We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany In-sight”
Review of Podere Le Monache

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Podere Le Monache
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is a perfect place to explore Tuscany. Sights like San Gimignano, Volterra, Chianti area, even Florence or a sea coast are within an easy reach by car. On the other hand Podere Le Monache offers a serene atmosphere for just enjoying at the swimming pool with a gorgeous wide view of the landscape in front and a lovely garden around. The quiet small village sits on a hill between olive groves, small shop and a restaurant are across the street. Local people and housekeepers are very friendly and helpful, the landlady is part of the local life and cares about everything incl. rose-garden and own olive grove or vineyard. The house itself dates back to the 11th century and although bears a spirit of a once being convent, the appartments are comfortable. We had a great time and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaLooxaBout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here in July for a family celebration. The location was fantastic, off the tourist trail,but within easy reach of San Gimignano, volterra, and Florence not too far off. The apartment was just what we wanted, the Pool was great after sightseeing. To watch the sunset over the Tuscan hills, and see the mist over the valley in the morning was perfect. Lilana was very friendly and Luigina an absolute gem, even if our Italian and her English were not very well matched. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whistlerLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Lovely place to visit. Village location was good. Lots of places to visit in area but roads are twisty and a car is needed. The accommodation was fine. Bedding and towels lovely but cleanliness of unit could have been better. Owner very friendly and helpful. Pool lovely. Really enjoyed our stay and would return to the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed in apartments in a converted farm house called Podere Le Monache in Iano, Montaione, Tuscany.

A beautiful, remote location with stunning views (shame about the electicity pylon though) not far from Volterra (amazing) and San Gimignano (beautiful, but very busy). The accommodation was adequate in extensive, beautiful grounds with a lovely big pool. It was mostly very peaceful, however, we were plagued by mosquitoes and the cafe nearby played very loud Euro pop two evenings a week (this may only be in high season, it was August).

In retrospect we wish we had booked accommodation on the ground floor as this would have been much more convenient with children. Be warned: apartments 1 and 2 are on the first floor and the owner lives in the grounds too. Still, a good place for families as the nearby restaurant is a two minute stroll and there is a shop.

Quite a long way off the beaten track, it took a good 45 minutes to reach fast roads.

September 2008

2  Thank LibbylouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 236Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meyomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: tutte gli appartamenti sono caratteristici e molto curati. diverse soluzioni in funzione del numero...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montaione hotels
4.0 mi away
Agriturismo Colle Verde
Agriturismo Colle Verde
#1 of 1 in Castelfalfi
15 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#5 of 11 in Montaione
56 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Vacanze Colle Bertini
Casa Vacanze Colle Bertini
#1 of 45 in Montaione
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Le Monache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Le Monache

Address: Via Iano N. 6, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Montaione
Price Range: $115 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Le Monache set on a hillside dominates one of the picturesque and spectacular landscapes in Tuscany. Originally a convent wrapped in history Le Monache has a magical and spiritual atmosphere. Whether you are lazing by the pool or strolling in the olive grove or simply relaxing in your apartment you are in another world. Restored and converted from a farmhouse into four charming ground floor apartments. Perfect for a small or large family vacation rental. Podere Le Monache is situated in the small hamlet of Iano, where you will delight in wine tastings, cooking classes, golfing, horseback riding, bike tours or enjoy the open air walking with foothpaths that start from the property. The area is known as the heart of Tuscany. The proximity to the major cultural and historical cities such as Florence, Siena, Pisa, Lucca as well as small medieval towns, such as San Gimignano, Volterra, Certaldo and San Miniato, will allow you to incredibly enrich your charming stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Podere Le Monache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Le Monache Montaione, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing