We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Montaione
Certificate of Excellence
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The UNA Palazzo Mannaioni is comprised of two parts - the much older historic palazzo and then across the street, a new building. If you are in the new building, in order to go to breakfast or the hotel office, one must cross the street and go up an long flight of stairs. We stayed in the new building. The new building is comprised of three floors. As the building has been set into the hillside - parts of the ground floor really offer limited views. Some of the first floor rooms are street level. We stayed on the first floor and our particular rooms were street level. This newer building is very modern. Our room was a suite and was quite spacious and decorated very tastefully in browns, greys, and whites. Four large floor to ceiling windows went across the exterior wall. As our room faced the street - we kept the sheer curtains covering the windows always closed . The bed was very comfortable and the room came with the UNA hotel chain's pillow menu. The hotel provided shampoo and soap and there was a card in the bathroom listing other items (like conditioner, moisturizing cream etc) that were available upon request. I don't recall seeing bathrobes or slippers in the room, like at the UNA in Venice. Everything is state of the art electronically including the raising and lowering of blinds that are inset into the windows.

We also had another room with two twin beds. This room was also a good size.

The staff - in both the restaurant and at the front desk - was very good and helpful.

Breakfast was included, tasted good, and was comprised of fresh fruit, fresh juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, pastries, make your own toast, muesli, and yogurt.

Issues: While our room was relatively quiet - the walls are very thin - and we could clearly hear our neighbors TV at night.
While our room was very clean, our children's room had enormous pile of dust under one of the chairs.

Would like to stay here again, but thinking the older part might be quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LookOut1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    141
    47
    20
    8
See reviews for
46
234
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We won a package on Luxury Link and were very satisfied with the junior suite, breakfasts, pool and tasting dinner. UNA has made significant upgrades to the historic site at the top of a very small hill town. Don't expect a lot of tourist activity but the restaurants, pizza parlors and central café were endearing and not infested by tourists. We did base a couple of day trips from Montaioni -- Lucca and Siena -- and enjoyed hanging at the pool on a particularly hot Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: Have them show you a couple of alternatives. Free parking was available at the underground lot acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TideGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've just spent 2 nights here with my girlfriend. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and the hotel facilities were superb - the pool is excellent (with a jacuzzi) and we were given a choice of rooms - one in the "old" building or one in the "new" part. We chose the room in the old building as we felt it had more character and was less clinical than the newer rooms. All rooms in the old building have balconies - the rooms in the newer block did not.

The hotel restaurant is excellent - the food is top drawer by anyone's standards and the sommelier was very friendly and gave us some very nice Tuscan wines to try.

The only thing we weren't sure about was why this hotel is in Montaione. It's a pleasant enough village but there really isn't a lot going on there, so to find such a gem of a hotel with such a great restaurant seemed a little strange. There are a handful of other restaurants in the village, and we did find a very nice quirky bar which is open til 2am every night. However, if, like us, you have a car, you can easily drive to plenty of other places in the region which are of greater interest (San Gimignano was a particular highlight).

Overall I would thoroughly recommend the hotel as a base from which to explore Tuscany. After a day out driving/walking etc, it's great to return to somewhere like this and sit by the pool for a while in the late afternoon. The main thing that sticks in my mind is how well we were looked after by the staff.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room in the old building rather than the new block over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed with our 14 month daughter at the beginning of June, and loved this hotel. Was an easy 50 minutes from Pisa airport, in a small town with phenomenal views, a couple of cracking restaurants, a bar with a beer list to kill for, a great pizza takeaway, and locals so friendly it was often just a pleasure to walk around and soak it up.

We stayed in the newer part of the hotel in a large room, with a big modern bathroom and a pleasant view out into the countryside. Room was immaculate, and very comfortable indeed. A crib was included for free and as the room was big, there was plenty of space for all of us without feeling cramped.

The pool was beautiful, and we swam every day, even at the beginning when we were told it would be too cold!

The staff made our daughter feel like a celebrity guest, and the way she was treated throughout was fantastic.

We left after four nights with a heavy heart, and indeed, due to being massively disappointed by a "five star" hotel in Lucca, ended up returning at the end of holiday for an unplanned, and very welcome additional two night stay.

If pushed to come up with a criticism, the Wi-Fi is really expensive, but really, this wasn't an issue for us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyHuntspill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked through an agent, and then asked the hotel for a room in the old building with views over the Tuscan hills. I arrived after midnight and was disappointed with the room on the top floor as it was hot (the a/c had not been left on) and the room was "brown" is the best way to describe it. However in the morning my concerns evaporated as the view was perfect and the brownness although evident was more in the heritage style of the hotel which dates back many hundreds of years. Yes there are newly restored rooms, and there is the new extension which by all accounts is up to date, but has no views, but it is up to what you want.

The restaurant was reasonably good but the menu was the same every night which is not so good. The lunch menu was poor and the pool was not served by staff except on one occasion in the six days that I used it. The bar was not always attended so you had to get help. So I suspect that they lost trade to other restaurants in the area because of this. The breakfast could have had more variety. So many not quite so good things BUT the location is excellent, in the centre of an attractive town but not on the tourist trail so very peaceful. The staff were generally very friendly. I would give it the four stars out of five that it declares.

I have told all of this in a guest survey so the management are aware. Some of it could be due to the Italian economy and keeping staff numbers to the minimum, some due to the size of the hotel. Some might be due to lack of finance to finish the room updates.....I d ont know!

Overall it was an enjoyable stay, just could have been a little better. It is the little things after all that make a good stay a great stay.

Can I say that Esmeralda who dealt with my booking requests was first class, but so were most of the staff.

Room Tip: Depends what you want modern rooms with little view of great views. Speak to them - Esmeralda was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cobhamchimaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzomannaioni, Direttore at UNA Palazzo Mannaioni, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for having devoted part of your time for writing a review about our hotel.
Guests comments are useful for improving ourselves.
We are very pleased that you appreciated the view from your room, the kindeness and professionalism of our staff, and that you tried our restaurant.
We are sorry that you weren't satisfied of our menu a la carte that includes 6 choices of starters, 6 of first courses, 6 of second dishes, 6 dessert, a menu concerning the kitchen noble Tuscany, variety of meats and fine cheeses, a vegetarian menu, and 3 tasting menu of € 45,00 €,60,00 € and € 65 ,00
We wish inform you that our hotel is officially a 4 star hotel.
Taken good note of your judgement on the whole positive, your opinion is an opportunity for improving our standard with the goal of satysfying you completely during your next stay..

Wishing to have you again as guest, I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

+
Pleasant location
Swimming pool
Friendly staff

-
Breakfast mediocre - needs improving
Old-fashioned tv in room - needs updating
Smallest shower I've ever seen
Very expensive bar - charged 60 euros for 2 brandies the name of which I'd not heard of
Hotel does not tell you there are free parking places available nearby
Nearest road could be very noisy
3 star pretending to be a 4 star

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzomannaioni, Direttore at UNA Palazzo Mannaioni, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for having stayed at our hotel that you consider it is in a pleasant position, that you appreciated our swimming pool and kindness of our staff.
We are sorry to learn that some of the services didn't satisfy your expectations, but your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our standard in order to make sure that you will be completely satisfied the next time you choose to stay with us .
We inform you that very closed to the hotel there are some parking free of charge and some where you need to pay.
The whisky that you drank at our bar is an ISLAY FUSION aged 21 years , t hat's the reason why the cost is 30.00 Euro, but we also have whisky of 5.00/7.00/10.00 and 12.00 €. , and other more expensive. The Shower in the Palace has a standard size of 72x72.
The hotel has 47 rooms, the historic building is in 1500 and has 27 rooms in the old style, modern structure built 3 years ago has 20 modern rooms with LCD TV, and large showers
Wishing to have you again as our guest, I send you my best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Very quaint little town, a base for exploring the area rather than having lots to do. Hotel is clean & comfortable. Bathroom a bit dated. No free wi-fi is a bit of a surprise these days too. Breakfast selection quite basic. Staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughansl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#2 of 11 in Montaione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#1 of 6 in Gambassi Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
13.6 mi away
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
Palazzo San Lorenzo Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Colle di Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Palazzo Mannaioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Property: UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 2, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Montaione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Palazzo Mannaioni 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Palazzo Mannaioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni Montaione, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Mannaioni
Una Palazzo Mannaioni Hotel Montaione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing