We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse Riding in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just returned to Oz after having a lovely week at Castellare di Tonda horse riding. What a lovely, relaxed, earthy and friendly place it is. Great place for families as there is plenty of room for the kids to roam and play. They even have a Kiddies Club. Jess was wonderful in looking after the horse riding. The scenery is superb.

Room Tip: Accommodation is consistent with its country style which makes for relaxed living. There are no fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretlown l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear valued guest.

Thank you for providing a kind account of your stay at Castellare di Tonda. We are glad that your riding holiday met your expectations and that you appreciated the level of service our staff. We agree that Castellare di Tonda is a wonderful destination for families due to the mini club, horse riding school, open landscape and various other services available.
We hope to warmly welcome you back for a future stay. Thank you again for your time and response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 675 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Are you kidding me? What were we thinking?

Or better yet, what was the management of Castellare di Tonda thinking when they decided to market this place as refined Tuscan resort? Yes, the location is wonderful. It is a beautiful spot in the heart of Tuscany and the setting will not disappoint anyone. If you close your eyes and imagine rolling Italian hills and the green multi-hued blend of olive trees and vineyards, that is what you'll see here.

However, that is where the romance ends.

To be fair, we knew this was semi-self catering, and a bit more earthy and casual than our typical destination. However, this does not excuse dilapidated, dark, and cramped (one might say "creepy") apartments. If you don't mind intermittent hot water, questionable plumbing, power that doesn't work, and rooms with the barest (read: "lack of") essentials, then by all means, have a go. Was it at least clean? Hard to tell given the wear and tear. Maybe that was as clean as "shockingly worn down" looks to the naked eye.

What about the quiet evenings? Ha! Don't worry about sleeping, because you won't. The beds are uncomfortable and the portable air conditioning units barely serviceable. Of course, if you enjoy supplying your own toilet paper, doing your own laundry,and living with one bath towel for 2 weeks then you will be nonplussed by the appalling lack of refinement or service. Wait, let me rephrase that: the appalling INDIFFERENCE to service. We had problems with our accommodations from the outset, but not once did the staff at Castellare di Tonda actually apologize for our troubles. They neither anticipated problems, nor reacted to them with proper solutions. This is not to say they are unfriendly or unkind or rude. Not so. They are simply ignorant. Clueless. Lame. Incompetent. Choose your adjective, because they all fit.

So why 2 stars and not a zero?

One could attribute it to my generous nature and willingness to go with the flow. That could be, but in all fairness, it is probably because the chef was excellent and a delight. We had 2 weeks of very good food. We are demanding when it comes to cuisine, and he delivered. We were very happy with dinner each night, and Fabio the chef made it fun. Although, curiously enough, (or perhaps given the nature of the place, to be expected), breakfast is uninspiring. The fresh pastries are a treat, but the rest of breakfast is surprisingly unimpressive and one quickly tires of it after an extended stay.

And obviously, the setting is so attractive it is difficult to find it without merit as a destination. And if you are a kid who wants to run around and swim and basically be at summer camp for a couple of weeks, then you will think this place is great. But i think that is more the nature of Tuscany than the doings of Castellare di Tonda.

So would i return? Not in a million years, and not if they gave me the place for free. Does that mean you should avoid this place like the plague? Again, it depends on how low you can set your expectations. If you don't mind the bare bones amenities, the do it yourself nature of the accommodations, (well, the DIY nature of pretty much everything), and you are willing to overlook a staff that seems to drown in fog, then perhaps you will be fine, (and you will eat well at dinner and have wonderful views).

Just don't expect to see me there, so send me a post card. Let me know how it goes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear valued client.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Agriturismo. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Firstly, thank you for your comments about our location. We are proud of the natural beauty of Castellare di Tonda, which as you mention, is an unspoilt paradise for visitors to the area that wish to enjoy the areas many outdoor and sporting options available.
In regards to the issues you have had with your apartment, we are extremely sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. Castellare di Tonda is a very large estate, made up of 12 different farmhouses located over 900 acres of land. Some of the farmhouses were restored more recently than others, and it sounds as if you may have found yourself in one of the older apartments by your description.
During this winter, we have decided to close Castellare di Tonda for maintenance of the apartments. We have a team of builders and painters restoring the apartments requiring attention.
In regards to the lack of toilet paper, or fact that you had to do your own laundry. Please do keep in mind that Castellare di Tonda is an agriturismo and not a hotel. The apartments are self catering to allow clients self sufficiency during their stay. This means that if a family would prefer not to eat every night at the restaurant, or pay extra for daily cleaning – then they are not obliged to pay for these extras. The kitchens are fully equipped to cook at home, make a cup of tea etc, but on the flip side we have also the services available for clients that do not wish to self cater, and they can choose to utilize these extras at an extra cost. The base price of the apartment does not include daily cleaning or a daily change of linen. Each apartment is supplied with complimentary toilet paper and toiletries to cover the first days of the vacation, after this, unless the client has requested daily servicing the clients are expected to be self sufficient . Linen and towels are supplied fresh to all apartments every 7 days as part of the base price of the apartments, and this also is the norm with many other agriturismi in the area.
We have a mini market onsite next to the reception for the purchase of basic products (toiletries, milk, fresh bread etc) and a supermarket in the nearby village. Tuscany has an amazing food culture, and many of our guests like to buy local products and cook with them during their stay; so the self catering option is very popular.
Castellare di Tonda is a wonderful destination for those seeking to have contact with the real Tuscany. We pride ourselves on the fact that the farm is locally owned and managed, and the staff (from the restaurant to the reception) are all people that live locally. Many of our clients return year after year due to the personalized service they receive here, so we are very sorry to hear that you found the reception staff unwilling to assist with correcting the issues you experienced during your stay.
Thank you for your positive feedback of Fabio and his team at our restaurant, who all strive to offer high quality service and food to our guests.
Providing our guests with the best possible Italian hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the various issues you have mentioned in your review, and spoken with our employee’s to better understand what went wrong during your stay. As I mentioned, this winter we are working to restore many of the apartments on the estate, and we are working to offer our guests in 2014 a superior experience staying with us in Tuscany.

If you return to Montaione, we would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, and we would be happy to try find a resolution to the issues you have experienced above. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are looking for a place to relax by the pool, mountain bike,Hike or horseback ride, this is the place to be. The walking trails are very good. In the Montaione village there is a tourist office that gives out free maps of nice walking trails in the area. This is a working farm that makes its own wine and olive oil. We loved this, but the accommodation is more farmhouse than hotel – so charming and simple rather than extravagant luxury. The farm is well serviced with a spa, large equestrian center, mountain bikes and a lake for fishing. There were lovely views of the countryside, vineyards and an old castle from our apartment.
The farm is rural, but with many small and medium sized towns and sights to see within a short drive. There is a lovely communal feel to the farm, and it was just how I imagined Tuscany to be - quaint and colorful, and very relaxing. The staff were all very nice, excellent service in the restaurant. I would recommend this location to friends.

Room Tip: Towels are not changed daily, so bring a beach towel for the pool so you can keep your bath towel cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing your opinions to the trip advisor community. We are glad that our holiday estate met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy the countryside and local walking tracks. We strive to deliver excellent service and experiences to all of our guests; we are pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
You are correct that this location is ideal for sightseeing and relaxing.
We look forward to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Tuscany.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from Castellare di Tonda staying in a three bedroomed apartment in the Castellare complex. We were a party of six - four adults and two children.
This was a great location close to the restaurant, kids club and the stables. The pool for the complex was of a good size with ample umbrellas, loungers and deck chairs. All the bedrooms in the apartment were of a good size and the towels and linen were all spotlessly clean. Furnishings were basic but totally good enough for our requirements and we had air conditioning thank goodness!
The apartment had it's own private outdoor table and pergola and we spent most of our time outside enjoying the beautiful views from there and from the pool area.
The only downside to our particular apartment was that the living space was very small and would not really be adequate if it rained every day however other apartments had much larger living areas so if you do visit it would be good to ask about this if it is important to you.
We ate at the restaurant several times and found the food to be of a really good standard and the staff very pleasant and eager to please - it has a very laid-back atmosphere and none of us could fault it. Food and Wine prices were reasonable - a bottle of Prosecco was 15 euros, 11 for Chianti, and there was an eat as much as you like three course buffet available in the evenings priced at 25 euro and half price for children as well as the al a carte menu.
The children attended the kids club three or four times and went horse-riding which was well organised and they had a great time. The adults in our party also went on a hack which was again well organised and took us through some lovely countryside and vineyards. All the horses were very well behaved and friendly.
Overall my opinion of Castellare is that it is really good value for a family holiday beautiful Tuscany.
Don't book if you're expecting luxury - this is a good value, comfortable holiday in superb surroundings with Florence, Sienna and the hill top villages with in easy driving distance.

Room Tip: If living area is important to you make sure you check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing your opinion of Castellare di Tonda on Tripadvisor.
You are right that the Castellare farmhouse is one of the best locations for clients looking to base themselves in walking distance from the horses, mini club and reception.
Thank you for sharing your considerations of the horse riding, mini club, restaurant and staff with the Tripadvisor community. We pride ourselves on offering a unique Tuscan experience to our guests.
Hopefully we are able to provide you a second opportunity to warmly welcome you sometime in the future.
Thank you again for your time and response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Clean and central location for most car trip venues (Pisa, Florence etc) BUT all a bit basic and run down. 5 tennis rackets for 2 courts. Buy your own toilet rolls. Restaurant pretty uninspiring. Mountain bikes old and not serviced. Wifi was weak.

If you want to lie by the pool or visit elsewhere then not a bad option but you will struggle to entertain any children over crèche age.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike4wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps our business continue to grow and improve. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our central location, but sad to hear you found the estate basic and run down.

We have taken on your comments, and have invested in new mountain bikes and from 2014 we will have a new WIFI provider for faster and more reliable internet access.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We hope you will consider Castellare di Tonda for a second visit the next time you’re in Tuscany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

the title "resort and spa" is very misleading, as are their pictures on the website. more honest would have been "family cabins." we are not spoiled or fancy people, but would expect a resort and spa to provide us with toilet paper for our stay, instead of having to buy our own. as a couple traveling to experience italy and find some rest and relaxation, this was not the place. we were told that there was wifi available -- but not clearly explained that we would have to travel a half mile from our accommodations and sit outside in the cold night to use it. in addition it booted us out the fourth day and they were not able to restore the connection as our device was blocked for reasons of " time expired" (we still had one more night and day to stay). the service at the restaurant was very disorganized. the menu was a pastiche of smorgasboard all over the map in an effort to cater to many nationalities. not much authentic italan cuisine. and, too many children!!! one evening two boys threw many handfulls of sand and rocks in the parking lot, hitting our rental car with pebbles. i was in the car waiting for my partner with the door open. their father simply stood by and watched, saying nothing. i finally stood up and told them to stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hathead913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ctonda, Public Relations Manager at Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear hathead913,

Thank you for taking the time and providing your opinions on our farm and accommodation. We sincerely apologize for the situations that you encountered and that our agriturismo fell short of your expectations.
During the summer months the farm is popular with families, and children are present at the restaurant during the evenings. We are sorry that this was a problem for you, and that you did not enjoy our buffet selection, but many of returning clients find the selection of different dishes an attribute rather than a negative aspect. Our chefs are all local Tuscan women, and there is always a good selection of local Italian fare available with the more generic dishes.

This winter (2014) we have taken on a new wifi provider to assure our clients a faster and more effective wifi service. Not all apartments have a wifi connection, but there is always availability at the bar and restaurant, and we have couches outside the reception to provide comfort to clients using their computers. This is a free service to all clients.

Thank you again for your time and response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The place and the countryside is beautiful. Accommodations are quite basic but sufficient, the hotel restaurant turned out to be a great surprise, with the buffet offerings rivaling the area restaurants.

The staff was very friendly, especially Simona & Anja and the front desk, and the great Fabio at the restaurant.

The villas are split into 2-3 apartments, so you are likely to share the pool and villa grounds with other people. Please note that a new Italian law prohibits children younger than 14 from going on trail rides, so if you're planning a family horse riding vacation you might be out of luck.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank BdeAlbergaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montaione
2.1 mi away
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
UNA Palazzo Mannaioni
#3 of 11 in Montaione
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Tabaccaia
Hotel La Tabaccaia
#4 of 11 in Montaione
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Il Castelfalfi - TUI BLUE SELECTION
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgo Collelungo
Borgo Collelungo
#22 of 45 in Montaione
44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo San Benedetto
Borgo San Benedetto
#5 of 11 in Montaione
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa

Address: Via Cerroni, 50050, Montaione, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montaione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Montaione
Price Range: $101 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare Di Tonda Resort And Spa
Castellare Di Tonda Hotel Montaione
Castellare Di Tonda Resort & Spa Montaione, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing