We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
266
77
24
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
266
77
24
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car matteo thun perfect place gym classes gourmet restaurant dolomites luxury design spa environment walks chairlift dish eco archery calmness runs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 395 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

First of all the architecture is great Matteo Thun created a minimalist yet cozy place where traditional tirolean meets modernism. The hotel is quite, service exquisite and the location on top of the mountain simply a perfect place to relax and reload.Their gourmet restaurant its great, the spa impecable and with great services. Their bow and arrow classes and hikings are a great experience. They offer onsite para tandem para gliding which for me is a great add on. Looking forward to go back. The silence is perfect and the service friendly amd autentically proffesional.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jjee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vigilius1500, Geschäftsführer at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Dear jjee46,
thank you very much for your positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you appreciate our concept of recovery and relaxion. We are also glad that you enjoyed our spa treatments and sport offer.
We would appreciate it if we could welcome you again in our house.

Yours sincerely,
Claudia Tessaro
Direction
vigilius mountain resort



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is absolutely stunning, beautiful design, and it is situated with gorgeous views of the Dolomites and surrounding area. The spa facilities are truly spectacular too.

Our stay was let down however, by our experience in the hotel’s 1500 restaurant (both times). Our pasta dish was inedible due to the amount of salt in it. The chef could not have tasted the dish before it left the kitchen, or else it would have been identified immediately and not been served. The restaurant serving staff dealt with problem quickly and apologised. The replacement dish took over 30 minutes to arrive and each subsequent course also had a lengthy wait to arrive. Seasoning is clearly an issue, since the potato served with our main course was also salted to the point of being inedible and at breakfast the eggs we ordered (both of ours) were also too salty (and also extremely under cooked). At check out, the reception staff were extremely apologetic and felt with he situation very well, including reimbursing a half bottle of wine we had from the mini bar and saying they’d speak to the kitchen.

It’s such a shame! Clearly so much love has gone into the design of the hotel and the service delivered by the rest of the hotel staff is very good. The chef and their team should operate up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank louisewoolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vigilius1500, Geschäftsführer at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear Ms Louise W,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you appreciated the hotel for its design and unique environment, and that you have been pleased by our spa facilities.
Unfortunately, we regret that your experience at Restaurant 1500 was not up to your expectations. We will take your observations very seriously as an helpful tool to continuously improve our service. We hope to see you again at vigilius mountain resort.

Yours sincerely,
Claudia Tessaro
Direction
vigilius mountain resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017

The location is terrific- we went in the summer (early July), which meant it was the perfect temperature to take hikes in the cool mountains, and come back to the hotel and relax at the pool or outside on the terrace. The spa had some nice treatments, and the rooms, while can not be temperature controlled ( I was told to open the terrace door at night if I wanted it to be more cool), were comfortable and quiet, especially if you are facing the back side of the hotel. The hallways were a bit odd in design choice, but the public rooms fine, with open terraces and cocktails served outside pre dinner time. The upstairs restaurant had a big breakfast spread, and served flavorful dinners with sunset views. The downstairs one was more casual, and the decor (rustic mountain) a bit at odds with the modern vibe of the rest of the hotel - but served decent simple dishes. You could also sit outside for lunch, which was lovely on sunny days. My only complaint was the front desk staff.... one delightful young woman was there, but the rest seemed to loath their jobs. I was "beckoned" to come around to one staff's desk, rather than have them come around the partition and greet me, or even get up from their desk when I did so. Another was so ineffectual, that it seemed as though I was bothering him by asking basic questions. If you want to literally be on the mountain- this place is great, otherwise stop in for a post hike lunch or cocktail and move on....

Room tip: The hotel can access several levels of hiking ability, so good for groups or families
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 600terriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vigilius1500, Direttore at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Terrie K,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you appreciated the relaxing ambience of our rooms and the spa treatments, and that you have been pleased by the quality of our refreshments and dinners. We are regretful that you did not receive a welcome in line with your expectations and that you didn’t catch the natural uniqueness of this place. We will take in high consideration your comments as an helpful tool to continuously improve our commitment and we hope to see you again in the next future.
Kindly regards,

Claudia Tessaro
Direction
Vigilius Mountain Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We were a little taken off guard when we realized that our hotel stay would include a funicular ride up the mountain! Well, it was well worth the ride...

Every element of the hotel feels restful and exclusive. One is surrounded by nature and peace. The architecture is warm minimalism, with a lot of detail behind the design. Everything was spotlessly clean and quiet and beautiful. The manager welcomed us the moment we arrived and offered us a welcome appertivo and then took us to a beautiful room with spectacular view.

We headed to the spa and pool area before dinner. The saunas may be small but it is private and uncrowded, which I appreciated immensely. I don't like being with multiple people in a sauna. The pool was just spectacular - huge windows highlighting the nature and mountain views, jacuzzi that opened from the inside to the outside with a glass sliding door in the actual pool ! Gorgeous details. Hot teas and lemon water were on the table and extra towels .

I read some of the other reviews, and if one is looking for a lot of stimulation and activities at night, this is the wrong fit. It is a place of rest and peace, a place to recharge the soul. I liked not having a lot of staff and stimulation. The staff that did help us was exceedingly kind. (They even made us bagged lunches ma for our mountain hike.)This is a wonderful place to connect to nature and focus on activities for health.

The restaurant is lovely but the meals were not outstanding. The service was very kind but some details were missed. It's okay; we enjoyed it very much and we understand that it's hard to reach perfection!

We WILL return! Definitely one of our favorites.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank urbdesigngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vigilius1500, Geschäftsführer at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear vigilius guest,

many thanks for your detailed review. We are glad that you have had an amazing experience. We are happy to hear that the vigilius mountain resort is a special place for you, that you appreciate the philosophy and the concept and above all that you make it a location where to come back.
We hope to welcoming you back to the vigilius in the next future.
Greetings to Miami,

Claudia Tessaro
Managing Director
vigilius mountain resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

We were thrilled to stay at Vigilius Mountain Resort and everything we experienced still exceeded our expectations: the hotel, the room, the service, the restaurants, the location, the spa - perfect retreat in the midst of nature ro recover from the stress in daily life. We love the philosphy of the house, the architecture, the nature around. It's the perfect place to relax and refresh the brain. We undertook a spectacular hike and enjoyed the quietness of the spa afterward. The food in both restaurants were excellent. Service was extremely friendly and competent. We hope to come back soon!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WorldTraveller_ZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vigilius1500, Geschäftsführer at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed the vigilius mountain resort and the wonderful Vigiljoch with all its natural assets. Of course your compliments will be forwarded to our colleagues. We are glad to hear that you recovered from the stress in daily life and that you love our philosophy of simplicity.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the vigilius mountain resort in the next future
Yours sincerely

Claudia Tessaro
Managing Director
vigilius mountain resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews