We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay”
Review of Siena House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrita di Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siena House
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unforgettable stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Ahh, Siena House. I keep thinking I want to keep you a secret - but I just. Plain. Can't.

This is a house that brings all your dreams of Tuscany to reality. The setting of the house is gorgeous - on top of a hill with 360 degree views of the Tuscan hills and surrounding towns. The views and sunsets can't be beat. The house itself is amazingly beautiful - old-world charm meets modern design, each room and nook and cranny so tastefully designed (Amanda's loving touch, I'm sure!). The summer kitchen is fantastic - we cooked the best dinner (courtesy of the impossibly fresh Tuscan produce) there. The swimming pool. The shower. The beach blankets. I could go on and on...

...but really, the one thing that made the stay truly unforgettable was Malvin's and Amanda's hospitality. They're truly gracious hosts, and went out of their way to ensure every bit of our stay was as pleasant, memorable, and unforgettable as it could be. Malvin also does Michelin-worthy breakfasts every day, so what's not to like?? :)

We will be back. In the meantime, I'm finding myself telling everyone I know about this place... I just can't help it!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Siena room. It was perfect for us - great sunsets, great sized room, awesome shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamRamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
204
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Siena House is truly excellent.

Staying here in June 2014 was so wonderful I'm already dreaming of going back. I loved everything about it: The lovely british couple that owns and runs it, Tuscany with its vineyards, restaurants, tiny streets of nearby cities in the area near to Siena House and the shower (room: Siena) with a view of the fields, the summer kitchen, the tranquility of the countryside and the closeness to everything in Tuscany.

Malvin and Amanda were excellent hosts, they gave great tips and information when we asked, and helped out with a GPS and bookings to all the places we wanted to try. I still dream of Malvin's breakfast and Amanda's onion and saffron soup.

Room Tip: Stayed in room Siena, and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingvild M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We had a good sized room with great views. It had modern furnishings but still had a countryside feeling as it is a renovated Tuscan farmhouse. The pool was wonderful, food was good (breakfast is included) and Amanda and Malvin were really great hosts. They were even kind enough to let us spend the day after our next hotel refused to let us drop off our bags and we were afraid to leave them unattended in the car all day. Their place is really special as are they. If we ever make it back to the Tuscan countryside we will return to Siena House.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a tub and extra sitting room area. We also saw another room that had a tub. Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfbaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Siena House is a little slice of Heaven that isn't in the commercialized parts of Tuscany. It's chic, modern, and Italian rustic living all in one with spectacular views. Malvin and Amanda truly take your experience to the next level with their kindness (they feel like family, but not forced on you), helpfulness in finding other gems in the area, artistic decor, and out of this world breakfast. Siena House is just a short distance away from Pienza, one of the most charming towns in Italy that is a like a well kept little secret. My husband and I stayed at Siena House on our honeymoon, which was a recommendation by some good Swiss friends who vacation all over Holiday, and we loved it so much that we went back 9 months later. Not only did we go back but we've sent all our friends and family. Trust me, Siena House doesn't disappoint in any way!

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Siena room, but there really isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audra_Billmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in the Perugia room in Siena House the week of June 9th. Siena House is a true labor of love. The Owners, Malvin and Amanda, have spent a great deal of time and money making this a truly special place. Malvin looked around for the perfect spot for close to ten years, and finally found it in Siena House.

If you are looking for a hip, yet serene place, this is where you want to stay. The house has all the necessary conveniences of a four-star hotel, plus the personalized attention of the inn keepers. The house is full of original art by Amanda, tastefully decorated, and full of light. The grounds are meticulously manicured; the views are spectacular, and the inn keepers are totally devoted to ensuring you have a great experience. Malvin is the perfect concierge. He knows the good restaurants in the area, the wineries, the worthwhile spots to visit, and he is full of tips. He will make reservations for winery tours, restaurants, etc.

The Perugia room, which is probably the most modest of the four rooms on the house, was spacious and full of light. Everything in the room is good quality. If we could ask for an improvement, it would be to have a pillow top added to the mattress (but this is clearly a personal preference).

Malvin serves amazing breakfast, with fresh fresh fruit, his own baked goods (which vary by the day), delicious tuscan prosciutto, cheese and tomatoes, and your choice of coffee (he has a restaurant-quality espresso machine). Don't have a GPS in your car? Malvin provides one for you, with pre-programmed routes for some 40 attractions nearby. Malvin also provides a five-page document with suggestions for places to see, best parking spots, etc, etc.

There is a lovely pool with saltwater (so no need to bring goggles to swim). If you need a day of down time, you can easily lounge in the pool all day, or borrow books to read. Every room is also provided with a collection of DVD's. There are many tourist guides of the area that guests are welcome to borrow.

There is a summer kitchen for the guests. Refrigerator space is provided for each room. Good quality beer and wine are free for the guests, and a full range and oven, cooking utensils and cutlery available for the guests. So, if you don't want to go out to eat, you are welcome to cooking your own meals.

Upon our arrival, we were treated to complimentary glasses of prosecco (actually a bottle) and snacks.

We recommend this Inn without any reservations. It s a true gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I don't think any review, picture, etc could do this place justice. First and foremost, Malvin and Amanda's hospitality was out of this world! The breakfast by Malvin is NOT to be missed. Also, if you are a foodie like ourselves, you will truly enjoy the different types of gadgets in their kitchen.
The rooms where clean, comfortable, and the shower was heavenly!
This was the first stop in our Italy trip which we have not left from yet and we are already planning our trip back next year!
A true gem that we cannot wait to visit again! Thank you so much Malvin, Amanda, and family!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acciavatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

WOW... words, pictures, even 3D videos won't even come close to what we experienced at the Siena House. We stayed for a few days towards the end of our Italy vacation to unwind and relax and got just what we were looking for plus MUCH MUCH MORE. Malvin and Amanda's hospitality is second to none. As we entered the gates of the property, it was as if we entered a new dimension / reality that heightens all 5 senses.

Sight: Amazing views from all angles and windows of the property. It is perched atop a hill with 360 degree views of the amazing Tuscan countryside. Lawn chairs are positions throughout the property to take in all the landscapes surrounding you. In addition, your sense of sight will be treated to Amanda's artwork scattered throughout the house decorating almost every wall with eye-popping colors and images.

Sound: The only sound you hear are birds singing their songs and the gentle summer breeze passing by.

Taste: As many have posted prior, Malvin's breakfasts are outstanding. The attention to every detail and the freshness of all the ingredients will make you question if any breakfast you had in the past or will have in the future was really breakfast.

Smell: There are many smells you will experience, starting with the freshly baked pastries every morning, the herb garden surrounding the house, and the fresh air your lungs will be forever grateful for before heading back to your respective polluted cities.

Touch: If you are staying as a couple, there will be a lot of touching.

Thank you Malvin and Amands!! We hope to visit again in the future.

Cheers, Mike & Olga

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatiswhatshesaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
17.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
625 reviews
15.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
399 reviews
22.5 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
686 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Property: Siena House
Address: Localita Pietra Bianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing