We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Museum District Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed for a night in the Judge Rhea's Suite and enjoyed a really wonderful getaway. The suite is very comfortable, cozy, and well thought out; the bathroom alone will knock your socks off. We've stayed in several bed and breakfasts in the past, and sometimes the furniture is beautiful to look at but not comfortable in the slightest. It is clear that the innkeeper, Anna, furnished the house with not only taste but also with restraint and the comfort of her guests in mind. As a result , this bed and breakfast offers a non-stressful and welcoming atmosphere which allows you to relax and just enjoy yourself. It's location just west of the Boulevard enabled us to walk to restaurants in the Fan and to wander around Carytown. Our car stayed put in the inn's private parking area. Anna is very much at ease with her guests and so does not intrude or make you feel nervous. We enjoyed talking with her as she served us our tasty breakfast. We will make it a point to return. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cvillereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

Stayed in the carriage house at Museum District for two nights for a wedding. It was a bit smaller than I expected, particularly the bathroom, and the shower head would not stay put when it was turned on. But on the positive side it did have its own lovely (small) front porch, a clawfoot tub, and a great coffee maker. The proprietor provides a very nice wine and cheese reception in the afternoons, and the breakfast is really superb, with fresh fruit and baked goods.

This place is not for people expecting a 5-star but it is charming, and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and, obviously, museums.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hocomogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I had meant to write this review a month ago but events over took us! I can't say enough about this B and B - both in terms of the physical surroundings and the Inn keeper, Anna. The house and rooms are beautifully done without being overdone. So often period homes just have too much stuff in them. Anna has made sure that her B and B is an oasis of comfort while maintining an air of serenity and appropriate design. The breakfast and the wine and cheese in the evening were just perfect. We had come to Richmond to help our 8 month pregnant daughter and husband move into the Fan District and came home at the end of each day completely exhausted. As we came in the door there would be Anna holding out a glass of chilled white wine( having asked our preference the day before) to us with a smile of welcome home. What can I say - this will always be our first choice in Richmond.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank arlingtonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night in the carriage house to be in Richmond for our son's birthday and for business. We can't wait to go back. Anna served us a beautiful assortment of cheeses with wine. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside with our son to celebrate his 21st birthday having wine and cheese. It was a wonderful setting to share his special day. The carriage house was cozy and very private. Breakfast was the best we had at a B and B. We could walk to the restaurants in Carytown. We will definitely stay here anytime we come to Richmond. In fact, there is lots to see there as an excuse to stay at this B and B. There was obviously lots of care and attention to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiagoingglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Such a wonderful stay in a beautifully restored 3 story brick home. We stayed in the 'Carriage House', separate quarters in the back, that was very cozy and comfortable. Just right for our four night stay. We were fortunate to have a peek at the rest of the elegantly furnished rooms and baths, spacious and just simply gorgeous!

Breakfast is incredibly tasty, as the owner, Anna, is an excellent cook. The fare is a well planned mixture of American and Contintal - you will not go away hungry! She also graciously hosts afternoon wine tasting with a splendid assortment of international cheeses and crackers.

Public transportation is close (1block !) and easy to navigate to the colleges, downtown, and historical sites.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gotchakatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

The Museum District B & B is wonderfully located in Richmond's Fan district - directly opposite both the Museum and Art Gallery (has terrific pictures from the Mellon collection.) It's a short walk to the magnificent long stretch of period homes in Monument Avenue and there are lots of good local restaurants also within walking distance. We stayed in the Judge Rea Suite - loads of space and a magnificent period-style bathroom as well as a sitting room and separate study. The house itself is full of charm and atmosphere - books and magazines everywhere. The owner Anna is a mine of information about things to do in this interesting town and is very knowledgeable about food and the best places to eat. Her breakfast was magnificent - including seasonal berries, warm croissants and freshly baked bread. We were sorry not to be staying for longer. This must rate as one of Virginia's top and most characterful and charming B & Bs.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinemoaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

We stayed in the Suite, equipped with a comfortable setting room, with great TV, complete channels. In the adjacent private office, I used my laptop via the wireless connection. The suite bath featured a large antique tub, a double shower--with steam room. Prior to going out to dinner, Anna served 4 fine cheeses and a choice of red or white. We decided on the French white--really great wine--I have since purchased a case. Anna Currence's dinner recommendation was spot on. The next morning we enjoyed a excellent breakfast--juice, fruit, yogurt, eggs, hand-cut smoked bacon, four breads (including fresh muffins and butter croissant), french preserves, english tea and great coffee from a french press. Breakfast was an enjoyable event. In terms of comfort, this B&B has to rank at the top with attention to detail and care for guests. This is the place to stay in Richmond!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank logisticsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
2.0 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,074 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,300 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
932 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
1.8 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum District Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum District Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2811 Grove Ave, Richmond, VA 23221-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1922 guesthouse is in the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, the city's most vibrant and historic neighborhoods. The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts is directly across the street. We're two blocks from Carytown, a unique shopping district featuring eclectic shops, restaurants of every description (two 4-star restaurants), the historic Byrd Theatre, neighborhood pubs and live music venues. Seven minutes to downtown. Plush comfort, gourmet breakfasts and evening wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Museum District Bed And Breakfast
Museum District Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing