We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in June with our 7 year old son. We last came when he was 1 as we had enjoyed it before, but it has improved since then and now has a farm produce shop and an office full of books. We stayed at Doderi Est, which is rustic and relatively basic, but suited us fine and fitted well into the location. There is a shared washing machine. It has a lovely rural view. We shared an outdoor pool with two other families. Our son wondered around outside safely and it was very relaxing. A car is needed to get around, which we hired from Pisa Airport, about 45 minutes away. The owners were very welcoming and we were lucky that two young Americans were working there for the 2012 summer and we could book them to child mind; our son loved them. Plenty of wildlife if you are prepared to look and safe walks. We would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stripette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

Based on reviews and photos of this property, we had very high expectations. We picked up our rental car in Florence earlier than planned so that we could escape the overwhelming heat. It was a pleasant surprise to find that the drive to the Fattoria was about 45 minutes only. It was such a relief to be welcomed by Kyre in her laid back Californian style. All our stress from the sightseeing and heat in Florence melted away. The kids occupied themselves with checking out the cows, guinea fowl and hens as the parents checked in. Our accomodation in Doderi Est was as we expected from the photos, very simple in an understated, elegant way. We had booked a meal to be cooked for us on our first night by la bella Serenella. The cooking was simple, but superb, all the ingredients so fresh. We had enough leftovers to last us for 2 more meals.
There are great day trips within driving distance, we made it to Pisa, Volterra and San Gimignano in our 3 days there; all with enough time to also relax by the small pool with superb view.

If you are looking for an agriturismo stay and are concerned about it being organic and environmentally friendly, this is the perfect place. It's not fancy, but it hit all the right notes for us. Make sure to book a dinner with Serenella also.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJT155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

It started with a warm welcome at a magnificent property! Kyre and her husband who run the agriturismo are such a lovely couple ... they helped us with guiding us to our little house, provided us with wood when we needed it for our fireplace, shared rubber boots if we wanted to go for a walk, helped us planning trips in the neighbourhood ... thank you su much for your hospitality! The house for 2 (Doderi Ovest) was very sobre but so charming. We adored the fireplace! Everything we needed was foreseen and it was all very clean. We drank aperitivo in the garden, walked to the lake, enjoyed the quietness .... we recommend this Fattoria to everyone going to Tuscany! We have lovely memories here ....

Room Tip: Doderi ovest is great for enjoying sundowns and it has a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natacha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived after a long drive from Zurich and were tired and emotional. It is tricky to find but once you do, Wow!

It is amazing, the apartments are basic but with a modern but spin while remaining true to the tradition of the area.

The hikes, the farm store and Kyre and her family could not possibly have been more helpful, they have though of everything you might need and more.

One more tip sample their sour dough bread, it is truly amazing.

Room Tip: Think about where the sun will be for a nice evening outside with a good bottle of local wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lad1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in Brentina Ovile for a few days in March -- it was perfect. Rustic but with a clean modern feel -- beautifully designed. The caretakers and staff could not have been more friendly, pleasant and helpful. Really go out of their way to be hospitable. The property itself is beautiful..wish we could have stayed longer to explore some of the hiking trails, etc. Hope to return someday with our extended families. We couldn't have picked a better spot!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed a week in Doderi Ovest, located by an olive grove at the top of a hill. Lovely views out across the countryside and down into the woods. I could happlily have stayed all week within a few yards of my front door.
Apartment was simple, but had very comfortable furniture and a good range of kitchen equipment.
Farm shop stocked a good range of local foods and some very nice and good-value wines. A good range of mediterranean fruit, veg, etc was also available in other local shops, markets and farm shops.
House contained 3 apartments, but each had entrances, outdoor seating etc on different sides of the building, so you were pleasantly aware of one another but not on top of one another.
Thick walls, stone floors and 2 stable-type doors kept the building cool when needed. Firewood was available if needed, but I didn't.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and like other reviewers, I really appreciated the detailed map of the estate, and the visitor folder, with details of nice places to visit, plus local shops, eating places etc. It was a good idea to include advice on how to drive to the nearest rail stations, buy tickets and get to Florence, Siena etc. Took a lot of the hassle and anxiety out of being in a strange place, and the rail trips were fun, cut journey time and eliminated parking problems. Like other reviewers have pointed out, it takes about 10 mins to get off the estate (and its quiet and seclusion is a big Plus) but once on the main road, there are lots of interesting villages and small towns in easy reach, 5 to 45 mins away.

One of the internal roads on the estate was a bit steep and stony, but when I first arrived, staff pointed out an alternative slightly longer route which was much easier. For the record, I rented a Fiat Panda which coped well with the dirt roads. I took out total damage waiver insurance (because I'd had an expensive puncture in a different country some years earlier) but no misadventures befell me or the car.

In early October, the weather was still warm, but not unbearable, and there wasn't much problem with insects. Bedroom window had a fly screen. I'd brought a citronella insect repellent with me, which also helped. Brochure advised wearing long sleeves and long trousers for walks through the woods, and I'd have appreciated this being in the info on the wesbsite, so I could have brought more than one of each.

Laundry and drying facilities very good - another time I'll pack a lot less in total. Everything dried very quickly in the sun.

In short, a wonderful and relaxing place to stay, and I hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Look at the apartment descriptions, e.g "Ovest" gets the evening sun. And read the very fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful week in Doderi Ovest at the end of September. The accommodations were fabulous, clean and exactly what we expected. We enjoyed being in such a quiet location (no TV!!!) while being close enough to the major sights that we could easily spend some time amongst the tourist hordes and then retreat to the quiet and serenity of the farm. Everyone at the farm was great and more than willing to help out with information and other requests. The animals were wonderful (two cats who helped us animal lovers feel at home) as well as a night encounter with a family of wild boars. One highlight was going on a truffle hunt where we were treated to knowledgeable guides and the opportunity to see the truffle dog and handlers in action. We highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to enjoy a slice of Tuscan farm life while also being able to enjoy the more touristy parts of Italy at the same time. As cyclists, we took in some of the local roads and found the drivers very friendly and courteous and the riding challenging but beautiful and completely worth the effort. As food lovers, the offerings at the farm, local markets and restaurants can't be beat. We look forward to returning in the future if possible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montaione hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 10 in Montaione
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Agriturismo Colle Verde
Agriturismo Colle Verde
#1 of 1 in Castelfalfi
15 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#11 of 47 in Montaione
57 reviews
3.7 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 10 in Montaione
387 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence i Calanchi
Residence i Calanchi
#5 of 13 in Montaione
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Barbialla Nuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Barbialla Nuova

Address: Via Casastrada 49, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Montaione
Price Range: $112 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova is a 500 hectare organic farm with restored farmhouses that have been renovated to modern, green standards while still preserving their original rustic style. Our property is 70% woodland and we encourage guests to explore the farm and multiple walking trails. In autumn, join us for a guided truffle hunts as we search the valley floor for the rare fungus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fattoria Barbialla Nuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Barbialla Nuova Montaione, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing