We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay at a charming and friendly hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Montaione
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay at a charming and friendly hotel.”
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Our party stayed in two standard rooms at Una Palazzo Mannaioni for 11 nights; using it as a base for touring in Tuscany.

Locating the hotel on arrival was very straightforward. We were greeted by a friendly reception and an excellent subterranean carpark, with ample spaces.

The rooms were attractively furnished with comfortable beds and good quality bed linen. Both bathrooms were of a good size and were equipped with baths (with shower fitted), hairdryer and good storage etc. One of the rooms we occupied had a breathtaking view over the countryside, and the other a view over the charming town of Montaione. The hotel and bedrooms were all air-conditioned with individual room controls.

There were also several rooms with balconies available at a slightly higher cost. These overlooked the pool area.

There was a laundry service available. When used this came back about 36 hours later. The laundry cost was about normal for a four star hotel.

The hotel boasted a small restaurant which required booking for evening meals (however this could be done until mid-afternoon). The food was very nice, and the staff charming. They were quick to recommend some of the lovely local wine, and made us feel very welcome.

Breakfasts were included in our booking. These were a buffet of cereals, Yoghurts, breads, meats, cheeses, pastries, eggs etc (Continental style).

There was a lovely private swimming pool area with Jacuzzi section. The pool was surrounded with sun loungers, tables and chairs. Also available were some large umbrellas for providing some welcome shade. There was a pool side bar that, although not permanently manned, was regularly checked, and the food poolside was of a good standard and well presented.

When going out sightseeing the staff were very helpful, offering advice on places to see and even booking tickets for some of the galleries in Florence. They also recommended some of the local restaurants, phoning ahead and booking tables when required.

The hotel had a internet computer off the lobby for €1.50/half hour.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay in Una Palazzo Monnaioni. The staff were the best part, really making our stay very enjoyable. They made a lot of extra effort and were truly charming. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Great Quality, Good Pool, lovely view
  • Disliked — Lack of Iron / Tea Coffee Facilities in Room.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    152
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
50
244
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, Hants, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Loved the town of Montaione, it is in a truly lovely setting. The hotel has been beautifully renovated and is very clean. There is only
a small staff and the service was patchy to say the least. We have never had to book to eat in a hotel restaurant where we are paying guests but you do at the hotel Pallazzo Mannaioni. We were told on our second night that they were unable to accomodate us and that left
us to eat in the local pizzeria! Why did noone inform us as guests that we had to book a table? The next night we asked the receptionist
to book a table at a local restaurant only to find that it was closed
on said night. When confronted the receptionist said sorry but noone bothered to tell us so to the local pizzeria again! We asked for a glass of Prossecco at the pool before dinner one night and received half a glass a query regarding this was met with a shrug. So, despite
loving the look of the hotel and enjoying the town very much (everyone very friendly) we would not return to the hotel unless staffing issues are sorted. As regards to eating in the town Carpe Diem was very good as was the hotel restaurant (if you remember to book) avoid Il Pesce Rosso where we received a totally different class of food to the locals sitting next to us. An expensive mistake.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank spingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrain, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon in August, 2007. We loved this hotel. We were so glad we paid the few extra euros for a room with a balcony- it was well worth it. The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the front desk staff speak very good English. There is also an enclosed parking garage which was very convenient. The outdoor pool is very large and very clean- there are plenty of seats by the pool . The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and also very well taken care of. A short walk down the street takes you to a most breathtaking view of the countryside- you can't miss it. The town is small, but there are some very good restaurants. We didn't care for the hotel restaurant, it was too fancy/gourmet for us, but the dining room is beautiful. Montaione is a beautiful town and not too far from Florence (which we traveled to on day trips easily from Montaione). My only complaint was that our air conditioning didn't work, but luckily it was cool enough outside that an open window cooled the room down. We also had no hot water one day, but this was promptly fixed by the next morning. This was a terrific hotel- we didn't want to go back to Rome!

  • Liked — The view was beautiful
  • Disliked — The restaurant food was not our taste
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermont30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

The hotel is within (and actually forms part of) the city walls of Montaione and is a converted manor house with numerous original features. Our room had exposed beams, polished wood floor, comfortable settee and oriental rugs - and two bathrooms!. This was a real surprise to us as we had just booked via a travel agent and were expecting a conventional hotel room.

Check-in staff were very good and helpful. Our only quibble with the staff was that the bar was generally unstaffed, as was the one beside the (excellent) pool.

Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, which generally seemed very quiet. Montaione had a range of excellent and cheap restaurants, so we didn't feel any need to eat in the hotel, which was more expensive.

Also recommend Montaione itself, small enough to be a village but big enough to have a good range of shops.

  • Liked — Wonderful rooms
  • Disliked — Bar service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2007

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to this hotel, which was a surprise Anniversary present for my wife. I booked with the hotel direct, and found them to be very efficient and helpful. Prior to booking, I did extensive research into various locations in Tuscany, and the hotel and town did not disappoint.

The journey to the hotel is approx 1 hour from Pisa Airport; an easy and straightforward drive through some beautiful countryside. On arrival in Montaione, we found the hotel and parked our car in the free, secure car park which is for hotel guests only.

All of the staff were so friendly and welcoming, and we were quicky shown to our Suite (208). I had booked a Junior Suite, but due to it being our Anniversary, they had upgraded us. A bottle of chilled wine and chocolates were also waiting for us in the room.

The suite looked newly refurbished with sumptuous furnishings. There were all the usual items like hairdryer, fridge, aircon and a huge TV. There were also 2 bathrooms! The suite had numerous windows which gave you the most breathtaking views over the Tuscan countryside.

Montaione is an historical town of upmost beauty. The hotel is within its walls and therefore walking distance to shops and restaurants. You literally walk outside the rear entrance and you are in the ancient streets with a variety of interesting and quirky shops. We found a delicious littlle fish restaurant, and ended up eating there twice it was so good. However, because of this, make sure you book a table in advance. It is very popular.

San Gimignano, Sienna, MonteReggio and Lucca are all easy driving distances from the hotel. Our favourite was Lucca, with San Gimignano just too busy.

Returning from Pisa Airport, be advised that they have now instigated the same liquid rules as the UK. (i.e. no more than 100 mls)in handluggage. The queues for security were lengthy, with most of the shops landside, which is ridiculous. Also, note that if you are travelling Business Class, the lounge is also landside, so make sure you leave plenty of time to get through security. There is no Fastrack lane! Once Airside, it is very shambolic, and looks in the process of being upgraded.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Montaione and can't recommend the hotel enough. Our only gripe was that we were only there for 4 days!

  • Liked — Views over the Tuscan Countryside
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R+J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Massimo at the front desk was especially helpful. He spent a great deal of time giving needed guidance on what we could see in the area.

The hotel can be tricky to locate in the town but it is worth it. It is on the outside wall of the old walled part of the town.

The hotel is charming. the view out our window was of the Tuscan countryside. Their restaurant had good food. Parking was free. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The hotel has an updated decor. There is an elevator in the hotel but handicapped access might be a problem from the parking garage to the lobby.

The town of Montaione is quaint and charming. A few shops and restaurants. I went nuts photographing the doors of the homes. The town center had a small historic church. Try the gelato at the shop across the street from the church - Outstanding!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, clean, reasonable price, great location, fell in love with the town
  • Disliked — Hauling baggage from garage
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank HarryL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
175 reviews
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,287 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Mannaioni Suites
Palazzo Mannaioni Suites
#172 of 412 in Florence
97 reviews
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Palazzo Mannaioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Property: UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 2, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Palazzo Mannaioni 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Palazzo Mannaioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni Montaione, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Mannaioni
Una Palazzo Mannaioni Hotel Montaione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing