We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Guided visit with the kids

I visited the Churburg together with my wife and our three kids (12, 10, and 8 years old). We were... read more

Reviewed April 10, 2019
e-montes1976
Magical Medieval Castle

Coming from New Zealand,castles are one of the things that we‘re most interested in. We have truly... read more

Reviewed August 21, 2018
Terry J
via mobile
Read all 281 reviews
  
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
154
104
19
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
104
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour an hour beautiful castle armour kids english language century arms castel website organ europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 281 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are passionate about history and really love castles so we came up from Bolzano.
Castel Coira looks exactly like a medieval fortress should....we were already excited on the way up from the carpark.
The tourists go to a waiting room with a nice view of the garden until the next tour starts. There were two guides (they have sort of a uniform) standing around not doing anything so I don't understand why we had to wait.
Anyway,we were called up after a while but there was no English tour so we joined an Italian one and were given an English description(which,by the way,was full of mistakes)to read while the guy was talking.
What we then saw was worth the wait!
This place is really cool and the armour is really fabulous! Just sad that we couldn't understand the guide,he seemed to have lots to say!
We checked the website but they don't have it in English....I guess that language is not their strong point although it would be pretty usefull for all those who can't speak german or Italian!
The beautiful castle makes up for a lot but these people could make a bigger effort!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

A really beautiful castle with superb Renaissance frescoes and a big collection of late medieval arms and armour. Very sadly, admission is only by guided tour, and although they obviously sometimes offer it in English, the day I visited I had to tag along with an Italian group, and barely understood a word of what was evidently an entertaining and interesting talk ;(

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank OccasionalHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Very interesting place to
Visit. Great staff and welcoming. A little boring for youngest (around 6-7 years) but the prisons and the room with the armours' collection is a memorable memory for all kids, adults and teen.
Well organised the tour and also
The guides very helpful to understand the history and the context.
Great!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank gdp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

The well preserved castle itself worth to visit. The guidance was very informative, compact and full of small interesting details.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank László S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

This old castle doesn't only look like the quintessential castle, it is also nicely preserved with a lot of original structures and items from several centuries. Beautiful wall paintings, amazing rooms, and some rare artefacts. The castle is fairly small but the tour is worth it. No pictures can be taken inside.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 166karstenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews