We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untrained, impolite staff, unacceptable cleaning standards, overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vigilius Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Lana
Certificate of Excellence
Siena, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Untrained, impolite staff, unacceptable cleaning standards, overpriced.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

As a three star plus hotel it could be acceptable, but as a five star: a disaster.
My husband and I have travelled widely for more than 30 years and stayed in modest, as well as luxury hotels all over Europe, and especially in Italy, where we live.
Stating that "we have no wifi, as we would like our guest to relax comepletely" comes across as simply patronising, confusing bad service with good (who decides what is relaxing?).
The cable supplied instead did not work, reception staff adamantly maintaining it wasn't their fault.
The same reception staff was ignorant of even the names of common Italian newspapers, did not get us promised newspapers (The Guardian and Financial Times not available), and did not take Diners Credit Card although stated in brochures and on website.
The special 3-days weekend offer stated in the information folder in the room gave a price of 883.- Euro, which meant we payed between 400 and 500 Euros for one extra night...
Waitress in the 'Stube' restaurant argued (in the literal sense of the word) that it didn't matter if white wines and rosé wines were older, and in the breakfast room the head waiter - when his attention was drawn to the pitiful morsels of cheese displayed - made it clear I was being unreasonable and asked: "And what cheese would you like then?".
We also overheard a young couple being turned out of the 'Stube' restaurant one evening, when they asked for a table without having reserved. "No, we have reached our limit, I'm sorry!" (showing no sign of this by the way). There were still empty, non reserved tables, and the couple were guests in the hotel, with nowhere else to go for a meal after 7.30 pm, as the cable car stops working at that hour.
Why the toilet was a tiny cubicle with neither hand wash facility, nor bidet, beats me.
Nostalgia for old farm loos perhaps?
And to top it all: I returned with athletes foot, most probably due to rushed and inefficient cleaning of the room's shower cubicle, the floor presenting cracked tiles with black mould.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank birgitte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina B, Direttore vendite at Vigilius Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Mrs Brigitte H,
Thank you for your time to explain your thoughts about your stay at the vigilius mountain resort, I have read with interest the details of your experience.
I can agree with you that we are not a typical five star hotel, however what makes the vigilius mountain resort different and chosen by many guests, are its peculiarities.
Our philosophy is perhaps unusual, we do not have, as a typical 5 star hotel the TV in the room, however we are glad to set it up on request, while internet has a cable connection in each room. We do not have Wi-Fi and we apologise if we have come across patronising in the way we have said it, however we thought it is a nice way to explain that we are totally deep in nature with no many daily life distractions.
We do apologise for the incorrect method of payment advertised on the portal, via which you booked your room, it has been corrected now, while our website and all the other portals do not show the Diners as an accepted method of payment.
We have a few different types of packages with a minimum length of stay of three nights up to the “week package” for seven nights. The packages are special rates that offer a reduce price, all the additional nights during a very demanded period have no discount and the rates are published on the internet.
We have a professional team that can make mistakes on the job, however we have never had any problem in regards to our colleagues’ behaviour. We do not argue with guests and neither we come across rude, what we can apologise for, is that sometimes we require a bit of understanding perhaps due to the language barrier.
We have two restaurants and both together are enough to host all our guests, when the house is fully booked, however the guests need to be split between the two. We kindly inform our guests on arrival that we have the two restaurants and to make a reservation especially, when the hotel is very busy, we are not able to sit too many people in our Parlour Ida and we regret to turn down our guests for dinner, but more than 30 people cannot be seated at the same time in it. The Restaurant 1500 is the other solution.
There are plenty of possibilities to have a nice dinner in the valley at Lana and the other villages in the area and later to come back to the hotel by 11pm. Our guests are well informed about the cable car time schedule, on the pouch with the tickets – that is given on arrival by the cable car station in the valley, it is written on the board on reception and if our guests have any doubts, we are here all day for them to help.
Last but not least, please note that we are very proud to have a spotless environment (rooms, restaurants, toilets and everything else), we have never ever had problems of this kind and all the certificates that we have, with the highest evaluations, prove that.
We are certainly sorry to hear that some misunderstandings have spoilt your stay at the vigilius mountain resort, however we are proud to be an unusual place where to spend some relaxing time.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.
Yours sincerely,
Cristina Boggio
Sales & Marketing
cristina.boggio@vigilius.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    66
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
228
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

“My boyfriend and I spent an amazing weekend at the Hotel Vigilius and we loved it. The place is absolutely beautiful and we loved the hotel's simple, but at the same time luxury and modern architecture.This is just another world....you forget about everything ..you immerse yourself into gentle, loving, inner peace and silence. We had an pectacular view from our room and incredible panorama outside of the hotel. The food in the restaraunt delicious, typical food of Alto Agine. only one thing that unfortunetly you have to arrive before 11 pm otherwise you will not be able to reach the hotel. We would love to come back to this beautiful place!"

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed this May in the hotel, for the fourth time already, and all these times it was great! And I will go back again!!!
Whenever you go, every season has his qualities!
And I have been there alone, in group and with my family and every time the staff was able to pamper me/us and to make the stay more than great.
Whether you go to relax, to walk, to enjoy nature, to have a great time with friend, this hotel is the perfect place!!!
Staff is always extremely friendly, the service is very personal, rooms are great and spacious, the location and design of the hotel is breathtaking. In short: A TOP LOCATION!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATWA219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

my sister had stayed here for her honey moon and 6 years later still raves. on a recent trip to switzerland/austria and italy, my sister, mother, husband and myself booked 2 nights at vigilus. from the moment we parked our car, we were captivated by the natural beauty that MV had to offer. we were greeted by Frederica from reception who was lovely. After a tour of the resort we slipped straight into relax mode.

peaceful beyond anything i have experienced before. the rooms were simple and only had essentials which was perfect.

the food was fantastic. we ate twice at 1500, which i later found out had a michelin star (can highly recommend the chefs tasting plates) WOW. a great fusion on german and italian flavours.

one day we took the chair lift higher up the mountain and found a great restaurant, we had hot chocolates and nonna calda. although it was freezing the view was priceless. A MUST DO whilst at MV

we loved MV so much we extended our stay for an extra night and lapped out the relaxation.

be sure take advantage of the complimentary canapes and drinks at 6m in the piazza.

will defiantly be returning on my next visit to italy.

THANK YOU MV.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in Feb and everything about this hotel was perfect! Friendly, attentive staff, the rooms were large, luxurious and perfectly finished off, facilities at the hotel were great - especially the pool and spa area. Highlights were enjoying the delicious breakfasts while looking over the Dolomites, waking up to the most amazing views over the mountains and soaking in the outdoor hot tub while it snowed! We ate at the two restaurants, Ida and 1500 - both were great. We particularly enjoyed the extensive library and the movies shown in there at 10pm each night. There are activities on offer nearly every day and we took some sledding lessons with a fantastic guide and another couple who were staying at the hotel - it was great fun!. This hotel is certainly a 5 star in every way! The Cable car on the way to / from Lana is also pretty amazing! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twogeeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casalecchio di Reno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Everything is simply perfect: cutting edge design meets a eco-conscious philosophy in a wonderful and peaceful place. You can reach the resort only in a 6 mins cableway trip, there are only few rooms so everything is really relaxing and intimate, the spa has a breathtaking view on the mountains, delicious creative food at the 1500 restaurant.
Every little single detail is extremely carefully prepared.
Expensive, no doubt, but it is worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastlake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent a week over New Years at Vigilius Mountain Resort. It was an excellent choice. We found the staff to be very accomodating and friendly. The resort is beautiful and the spa is just the ticket after a day on the slopes. The skiing in Merano 2000 was great, a small resort but a good one.

Room Tip: Make sure you know the times of the cable car otherwise you can get stuck waiting! You can purchase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandEdlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lana
1.8 mi away
Hotel Schwarzschmied
3.6 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
24.4 mi away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Miramonti Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel Der Waldhof
Hotel Der Waldhof
#3 of 12 in Lana
183 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mirabell
Hotel Chalet Mirabell
#4 of 13 in Avelengo
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigilius Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilius Mountain Resort

Property: Vigilius Mountain Resort
Address: Pawigl 43 | 39011 Lana Sudtirol, 39011 Lana, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Lana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vigilius Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilius mountain resort is 1,500 meters above everyday life. This boutique luxury resort is a member of Design Hotels and can be reached exclusively by cable car, the panoramic windows in the 41 rooms furbished with natural materials like wood, clay and linen offer inspirational views of the Dolomite Mountains and the surrounding woods. Here it is possible to open up, and draw new vigour and energy from the placid wisdom of nature, while trifles are left behind in the valley.In the spa, the infinity pool, whirlpool, sauna and steambath offer relaxation and regeneration as well as carefully selected massages and treatments, using pure and natural care products.Move & explore is the name of the sports and relaxation programme, including outdoor and indoor activities: mountain biking, hiking, nordic walking as well as yoga, 5 Tibetans(R), archery and much more.Blessed with its location in South Tyrol, the cuisine is indicative of the area with two cultures: Alpine and Italian. Restaurant 1500 and Stube Ida invite to experience two different gastronomic concepts, creative international cuisine or traditional local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Vigilius Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigilius Mountain Hotel Lana
Hotel Vigilius Mountain
Vigilius Mountain Resort Italy/Lana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing