We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Follonico!”
Review of Follonico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Follonico
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Follonico!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Looking for a gem in the heart of Tuscany? Look no further than Follonico B&B. Fabio and Suzanne pay great attention to detail and you truly feel at home in this magical piece of heaven. Fabio and Suzanne are quick to make you feel welcome and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need-a meal, directions, suggestions, etc. Our room was small but comfortably furnished and beautifully decorated. You can tell that thought went into every thing at Follonico....from the creative use of recycled scaffolding for the bed frame, the candelabra hanging outside, to the bed frame complete with mattress and pillow out in the yard. Our shower was another fabulous feature!!! Breakfast is served in a charming room overlooking vineyards and we dined buffet style. There was always a wide variety of tasty goods and the opportunity to meet and visit with other guests from all over....other Americans, Brazilians, Germans....a great mix of people with interesting conversations. We can't say enough about this place and the hosts. We highly recommend Follonico and hope to have the pleasure of visiting with Fabio and Suzanne again. Thank you both for a fabulous stay that just wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveler1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
185
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Follonico is everything you wish from your Tuscan dream stay and more. This is no coincidence as the couple behind this magical place, Suzanne and Fabio are simply inspiring in the way they live, host and share their home with you and work hard to make your holiday dreams. It is like staying at a friend's friends house that you instantly warm up to and feel at home...
We have stayed at the room Alba Chiara, waking to a Tuscan view in the mornings. The room/suite is made up of 3 different connected rooms, a sleeping area with a sofa, a sitting area with a table & day bed and a spacious bathroom. All decorated with Suzanne's unique touch...
The breakfast was good, freshly prepared and Fabio was always available in the morning to provide us itineraries with the most scenic driving routes and even doing bookings for us (and taking care of all the other guests at the same time).
Follonico is located really well for exploring the Val D'orcia area, which we thought was the best part of our Tuscany trip. Montefollonico is the closest small town (7min drive) where you have a couple of great restaurants.
Will be back, as soon as we can... Looking forward to seeing the donkey, the hourse, and the guide!

daphne & tolga

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne_Azaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Casa Follonico is a perfect spot for an extended stay in southern Tuscany. The setting is magical, an old farmhouse with views over the vineyards to Montefollonico and Montepulciano. Our spare but stylish suite was roomy, quiet, and comfortable. The hosts, Fabio and Suzanne, make you feel as though you're not just guests, but friends, and their advice on everything from day trips to meal recommendations was flawless. Breakfasts are ample and creative, and the other guests we met over breakfast or drinks in the garden during our stay were a cool, diverse, and interesting bunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EustaceHPlimsoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As a base for a 6 day trip to Southern Tuscany, it would be hard to imagine anything more perfect than Follonico. As almost all other reviewers have commented, Fabbio and Suzanne are indeed welcoming, generous and quirkly humorous hosts. They do seem to take genuine pleasure in ensuring that not only is their side of the deal fulfilled, but that you get the most out of your time in the area.

The room was excellent; sizeable, clean, full of Suzanne's indiosyncratic approach to interior decorating [which we loved], an extremely comfortable bed and brilliant views up to Montepulciano and Montefollonico. Great shower too.

Breakfast is a highlight. As with so much of Follonico, slightly different with an unusual mix of salads, omlettes, pastries, meats and cheese, but all fresh and very tasty. Good coffee as well. With only 6 rooms, eating is a communal experience, and there is a pleasant social side to the leisurely breakfast. We swapped stories and Tuscan experiences with some charming American and Brazilian couples.

Location wise, Follonico is excellent, with Siena, Florence and other classic destinations all within easy driving distance. We ate most nights in Montepulciano, which has a wide choice of eateries, all of which were very satisfactory, regardless of price level. We'd also recommend a 15 min drive to the Avignonese winery for a tour, lunch and tasting experience. Not the cheapest but very well done.

I digress. To summarise, we really couldn't fault Follinco and it's charming owners, and would happily return. One tip though; it's not easy to find for the first time as commercial signing is carefully controlled, so well worth getting the exact directions from Fabbio in advance.

Nick and Denise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villagrande Strisaili, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I don't write many reviews, but after 8 days in Italy....starting off in Rome, Tuscany, Vernazza, Alghero, and now Villagrande Strisaili Sardegna with a view days left I wanted to praise a fantastic stay at Follonico with Fabbio and Suzanne.

We have stayed at a 5 Star resort in Alghero and never felt more out of place and not wanted at that resort and so appreciated at Follonico. My wife and I are movers and hit Siena and Moltepulciano, leaving early coming back very late, making new adventures and new friends.

Follonico is set in some of the most scenic parts of Tuscany and central to every town within tour or driving distance. We are driving a rental and free to come and go at our own pace on this trip. So each town, ristorante, and shop was at our speed and enjoyed immensely.

We came back to Follonico to be absorbed into a unique hospitality unlike any we have yet to encounter again on our honeymoon. Italy is a facinating country with a beautiful charm and you will not be sorry with a stay at Follonico at any stage of your own Italian adventure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBolty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fabbio and Suzanne are very welcoming hosts, chatty, friendly and informative. Fabbio's food and chat are wonderful and Suzanne's suggestions for what to do in the local area were on the money. Our room was rustic (White 2) but nicely decorated, and had a nice big bathroom. The view over to Monte Follonico and Montepulciano was beautiful. I recommend taking up the option of a dinner or cheese & crostini in the evening - it is tasty and well priced. The place is very charming, with dogs and children (all cute!) too and lots of flea market nic nacks and books. I believe there will shortly be the addition of a donkey. We would not hesitate to return to Follonico and would recommend it to country-side lovers who like their accomodation cosy and familiar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbitontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Writing this having just finished a lovely breakfast at Follonico. The sun is shining and the Tuscan hills are glistening infront of me as we get ready for the day ahead. This place is everything you want when you think of a traditional Tuscan experience. Great care and attention to detail has been used by excellent hosts Fabio and Suzanne to provide guests with accomodation that is both modern and charming. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a beautiful rustic decor that makes you feel like you are living a true Tuscan dream. Watching the sun go down with a bottle of Chianti was heaven on earth. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
3.3 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
246 reviews
15.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
716 reviews
21.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lupaia
Lupaia
#1 of 13 in Torrita di Siena
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Chiusa
La Chiusa
#1 of 6 in Montefollonico
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Follonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Follonico

Property: Follonico
Address: Localita Casale, 2, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Follonico 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is hard to say what we are, impossible to classify us with standards. FOLLONICO is not a 5 star hotel, but a place to enjoy a 5 star experience of Tuscany. It is OUR HOME and we hope it will be YOUR HOME in Tuscany for the time being of your staying, for all four seasons. Only 6 rooms, 4 suites and 2 standard. Tailor made services, all our experience at the disposal of a few. Those few that love to travel in a different way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Follonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Follonico 4 Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Follonico 4-Suite Bed And Breakfast
Follonico Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing