We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking! You found the Tuscan dream...”
Review of Follonico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Follonico
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop looking! You found the Tuscan dream...”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Follonico is everything you wish from your Tuscan dream stay and more. This is no coincidence as the couple behind this magical place, Suzanne and Fabio are simply inspiring in the way they live, host and share their home with you and work hard to make your holiday dreams. It is like staying at a friend's friends house that you instantly warm up to and feel at home...
We have stayed at the room Alba Chiara, waking to a Tuscan view in the mornings. The room/suite is made up of 3 different connected rooms, a sleeping area with a sofa, a sitting area with a table & day bed and a spacious bathroom. All decorated with Suzanne's unique touch...
The breakfast was good, freshly prepared and Fabio was always available in the morning to provide us itineraries with the most scenic driving routes and even doing bookings for us (and taking care of all the other guests at the same time).
Follonico is located really well for exploring the Val D'orcia area, which we thought was the best part of our Tuscany trip. Montefollonico is the closest small town (7min drive) where you have a couple of great restaurants.
Will be back, as soon as we can... Looking forward to seeing the donkey, the hourse, and the guide!

daphne & tolga

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne_Azaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
187
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Casa Follonico is a perfect spot for an extended stay in southern Tuscany. The setting is magical, an old farmhouse with views over the vineyards to Montefollonico and Montepulciano. Our spare but stylish suite was roomy, quiet, and comfortable. The hosts, Fabio and Suzanne, make you feel as though you're not just guests, but friends, and their advice on everything from day trips to meal recommendations was flawless. Breakfasts are ample and creative, and the other guests we met over breakfast or drinks in the garden during our stay were a cool, diverse, and interesting bunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EustaceHPlimsoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

As a base for a 6 day trip to Southern Tuscany, it would be hard to imagine anything more perfect than Follonico. As almost all other reviewers have commented, Fabbio and Suzanne are indeed welcoming, generous and quirkly humorous hosts. They do seem to take genuine pleasure in ensuring that not only is their side of the deal fulfilled, but that you get the most out of your time in the area.

The room was excellent; sizeable, clean, full of Suzanne's indiosyncratic approach to interior decorating [which we loved], an extremely comfortable bed and brilliant views up to Montepulciano and Montefollonico. Great shower too.

Breakfast is a highlight. As with so much of Follonico, slightly different with an unusual mix of salads, omlettes, pastries, meats and cheese, but all fresh and very tasty. Good coffee as well. With only 6 rooms, eating is a communal experience, and there is a pleasant social side to the leisurely breakfast. We swapped stories and Tuscan experiences with some charming American and Brazilian couples.

Location wise, Follonico is excellent, with Siena, Florence and other classic destinations all within easy driving distance. We ate most nights in Montepulciano, which has a wide choice of eateries, all of which were very satisfactory, regardless of price level. We'd also recommend a 15 min drive to the Avignonese winery for a tour, lunch and tasting experience. Not the cheapest but very well done.

I digress. To summarise, we really couldn't fault Follinco and it's charming owners, and would happily return. One tip though; it's not easy to find for the first time as commercial signing is carefully controlled, so well worth getting the exact directions from Fabbio in advance.

Nick and Denise

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villagrande Strisaili, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I don't write many reviews, but after 8 days in Italy....starting off in Rome, Tuscany, Vernazza, Alghero, and now Villagrande Strisaili Sardegna with a view days left I wanted to praise a fantastic stay at Follonico with Fabbio and Suzanne.

We have stayed at a 5 Star resort in Alghero and never felt more out of place and not wanted at that resort and so appreciated at Follonico. My wife and I are movers and hit Siena and Moltepulciano, leaving early coming back very late, making new adventures and new friends.

Follonico is set in some of the most scenic parts of Tuscany and central to every town within tour or driving distance. We are driving a rental and free to come and go at our own pace on this trip. So each town, ristorante, and shop was at our speed and enjoyed immensely.

We came back to Follonico to be absorbed into a unique hospitality unlike any we have yet to encounter again on our honeymoon. Italy is a facinating country with a beautiful charm and you will not be sorry with a stay at Follonico at any stage of your own Italian adventure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBolty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fabbio and Suzanne are very welcoming hosts, chatty, friendly and informative. Fabbio's food and chat are wonderful and Suzanne's suggestions for what to do in the local area were on the money. Our room was rustic (White 2) but nicely decorated, and had a nice big bathroom. The view over to Monte Follonico and Montepulciano was beautiful. I recommend taking up the option of a dinner or cheese & crostini in the evening - it is tasty and well priced. The place is very charming, with dogs and children (all cute!) too and lots of flea market nic nacks and books. I believe there will shortly be the addition of a donkey. We would not hesitate to return to Follonico and would recommend it to country-side lovers who like their accomodation cosy and familiar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbitontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Writing this having just finished a lovely breakfast at Follonico. The sun is shining and the Tuscan hills are glistening infront of me as we get ready for the day ahead. This place is everything you want when you think of a traditional Tuscan experience. Great care and attention to detail has been used by excellent hosts Fabio and Suzanne to provide guests with accomodation that is both modern and charming. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a beautiful rustic decor that makes you feel like you are living a true Tuscan dream. Watching the sun go down with a bottle of Chianti was heaven on earth. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

In line with other reviewers we agree that Follonico is in the most stunning position with the most amazing views. The owners are very pleasant and very helpful and Fabbio makes a great breakfast everyday usually including a delicious homemade frittata and salad. Our room was large, lovely and if not for the issues listed below would have been brilliant. The bathroom was huge and very nice and the shower among the best we've had. The grounds were also lovely with nice places to sit to take in the views. The location is very close to Monte Follonico where there are a few restaurants, in particular Botte Piena was excellent. It is also close to Montepulciano and the drive there and to lovely Pienza was stunning.

Now to the negatives:

There was a clothes rail in the room for hanging clothes but nowhere else for other clothes I.e. no drawers etc. We stayed for 5 nights and as we do not like living out of a suitcase would have found some drawers or shelves helpful. So had to leave everything in our cases

On the website the room appeared simple and uncluttered and this was one of the attractions for us. That was certainly the case for half of the room I.e. the sleeping half which was as we expected but disappointingly the other half of the room was not so. There are four shelf areas in the room and all were cluttered with Suzanne's nic nacs leaving no space for our stuff, and all were very, very dusty. The shelves had a huge mirror with two large cracks and which was not really useable because of the clutter in front of it and because it was so dusty - this was not just just recent dust there was clearly a long term build up. There were also old hats, gloves, typewriter,baskets,candlesticks etc etc. One or two of these items in the room, if kept dusted, might have been quite charming but so much, which was so dusty (unlike the other half of the room and the bathroom which were clean) and which utilised all available surfaces was too much. Added to this the old ball gown or wedding dress hanging in the corner and the old basket in which there were another couple of old hats made us feel we were in the film set of Great Expectations. Suzanne's collectibles would have been fine if there had been less and if they had been dusted and I can't understand why one half of the room had been cleaned but the collectibles half hadn't.

The guest sitting room also carried through the theme of clutter though the breakfast area was fine.

Our final negative and this should really not have happened and this was that the bedding was really very, very damp when we arrived. I think the helper had put one of the under sheets back on the bed whilst still very damp and this had soaked through to the other 2 undersheets and top sheet. This should have been checked before our arrival. Even without the coughs we were suffering there was no way we could have slept on the bed - we told Suzanne and the bed had to be stripped and bedding put on the line to dry and she remade it when the sheets had dried.
Whilst talking about the bed just to mention that above the bed on the wall are two old doors which are probably from the original building - it is a really nice feature - but do be careful as there is a nail at the very bottom of one (side nearest the bathroom) which could cause a nasty scratch/cut to your head unless you prop a pillow up against it.

We really loved Follonico and found Suzanne and Fabbio very helpful but were disappointed with aspects of the rooms mentioned above.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
follonico, Proprietario at Follonico, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear maz,
as usually we wish to thank you for having stayed with us at Follonico.

I really wish I didn't have to reply to this msg. so much we are trying to do our best to welcome all our guests. Probably we are nopt yet perfect, very very close but not yet.

We really believe our guests opinions are the best source of inspiration to increase the quality of the service and so we will do with your review.

Wardrobe, clothe railing. We never had problem with it and supplied more hangers if need. We will surely reconsider this during the winter when there will be time to modify the rooms where need.

About the damp, we are sorry and showed our sorry immediately and tried to make it good with redrying and refresh them hanging them out on the washing lines again. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. It is the first time in 4 years that this happens.

About the vintage collection, you have to look at it in the whole mix. not just looking at one shelf. All together make Follonico what it is. They way we have decorated every area, the porcelain you have used at breakfast, the handmade high quality cotton linen and so on.

Here is my concern/disappointment of your review: the mirror is obviously part of the vintage collection/decoration. It has been found on a flee market and is dated back to the 18th century. Again, obviously it is there only for the decoration and has been always broken since we bought it. everyone can see it is not there to be used as nowadays mirrors. In fact in the bathroom there is a 1x2mt wide mirror. If this was not evident for you it may explain to me the complains apart the damp.

At last, thanks a lot for the compliments for the breakfast. It is hard to prepare quality breakfast every day with fresh local ingredients and your compliments makes me happy.

Of course we wish we could have done it better for you as well as we do for all the other guest.
Please welcome our late apologize.
Best
Fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrita di Siena
3.3 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
15.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
735 reviews
21.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
327 reviews
15.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lupaia
Lupaia
#1 of 13 in Torrita di Siena
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Follonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Follonico

Property: Follonico
Address: Localita Casale, 2, 53049, Torrita di Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Torrita di Siena
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Torrita di Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Follonico 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is hard to say what we are, impossible to classify us with standards. FOLLONICO is not a 5 star hotel, but a place to enjoy a 5 star experience of Tuscany. It is OUR HOME and we hope it will be YOUR HOME in Tuscany for the time being of your staying, for all four seasons. Only 6 rooms, 4 suites and 2 standard. Tailor made services, all our experience at the disposal of a few. Those few that love to travel in a different way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Follonico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Follonico 4-Suite Bed And Breakfast
Follonico 4 Hotel Torrita Di Siena
Follonico Province Of Siena/Torrita Di Siena, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing