayed engaged and enjoyed it for the full 3.5 hours. This experience trully made our kids enjoy and appreciate farm life. Thank you!”

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luiza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived at Barbialla after a months of hard work and travel and found it the perfect place to completely and utterly relax. The days were filled with lying around reading in a variety of comfortable and scenic places, eating local food and strolling through the truffle and porcini-filled forests hoping to strike it lucky. Everything Kiera and Ivano (the managers) suggested we try was amazing, from a food festival at a medieval village to dinner at the incredible Il Papero Osteria. Highlights of the trip included hand-making pizza and bread in the wood fired oven with Ivano and cooking in the apartment kitchen, which is the only apartment rental I've ever seen that came with a good set of sharp knives.

As a bonus both Pisa and Florence are a short train trip away, it was great to go exploring in those cities and then return to the countryside to sleep. Can't recommend it highly enough, looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the views from Doderi Est.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews