We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food near Short Pump Town Center”

Malabar Indian Cuisine
Ranked #227 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food near Short Pump Town Center”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We love Indian food and this is one of our favorites in Richmond. Located very close to Short Pump Town Center, about 1/2 mile South of W. Broad St.

Nice atmosphere and the owner is an excellent host.

I've taken business clients and family along with friends to this relatively small restaurant. Plenty of table styles to fit most groups.

The fresh breads are awesome. Food is superb quality for everything we ordered.

Clean, fresh and somewhat romantic setting.

Helpful?
Thank lgooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stopped for dinner here, to meet up with some family, while driving through Richmond. They had very good lamb saag, mango lassi, and spicy pickle. I've had very good Indian food over the years, and so while this isn't the best I've ever had, I thought it was very good quality, with no complaints. Would recommend you try this place out if you're in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I'm 74 years old and....”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been addicted to Indian food since about 1961, and have eaten in dozens, maybe hundreds of Indian restaurants. I have been to Indian restaurants in the UK, Canada, and various cities in the US. I have never actually "dined" at Malabar, but I have had quite a few takeouts, and in my not very humble opinion their food is right up there with the best I have ever had...... end of message.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent indian food and little over priced”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had tried the Lunch Buffet and also the A' La' Carte menu for Dinner. While I would rate the food as pretty average, you definitely would get a feel of having an indian cuisine with their variety of options. Ambience is great and kid friendly too. Definitely worth a try if you havent been to any other Indian restaurants around Richmond. Very much accessible in the short pump area and not very croweded mostly. So, you are rest assured to have a bite without any wait..

Negatives are it is kind of little over pricey for what you get.

Recommended for a visit to have a hang of Indian cuisine..

Have fun :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vasu_Nagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant in Short Pump, VA”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We had samosa chaat, masala dhosa, baby eggplant and yellow daal. All dishes were delicious and served hot. We aske for spicy, and they did not over do it. Service was prompt and the restaurant was clean. The decor is ok, but food was great. We found it through Internet search en route to Charlottesville. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vnishith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Malabar Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing