We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated farm house with stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Siena House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torrita di Siena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siena House
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated farm house with stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here July last year and it was absolutely perfect. The farmhouse was renovated to a very high standard and the surroundings were lovely, fields, olive groves and traditional farms.

Our room was Perugia and although they market it as the smallest room, it was actually quite spacious. The bedroom had double aspect windows overlooking the fields and the views when lying in bed were stunning. I gave 4 for location because i got the impression from the website it was set in the hills, however it isnt - but thats being picky as the surroundings are still lovely. The bathroom had a huge shower and again, the view was lovely.

The owners were really friendly, accommodating and generous. The breakfasts were tasty and one morning we had peach Bellini! we could help ourselves (within reason of course!) to soft drinks and beer from the fridge free of charge which was also very generous.

The pool had just been put in, and it made a great addition, there was a hammock between two trees, and plenty of seats to lie and sunbathe on. The surroundings of the pool were still being planted and grown and I'm sure by now it's looking even better.

All in all, it was an amazing place and one which we didn't want to leave. 'book early to avoid dissappointment'!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank em25Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
200
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We travelled all the way from Hong Kong and did a thorough review of all the B&B / hotels available in the Tuscany region. We were quite specific in looking for modern-chic accomodations and there were almost none in the area, until we found out about Malvin and Amanda. We spent 3 nights in July 2011 and had an amazing experience living with the family. Malvin would make breakfast for us every morning with amazing pastries (and local fresh honey for our toasts) and Amanda would share her experiences with Art with us. Our rooms were very spacious with an amazing view and the bathroom had a very nice rain shower. We never got to use the outdoor pool but it looked amazing

They warmly welcomed us and made sure our stay was fantastic and gave excellent recommendations for food around the area, they also lent us their tom tom gps so that we wouldnt get lost. This is true luxury in tuscany and since its operated by the couple, you will get a very unique experience similar to living at an ultra posh friend's house as opposed to a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Wow - what a gorgeous place to stay! The feel of a luxe boutique hotel, in a stunning location, with the personal service of a small B&B makes for the most amazing stay. The house is a no-expense spared designer barn conversion with every little luxury provided. The views across the Tuscan countryside are just breathtaking (and that's before you spot a deer, black squirrel or hare hopping across the fields). But what really makes it so good is that Malvin and Amanda are such lovely hosts. They say they're 'accidental hoteliers' (they're an English couple who originally built this as a holiday home) but clearly they are made for it! From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with (too many!) glasses of prosecco to the morning we left with a little package of leftover still-warm home-baked chocolate brownies, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts in particular were amazing. We thought home-baked muffins for pre-breakfast-in-bed were a big enough treat, but then breakfast itself involves home-baked bread, fresh ricotta from the local farm, local honey, homemade yogurt, freshly squeezed juice, and endless espressos. Heaven. Italians don't really 'do' breakfast, but Malvin does - and then some!! Make sure you take his advice about local trips, sights and restaurants too - we loved all his suggestions, in fact the local restaurant he recommended (il Fornacino) was the most memorable meal of our whole trip. All up, we had an absolutely blissful couple of days here, the only downside being that it just wasn't long enough! Already thinking of how and when we can return!! Thanks again Malvin and Amanda, and don't change a thing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I hesitate to write because I don't want to share this little slice of heaven, but know I have to because Amanda and Malvin deserve the praise. My husband and I stayed at the Siena house for two nights in September. We wanted to stay longer, but the place was already full by the time we went to book. Here we are happy to say we will take what we can get! Our stay was simply amazing. The Siena house has four beautiful rooms to chose from (We had the Perugia with stunning views and an open-concept bathroom to die for), but no matter your pick you will feel relaxed, comfortable and just plain lucky to be there. The whole place is gorgeously appointed and amazingly welcoming. From the moment we walked in we knew we had chosen the right spot. The epitome of hospitality, Malvin and Amanda greeted us with a glass (or two) of sparkling wine while showing us the property and our room. By the time we unpacked and freshened up Malvin had set us up outside with another bottle and some deck chairs facing the sunset. Bliss. We got to chatting and mentioned to Malvin that we were in search of good food. Well, that's all we needed to say! Our hosts were happy to share all of their local knowledge and favourite spots. They were genuinely excited for us to enjoy their local gems - and boy did we! They handed us a prepared list of their local restaurants, wineries, and attractions and then talked us through what was best for us. Then they loaned us a pre-programmed GPS and bid us adieu as we went off to explore. Amazing.

Amanda and Malvin have mastered the art of personalized hospitality. The Siena house is nothing short of breath-taking. The grounds are meticulously kept and perfectly situated so that there is not one vantage point that enjoys anything less than a spectacular view. The location could not be better - a quiet, peaceful spot only 10 minutes drive from local town and less than 40 minutes from Sienna or Montepulciano.

Perhaps one of the best things about a stay in the Siena House is Malvin's magnificent breakfast. Every morning Malvin prepares a breakfast feast for you to enjoy wherever you please. Fresh fruit, ricotta cheese, homemade bread, jam, a perfectly brewed cup of coffee (or tea, or cappuccino, or.....) and a special dish to start your day off just right. That was one of the best brownies I've ever eaten. Seriously. Delicious. Any day started with Malvin's breakfast is bound to be fantastic.

I could go on and on with Praise for the Siena House and its gracious hosts, but really just want to say a big Thank You to Amanda and Malvin for making our stay there so special. A definite highlight in our extended vacation - a truly memorable experience. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rozeecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Having just arrived home to Australia after being overseas for 12 weeks. We just want to say THANK YOU to Malvin and Amanda for being the ultimate hosts and such lovely people for making us feel so welcome in their beautiful home.

There isn't a word sufficient to express our appreciation for the enjoyable time we spent at Siena House and it truly was a memorable experience.

The hospitality shown has left embedded in our minds such fantastic memories, which will be there to stay for years to come. Things like – the roaring fire, superb breakfasts with fresh fruits and Malvins freshly baked muffins and home made jams, the informal chats and a willingness to assist with tour suggestions and the use of a Tom-tom, inbuilt with local villages and restaurant locations.

Not only have we given ‘Siena House’ a 110% but equally, we’ve voted it 'NUMBER 1' for the best accommodation throughout our entire 12 weeks overseas touring the UK, France and Italy and believe me, we have stayed in some top 4 & 5 star places – But, Siena House is “Simply the Best” a "Shangri-La" in Tuscany.

The Montepulciano room with its king size bed, spectacular views over the valley, its spacious bathroom and adjoining separate lounge area was just the best. Then again all the rooms are spacious with spectacular views and did I mention the beautiful lush green lawns and surrounding gardens and pool, it’s all just superb! – It’s a B&B where you can just relax outside on a chair with a nice glass of red wine and take in the surrounding countryside or go and visit one of the local medieval towns – the choice is yours.

We would highly recommence this B&B, not only to Australians travelling to Tuscany, but anyone wanting a B&B that is truly exceptional and ‘one out of the box’ for comfort, relaxation, beauty and with great hosts as a bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Siena House for four nights at the end of 2 1/2 weeks in Italy. We weren't sure what to expect but booked based on the reviews on this website. Everything exceeded our expectations! Malvin and Amanda welcomed us into their home with warmth and generosity. The place is exceptional. If you are looking for a rustic Tuscan setting with modern funky interiors, this is the place for you! We were blown away by the calm, restful surroundings and the attention to detail.

We stayed in the Montepulciano room for two nights, then moved to the Siena room. Both rooms were amazing. Sitting in the gorgeous bathtub, looking out the windows to the surrounding hills, was such a treat. The bath products were top notch, and this was the first place I've ever stayed in that provided bubble bath! Such a treat! Comfortable beds with exceptional linens and Amanda's gorgeous artwork on every wall. The common living room for guests was great and well furnished with books and magazines.

Malvin cooks an amazing breakfast every morning, which was served on the lawn. Fresh fruit, homemade bread, home baked brownies....so good! Such a nice change from 'traditional' Italian breakfasts of packaged pastries and tiny coffees. They were very helpful in planning our day trips, right down to providing us with a GPS and coordinates to all the places we might want to go, from restaurants to shopping to all the hill towns.

We loved the outdoor kitchen that is provided for guests, if you want to cook a meal everything is there for you, plus a fridge stocked with wine and beer at no extra cost. We loved our afternoon ritual of beer and snacks sitting by the pool.

We truly felt like we were staying with friends. Impromptu wine tastings, Prosecco shared together in the early evenings, and privacy when you want it....everything contributed to a perfect stay.

Thanks, Malvin and Amanda, for working so hard to make our stay with you so special. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welshgirlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Oh, what to say that hasnt already been said about Siena House and its magnificent hosts Malvin and Amanda?!
It truly is the most wonderful b&b we have ever had the pleasure of staying in and we ended up adding an extra day to our stay as we simply could not leave.
Malvin and Amanda have really thought of everything from the glorious rooms (we stayed in "Cortona" which was sublime), to the fabulous lounge/breakout area, to the insane breakfasts.
The beauty of Siena House that its also a place for all seasons as there's the gorgeous pool an outdoor areas in the summer or lounging by the fire in the cooler months.
Malvin's cheat sheet of where to go/eat and park was brilliant and with his help we had some of our best moments in the area.

If you're even contemplating staying here, book now! There's only 4 rooms so get in quick.

Room Tip: Ask for Cortona - its spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
0.4 mi away
Locanda dell'Amorosa
Locanda dell'Amorosa
#2 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
17.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
22.9 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena House

Property: Siena House
Address: Localita Pietra Bianca 140 | Podere San Carlo, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely old Tuscany on the outside, easy modern living within. Playful, functional and comfortable. Imagine the dream home that Holly Golightly and Peter Rabbit might share... and you've got the feel of the place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siena House Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Siena House Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing