We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience in this remote town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Montaione
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We recently stayed for a weekend in the Palazzo Mannaioni which we booked through Voyage Prive.
Firstly I should state that Montaione is a small 16th Century town on a hill which overlooks the amazing Tuscan surroundings. The views really are amazing but car hire is highly advisable for a stay here. I noticed that there are bus routes although from our experience, any places of local interest were a good 30 mins drive away.

Upon checking in to the hotel the front desk staff were very welcoming and friendly. The parking advice was a little sketchy as they don't have a dedicated car park. We basically had to park up just a short walk down the road in a free public parking space (although you can not park there on the 2nd and 4th friday of the month due to street cleaning?). This is common for most parking around the area so beware or incur a fine.

I'm not sure if our room was located on the old or new side, but it was spacious enough with a lovely view of the surrounding hills. The room also had air con and although the bed was quite firm it was still comfortable enough for just a few days. Everything was always kept clean with a daily turn down service. I think my only gripe would be the room socket locations and lack of iron/ironing board.
A safe was provided to us although to obtain a key, a 50 euro deposit is required. This is obviously worth it for peace of mind for your valuables.

The breakfast buffet was really good with plenty of choice to suit all and the staff were always very friendly. We also tried out dinner on two occasions which was equally as good.
As stated before, Montaione is a small town and we only managed to find the hotel restaurant, another hotel restaurant called Carp Diem and a really good local Pizzeria for places to eat so it's quite limited. The local Pizzeria L'Erasmus (based on Piazza G Gramsci) makes really good pizzas for a bargain at around 5-7 euro's each. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonesy_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 380 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed 5 nights, surrounding town small and friendly, incredible views, a few good restaurants. We used train and bus services which are limited and taxi are expensive and must be prebooked. Enjoyed/ local hikes. Good location for driving tours. A few wineries nearby. Hotel pool nice, breakfast very good, diner quality and service varies, sometimes crowded due to bus tours. Front staff friendly and helpful when planning daily activities.

Room Tip: Recommend you stay in older part of hotel (Italian side), no air conditioning but ambiance good. If...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

All English speaking persons and young couples - despite your language will be put in the new/modern part of the hotel separated across the road. Referred to as the "Americans". The main hotel is reserved for the Germans predominately and Euro travelers.
Rooms are clean, comfortable beds, safe for valuables , air conditioned, and small fridge. STILL having some problems with the new build. IE: non-locking doors, loose tiles etc. Lovely semi private ground level patios. Nice and helpful staffing at reception. GREAT TOWN!!! Disappointed we had booked a classic room in main hotel, but as English speaking persons, once there found out that we had no choice but to be put in the section across the road. Menu heavily caters to German tourists. Dinner/supper Menu did not change during our entire stay . As a hotel guest you will have to have a reservation and dress up to receive good service. Service quality is totally different for young couples and English speaking..........Our euro friends found their meals bland while we found ours over salted. We would strongly recommend making a reservation outside the hotel for dinner/supper and more personable service. MEAN WHILE breakfast is fabulous ( one of the best we had in Italy) and morning service is very personable and charming!!!!!!!

Room Tip: new beds comfortable/new bathrooms very nice in "American" part of hotel. ground level wil...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at UNA Palazzo Mannaioni. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom quite large. My only complaint was the inadequate a/c. The 1st night in the room was quite hot. Because the a/c goes off when a window in opened, it is a choice between a darkened room with some a/c or fresh air and light from the unscreened windows. It was better after the 1st night. The linens and pillows were all top quality.

The breakfast buffet was exceptional. All of the staff was caring and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janefromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Having just returned from a stay at the Palazzo Mannaioni, I would certainly recommend it for future stays. We requested a beautiful room with a beautiful view at the point of booking and the hotel did not disappoint, providing us with a room in the original part of the hotel, with views over the breathtaking Tuscan countryside.

Rooms are spacious and characterful in the original part of the building, as are the public rooms downstairs.

The staff were friendly and helpful and always seemed to want to please.

The buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold food which was served in the hotels beautiful restaurant.

The garden and pool area was always clean and tidy and generally a very pleasant area to sit out in, if you fancy a day relaxing.

Montaione is quiet and a little sleepy, but we rather enjoyed that from the hustle and bustle of the larger towns nearby - especially in an evening! The local wine shop in the piazza in town is a lovely place to sit and relax in the evening sunshine whilst sipping on a glass of the regions locally produced wine - ask the owner for recommendations!

We also paid regular visits to two superb restaurants in town - Osteria del Pesce Rosso is great if you love seafood and La Piazzetta del Borgo is also fabulous if you'd rather have Pizza or a more local meat dish. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant - mainly because we found these two eateries fairly early on in the holiday and decided there were too many local dishes on the menu that we wanted to try. The hotel restaurant menu did however look very good and I only wish we had more time to eat there.

All-in-all a fantastic holiday in a fantastic location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Button99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have stayed here before and have no hesitation about recommending this lovely hotel to other visitors. The rooms are attractive and well equipped, although the air conditioning struggled to cope with the extreme heat (but the public areas of the building were very cool and pleasant). Breakfast was good - plenty of fresh fruit, hot eggs, cereals, pastries etc etc. The pool area is wonderful - although not large, it is very attractive and a welcome oasis in the hot Tuscan summer. But .... a few little things that could make it nicer - there weren't enough cushions for all the sunbeds, which is such a small thing to put right, and the roses around the pool needed deadheading.

The hotel is peaceful and offers excellent accommodation, which is why so many people want to stay there, but on one day, the tranquility was destroyed when a large party of travelers with a lot of children who were on an organised cycling holiday descended on the pool area and showed no regard to the other guests. It was a very unwelcome intrusion, and if the hotel is going to accommodate such large parties, I would advise that you check before booking that your holiday doesn't clash with the cyclists!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Palazzo Mannioni 8.7. - 13.7. and enjoyed our stay. The Hotel has two buildings, the old one (Palazzo) and across the street a new building , which is very modern inside and outside old style. We stayed in the old part of the palazzo, we had a lovely roow with a private balcony overlooking the pool area. The breakfast was superb and the personnel friendly. We want to especially mention Mr Massimo who was extra helpful in many ways. If you are a golfer, we recommed you to pay a visit to Golf Castelfalfi an excellent course nearby , by far the best in the area.

Kari & Riikka from Finland

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellotikru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
6.2 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
23.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
548 reviews
8.9 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Palazzo Mannaioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Palazzo Mannaioni

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 2, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Montaione
Price Range: $83 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Palazzo Mannaioni 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your UNA Palazzo Mannaioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni Montaione, Italy - Tuscany
Palazzo Mannaioni
Una Palazzo Mannaioni Hotel Montaione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing