We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Siena House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrita di Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siena House
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in the Perugia room in Siena House the week of June 9th. Siena House is a true labor of love. The Owners, Malvin and Amanda, have spent a great deal of time and money making this a truly special place. Malvin looked around for the perfect spot for close to ten years, and finally found it in Siena House.

If you are looking for a hip, yet serene place, this is where you want to stay. The house has all the necessary conveniences of a four-star hotel, plus the personalized attention of the inn keepers. The house is full of original art by Amanda, tastefully decorated, and full of light. The grounds are meticulously manicured; the views are spectacular, and the inn keepers are totally devoted to ensuring you have a great experience. Malvin is the perfect concierge. He knows the good restaurants in the area, the wineries, the worthwhile spots to visit, and he is full of tips. He will make reservations for winery tours, restaurants, etc.

The Perugia room, which is probably the most modest of the four rooms on the house, was spacious and full of light. Everything in the room is good quality. If we could ask for an improvement, it would be to have a pillow top added to the mattress (but this is clearly a personal preference).

Malvin serves amazing breakfast, with fresh fresh fruit, his own baked goods (which vary by the day), delicious tuscan prosciutto, cheese and tomatoes, and your choice of coffee (he has a restaurant-quality espresso machine). Don't have a GPS in your car? Malvin provides one for you, with pre-programmed routes for some 40 attractions nearby. Malvin also provides a five-page document with suggestions for places to see, best parking spots, etc, etc.

There is a lovely pool with saltwater (so no need to bring goggles to swim). If you need a day of down time, you can easily lounge in the pool all day, or borrow books to read. Every room is also provided with a collection of DVD's. There are many tourist guides of the area that guests are welcome to borrow.

There is a summer kitchen for the guests. Refrigerator space is provided for each room. Good quality beer and wine are free for the guests, and a full range and oven, cooking utensils and cutlery available for the guests. So, if you don't want to go out to eat, you are welcome to cooking your own meals.

Upon our arrival, we were treated to complimentary glasses of prosecco (actually a bottle) and snacks.

We recommend this Inn without any reservations. It s a true gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
200
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I don't think any review, picture, etc could do this place justice. First and foremost, Malvin and Amanda's hospitality was out of this world! The breakfast by Malvin is NOT to be missed. Also, if you are a foodie like ourselves, you will truly enjoy the different types of gadgets in their kitchen.
The rooms where clean, comfortable, and the shower was heavenly!
This was the first stop in our Italy trip which we have not left from yet and we are already planning our trip back next year!
A true gem that we cannot wait to visit again! Thank you so much Malvin, Amanda, and family!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acciavatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

WOW... words, pictures, even 3D videos won't even come close to what we experienced at the Siena House. We stayed for a few days towards the end of our Italy vacation to unwind and relax and got just what we were looking for plus MUCH MUCH MORE. Malvin and Amanda's hospitality is second to none. As we entered the gates of the property, it was as if we entered a new dimension / reality that heightens all 5 senses.

Sight: Amazing views from all angles and windows of the property. It is perched atop a hill with 360 degree views of the amazing Tuscan countryside. Lawn chairs are positions throughout the property to take in all the landscapes surrounding you. In addition, your sense of sight will be treated to Amanda's artwork scattered throughout the house decorating almost every wall with eye-popping colors and images.

Sound: The only sound you hear are birds singing their songs and the gentle summer breeze passing by.

Taste: As many have posted prior, Malvin's breakfasts are outstanding. The attention to every detail and the freshness of all the ingredients will make you question if any breakfast you had in the past or will have in the future was really breakfast.

Smell: There are many smells you will experience, starting with the freshly baked pastries every morning, the herb garden surrounding the house, and the fresh air your lungs will be forever grateful for before heading back to your respective polluted cities.

Touch: If you are staying as a couple, there will be a lot of touching.

Thank you Malvin and Amands!! We hope to visit again in the future.

Cheers, Mike & Olga

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatiswhatshesaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

There's no excuse for being late with this review as its been a year since we stayed. However, we still think about and pine for Siena House regularly! We stayed at Siena House as part of our honeymoon in June 2013 and there is no other way to describe it except that it is absolute perfection. Malvin and Amanda are so friendly and they went above and beyond in all respects! The house is beautiful, the rooms so comfortable and luxurious. The days we spent not sightseeing we spent lazing at the pool and it was so quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts are the nicest breakfasts i've had anywhere. We felt so sad leaving and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about our stay in Tuscany. Malvin and Amanda are the consummate hosts – kind, welcoming, warm and incredibly generous. The house is impeccably designed and curated, with exceptional attention to detail given to every aspect. The rooms are elegant and spacious, with beautiful views. We had very high expectations for Malvin’s breakfasts, which were exceeded on a daily basis with his freshly baked bread, home made jams and pastries, freshly squeezed juices and more! The house is also perfectly located, in close proximity to Pienza, Cortona, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Perugia and Siena. The pre-programmed GPS guides have everything you need, as mentioned by other guests.

We want to thank Malvin and Amanda for welcoming us into their lovely home. We were depressed when we returned to London!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Malvin and Amanda are the most gracious, accommodating hosts ever. Everything about our 4 day stay, from the incredible breakfasts to the immense rooms ato the open bar in the afternoon were top flight. Great setting as well. Not inexpensive but worth every Euro.

Ron C, Jax, FL

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Read the reviews for they are all true. We cannot really add anything more other than to agree that you will not be disappointed. Every comment about Malvin and Amanda, the setting, the amenities, the breakfast, the recommendations, even the programmed GPS are 100% genuine. The landscape views from your room will be forever cemented in your memory. Picture perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
0.4 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
17.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
22.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Property: Siena House
Address: Localita Pietra Bianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing