We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terre Di Himera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terre Di Himera
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Lovely people, wonderful local food, spotlessly clean and tidy rooms, baths, dining area. Lovely views across the valley and down to the sea. Arrive hungry and book meals for a real Sicilian food experience in a very agreeable setting. WiFi works everywhere? Loved the whole thing.

Room Tip: Nice high beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notgoodenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staying at this place was the best part of our trip to Sicilia. The house is great, the rooms are spacious and lovely furnished with antique sicilian furniture, the bathrooms are nice, there's nothing missing, really. Then there's a lot of silence... It's a perfect place to rest, to disconnect from everything. The view is extraordinary, the mountains, the green plains... The air is so fresh, it just turns breathing into pleasure. There are no hordes of tourists, it's almost a wild nature out there - but you're just few minutes driving from Cefalú.
But all of it, no matter how really wonderful it is, is not the best about this place. The best is the hosts, Maria and Fabrizio, a lovely sicilian couple. When you travel to Sicily and hang around for a couple of days, you'll inevitably notice that sicilians are very, very hospitable, but Maria and Fabrizio are more than that, they just make you feel you're home. And the food... Maria is a hell of a chef, the suppers we had at Terre Di Himera were definitely the best meals in Sicily. Fabrizio produces his own olive oil, and you really should try it as it's simply exceptional.
Anyway... There's so much to tell about this place, it'd just take me too long. For us, it was an incredibly lovely experience, so when we go back to Sicily (and we certainly will), we'll definitely drop by Terre Di Himera for a couple of days to enjoy it's peace, silence, freshness and - of course - Maria and Fabrizio's kindness.
Regards from Ivan, Marian and Masha!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whyamdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Wonderful experience
Very friendly hosts
Fantastic home-made food
Lovely room
Serene surroundings ; real rustic experience

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerLSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We can not recommend Terre Di Himera enough!

We accidentally arrived at this property thinking we had a reservation with Maria when in fact we had booked accommodation about 30 miles away!!! Maria welcomed us and even though we were planning on driving to the other accommodation she still gave us coffee and cake whilst we tried to call the other hotel. On seeing how beautiful Maria's property was we decided to stay and are so pleased we did.

The views from the property are simply stunning and the dinner in the evening (3 courses for EUR 25) absolutely divine.

Maria and Fabrizio have converted an old police station into a beautiful house. The rooms are elegantly presented yet at the same time are very spacious and comfortable and there is also room to sit outside and admire the lovely views. The WiiFii is also very quick!

We will be recommending Terre Di Himera to all of our friends and family as one of the places they must visit when in Sicily.

Thank you Maria and Fabrizio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

From the first bite of Maria's lemon ricotta cake on our arrival, until our final breakfast feast, our stay at Terre di Himera was a culinary kaleidoscope of Sicily's finest food. Most notable were the delicious dinners which were spread out over at least half a dozen dishes. After each course we would imagine ourselves to be full...only to be amazed by another wonderful tasting concoction, each accompanied by Maria's explanation of the origins and cooking techniques of its fresh local ingredients.

Maria and Fabrizio's refined taste is not confined to the kitchen - re-built from its modest beginings as a crumbling police station, their country house is the perfect combination of rustic charm with modern amenities in an idyllic hilltop setting. We hope one day to return!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife, 24 y.o. daughter, and I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights here in May, 2012, during our first trip to Sicily. The experience was simply extraordinary. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family by Maria and Fabrizio. They are a friendly, helpful, and happy couple, both natives of the PLaeermo region, and embody the spirit of the Sicilian people. Their pride in their home and culture was evident throughout our stay. Their sense of humor made us feel relaxed and welcome.

The B&B is actually a restored and re-purposed police station, although one would never imagine this by looking at it. Fabrizio and Maria spent several years rebuilding and restoring the structure after purchasing it about five years ago. The guest rooms are large, well appointed, immaculately clean, and evoke a rustic charm. It is obvious that great care and expense was put into the restoration. The furnishings are a combination of older restored pieces and newer rustic style furniture, much of it hand made by Sicilian artisans. There is excellent WiFi in the rooms and throughout the property.

The food is astounding. Breakfast inside or out on the covered patio is an abundance of fresh local fruit, preserves, baked goods, and so forth. Before we arrived, I contacted Maria to indicate that we would like to have dinner the evening we arrived, as we were driving from southeast Sicily, and wished to have our dinner plans already in place. After that dinner, my family agreed that there could not possibly be a better alternative for dinner, and we reserved the next two nights as well. Maria does the cooking, and it is authentic Sicilian cuisine using fresh local ingredients, many coming from their own farm. Antipasto, pasta, meat, salad - everything is wonderful, and the dinner is an outstanding value. Olive oil from their own olive trees is used for the cooking, and also served with the meals. Believe me, you will not go hungry, that's for sure. A selection of Sicilian wines is available at an additional cost, but very reasonable priced. These were the best meals we had during our ten days in Sicily, and that is saying something, as we found the food throughout Sicily to be excellent.

An additional treat two of the three nights was the attendance of Antonio Cappadonia, a highly regarded gelatiere from nearby Cerda, who arrived with gelato for dessert. He is recognized throughout Italy as one of the most inventive and creative gelatieri in the entire country. His gelato is amazing. A short side trip to his shop is well worth the effort and the time.

Although for some travelers the rural, somewhat out of the way location of Terre di Himera may not be suitable, we found the location to be exactly what we were looking for. It is an idyllic spot among the olive trees and overlooking the Tyrrhenian coast. Although it may appear to be a little difficult to find, Maria can provide you with very accurate directions, and we did not have a problem. An added benefit, especially for those with an interest in history and archaeology, is that the property is located within the historical site of Himera, a Greek city founded about 600 BC. There is an excellent museum 2 km away at the bottom of the road, and self guided tours of excavated remains of the city and the Temple of Victory are well worth the time for a very nominal cost.

Day trips to Cefalu, Palermo, Termini Immerese, and other towns and cities nearby are very convenient. Even cities out of the immediate region such as Caltigirone are within fairly easy reach.

This year is their first full season operating the B&B, and they have got it right. It is a down to earth place, honest and from the heart. We hope to return to Sicily, and without a doubt we would stay at Terre di Himera again. We have new friends in Maria and Fabrizio, and through them we had a glimpse into the the nature of the Sicilian people and their rich and wonderful culture. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

It is hard to add something useful to the other comments. My family and me spent the first days of May 2012 her and we were extremely happy. Maria and Fabrizio took care of us like royalty. Thank you! Can't wait to come back. When are you planning some cooking classes for real Sizilian cuisine? "Slow Food" at it's best.

Room Tip: Don't miss a dinner here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbarnett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrehimera, Proprietario at Terre Di Himera, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We're happy to know you remember your stay in Terre di Himera in a so beautiful way. We wait for you again to start the cooking class!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Termini Imerese
2.2 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#1 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Relais Santa Anastasia
Relais Santa Anastasia
#1 of 4 in Castelbuono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Tonnara Trabia
Hotel Tonnara Trabia
#1 of 2 in Trabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terre Di Himera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre Di Himera

Property: Terre Di Himera
Address: C. da Villaurea, 90015 Termini Imerese, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Termini Imerese
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Termini Imerese
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terre Di Himera 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terre di Himera is a rural tourist retreatwhich continues to preserve the characteristics of the Sicilian farmer’s home. A large patio, called “pinnata”,connects the inside, cool and comfortableeven in the summer heat, with the sun-drenched countryside.The house is built of exposed local stone with wooden beams in a place beyond time, where one can rediscover one’s self or lose one’s self. A place where one can indulge in the remote calm, enjoy endless breakfasts or a relaxing evening after a long walk or an excursion in search of the numerous artistic and cultural riches of this region.Our guests can enjoy local dishes and products, all organic and natural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Terre Di Himera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terre Di Himera Termini Imerese, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing